wazua Sun, Jan 19, 2025

3 Pages<123
Safaricom to buy a bank?
Aguytrying
#41 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 11:23:39 PM

@muganda. Brilliant breakdown, i'm sure many did not know all that.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#42 Posted : Tuesday, February 14, 2012 10:26:14 PM

M-Pesa linked to rise in inflation
http://www.businessdaily...8/-/tjjsm9/-/index.html
Cde Monomotapa
#43 Posted : Tuesday, February 14, 2012 11:48:11 PM

Perfect scapegoat. Transfer blame to Telcos FY'12.
Cde Monomotapa
#44 Posted : Tuesday, February 14, 2012 11:56:48 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Perfect scapegoat. Transfer blame to Telcos FY'12.

So which Parly committee will take this up.
hisah
#45 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 6:47:45 AM

That AfDB mpesa report is such a joke that it makes our mpigs KES investigation look better!?
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Aguytrying
#46 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 7:30:41 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
M-Pesa linked to rise in inflation
http://www.businessdaily...8/-/tjjsm9/-/index.html

they almost make it sound like we would be better without mpesa, with money under mattressess. 2 billion a day! With those high commissions mpesa charge. Safcon are raking in the money! 314 billion in 5 months!
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#47 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 4:08:15 PM

Safaricom is in discussions with the central bank to be able to offer more services after an upgrade to the system platform.

"We need to move into offering micro-saving, micro-lending and micro-insurance," the CEO said.

http://www.businessdaily...0/-/tpejge/-/index.html
#48 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 4:45:59 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Safaricom is in discussions with the central bank to be able to offer more services after an upgrade to the system platform.

"We need to move into offering micro-saving, micro-lending and micro-insurance," the CEO said.

This is the next frontier in financial inclusion. Exiting times ahead for the country's financial sector and safaricom.
#49 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 5:18:39 PM

Robinhood wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

This is the next frontier in financial inclusion. Exiting times ahead for the country's financial sector and safaricom.

Impact on the more conventional banks?
wazuaguest
#50 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 6:32:14 PM

"micro lending"???!!!!! let them get into the murky waters if they come out unscathed i will know they are great.

How do you lend a guy say 10 k you dont hold any asset from him as security? you now say you have a standing remittance from this guy-most of the micro segment might be employed today the next day/two months down the line they are fired! have a 1000 guys like those and 3 moths down the line CBK tells you to write off as losses 10,000,000!kindly note a bank like Membba also serves both ends of the market so there is a cover of some sorts.incase of Member KWFt Faulu they have gaurantors,group gaurantees,maintain relation with employers and their officers are in always in the fields collecting monies and chattels-because that is their core business!the stringent regulations that comes with banking i know banks would like Safcom to come on board and then insist they comply fully to allow fair compettion.
Africa belongs to Africans.
hisah
#51 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 7:16:02 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Robinhood wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Partner with the elephant or lose out... It didn't take them long to partner with mpesa...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
stocksmaster
#52 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 9:06:24 PM

hisah wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Robinhood wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Partner with the elephant or lose out... It didn't take them long to partner with mpesa...

Safaricom seem to have followed my advice given one and a half years ago......check post number 125 below......
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...amp;m=111921#post111921

Happy Hunting........
#53 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 10:41:40 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Can't you see that Mpesa turns over the largest sum of money daily in this country?? What do you think will happen when it is allowed to hold the same as deposits! Think. Our NATIONAL banking system will be controlled from Vodafone in the UK! Instead of this type of wet dreams, Bob Collymore should be working on shifting the Mpesa data base/system from the UK to Kenya. Nkt!!

Why are people ignoring this? would love to read more.
hisah
#54 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2012 12:14:21 PM

stocksmaster wrote:
hisah wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Robinhood wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Safaricom seem to have followed my advice given one and a half years ago......check post number 125 below......
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...amp;m=111921#post111921

Happy Hunting........

That's why I call it Mpesa bank coz I also see a telco bank in the making. Will be a fascinating case study.
hisah
#55 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2012 12:48:20 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Can't you see that Mpesa turns over the largest sum of money daily in this country?? What do you think will happen when it is allowed to hold the same as deposits! Think. Our NATIONAL banking system will be controlled from Vodafone in the UK! Instead of this type of wet dreams, Bob Collymore should be working on shifting the Mpesa data base/system from the UK to Kenya. Nkt!!

Why are people ignoring this? would love to read more.

I thot one Bob stated sometime last year that those mpesa servers will be relocated to KE.

http://bit.ly/FPQ0x0

Part of that plan is to relocate M-Pesa servers to Kenya from Germany -— a move that is expected to improve the reliability of the mobile money platform and cut down on overheads.
#56 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2012 1:21:14 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Robinhood wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Conventional banks will have to put on their thinking caps. Note however the emphasis on micro banking, credit, insurance etc. We are talking of amounts and customers many banks would never bother with. Safcom needs to this it through quite well, but it could be a potential cash cow.