Help - Cockroaches have invaded my house
Good people; I need help in getting rid of cockroaches from my house. I have tried all the sprays in the market (Doom,Raid,etc) and none work. I have called in a fumigator and had to remove all utensils fro the house before he started work on the roaches to re-appear the following day! There used to be a very effective spray called 'Empire' a few years ago,but it disappeared...I was told that it was removed for safety reasons. Does anyone have a solution? Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Tumia chalk........every month,it is both cheap and effective!!! Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
mix soda bicarbonate,wheat flour and a bit of sugar and paka the mix on the nooks and corners where they are likely to pass - you can also place the stuff on flat containers in areas the creatures are likely to pass. within a few days they will be all over the place - dead!
I found out (well,my bro observed it) that when you spray the roaches,they just get drank for sometime and then they stagger to their hide-out. They also tend to grow fatter.
Try diazinon (sp). its a small bottle you can get from any agrovet. you will sweep them off the next morning and they wont be back in a long long long time!!! since it has a strong smell,do it when you are going somewhere for long hours like 4-5 hrs. Keep all foods and utensils away and follow instructions. they kill even the ones int he eggs when they are hatched.... you will almost miss their mischief.
Move away from your neighbour if you dont get him a bottle too.
Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Try dudu dust,any chemist. U cnt b sirius using sprays,thoz thngs r the least effective bana. Truest proverb: Mwenda pole hajikwai TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
after spraying..wait few hours for them do die then super clean the house.. last time..kindu 6 months ago..i let the chickens in and they did an amazing job...so no eggs were left behind..worked for me.
muthomi mugi aiikagia maitho kabere...
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
In this hard economic tyms,my friend just heat up your frying pan and on your knees there you go....gather as many as you can and get 'monosaccharide-protein' for free.Croaches are a delicacy in Madascar by the way.All the best in your munching...! I wonder what part of brain some people use. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
if you live in an apartment..... you may need to fumigate your neighbour's houses as well..... I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Roaches are probably the most unrelenting pests you can ever fight! I had a similar prob a while back and I can assure you sprays cannot completely get rid of them. What of the hidden unhatched eggs?
You need to get some roach powder of some sort,like the ones you sometimes see being hawked like 'Dawa ya mede!!!' on street corners,Hehe. I used the doom powder. Leave the powder in nooks,cracks and corners and try not to wash it off for a couple of days. Those buggers will be complete history
This should not bother you a minute. Just walk to tusker supermarket and ask for a certain cockroach paste - I have forgotten the name. Apply the paste as per instructions. You will not see any change until the fifth or sixth day. All roaches will die and you will not need to bother for at least the next 2 years (guaranteed)
Success is a lousy teacher. It seduces smart people into thinking they can't lose.
@ Wendz and Mukiha
Last time i used diazinon is like one year ago...no recurrence yet.
But normally i will empty the house off the kids on a friday (send to a relative), then the kichen, mix two bottles of diazinon with half a bucket of water, then spray around all corners,in the cabinets etc kabisa,and leave overnight! Make sure you go out and come back very late with your partner coz the smell is terrible! Next morning,get paid labour,then together with your partner,thoroughly clean off the kitchen! NOTE,You need lots of water and time! More Viceroy in the afternoon..........
@ Mrefu Am looking for local - kienyeji - kukus (Not broilers) to buy and rear....
Take chances,make mistakes. Thats how you grow. Pain nourishes your courage. You have to fail in order to practice being brave
@Mukiha, Remember this from 'Compedium of History and Lore'.....??.....' A nuclear war,if it comes,will not be won by the Americans … the Russians … the Chinese. The winner of World War III will be the cockroach.'..... Arm yourself with Diazinon....For a two day war...........Go to work but remember to send the kids away for the entire week-end.........pesticides such as doom is deodorant to the pests.....!! Guka wa bijuti... Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
get a cat if you love pets. you will never have any insect/rodent issues,the moggy will gobble them like njugu karanga!
@Pondi, Didn't know moggies crunch roaches.....eh?....How does a moggy get into a crack?..-:) Guka wa bijuti... Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
such threads make the ticker above almost bearable. good for a boring day @ the office
we are like a mamas group with free advice on everything. keep it up :)
impunity,things are not yet that elephant ...
or jus rear some chicken,,once in a while let them roam the kitchen,they'll finish the stupid lil creatures
Gravity; Its not just the law,its reality.
Mukiha,try Cockrakil - you shld be able able to get it at nakumatt - this is good stuff and works to kill infestations in the whole cycle - eggs,etc it takes abt a week to start seeing results and after that you notice the population declining - all it takes is about an hour to spread the paste in suggested areas (away from kids - behind cupboards,under sinks,damp inaccessible areas,etc). You need to have all sources of water covered. Its a paste and one application will do the trick (until a neighbour moves in with HIS set of cockroaches). I can bet my right arm on it. Its in a small tub (like a small 100 g blueband thing)
The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Mukiha,SK members are no longer sticking to the point on advise. They are always looking for sth to laugh at.
I used to experience the same problem. I saw an advert,called the guy who came to do very good work. For a 2 b/r hse,he charged me 1,500/- 2 years ago. I have never SEEN coacroaches again in my hse since then. Conatct him on 0720 557 110 and I guarantee you of his service.
All other SK members with similar problem can contact him.
@Petro - its cockrakil - see my pest...er paste...I mean,post below  The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
The number of chicken solutions here for the roach menace gets me thinking...
And it all seems to make sense now...
The reason we savor that kienyeji chicken so much might just be due to the high concentration of ingested insect protein...
Help - Cockroaches have invaded my house