wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

5 Pages<1234>»
Your Electricity Bill
#21 Posted : Thursday, September 04, 2008 5:18:00 AM

@ kingfisher - There used to be a Kenya Consumer Organisation (KCO) in the mid-nineties. It was funded by the bi corporates (Unga,Nation etc). One day I read in the news that the officers were unable to account for large sums of money....the sponsers pulled out...and KCO died.

But I think it's still in the files at the registrar of societies
milkyway
#22 Posted : Thursday, September 04, 2008 5:49:00 AM

It'll get worse before it gets better-if ever! Less than average rainfall in the next few months means they will use generators and factor it into the fuel adjustment levy which is the most expensive component of the bill. Also this thing about giving 0 consumption in one month and then an outrageous reading in another month when the cost per unit has risen is their cup of tea. Very soon your domestic fuel bill will read 10k.

success is not the result of spontaneous combustion; you have to set yourself on fire
omachini
#23 Posted : Thursday, September 04, 2008 11:09:00 AM

we are only crying of the cost of electricity because it was announce over the media.To me everything in the last 1 year has been like electricity.life has suddenly turned a nuisense!For those who can remember the cost of unga (jogoo) it was ksh 60 barely 7 months ago...now.. ksh &gt;83 i.e over the 24 % of electricity.can guys do something.hope mrefu.......the interim chairman of consumer defense association is listening ha ha ha ha!

the higher the risk,the higher the returns.
brightstar
#24 Posted : Thursday, September 04, 2008 2:07:00 PM

Ati ooh KPLC is robbing us ooh mulika mwizi anaitwa KPLC ! Bure kabisa. What u need to do is invest in energy efficient appliances and devices for your house/ office. Get rid of those flintstone like TVs,music systems and fridges which nyonya stima and buy lcd tv,buy energy saving bulbs,timers and motion sensors for your security lights,timer for your fridge,thermostats for your water heaters. Just the usual bla bla bla which you all know lakini u have no time to deal with. Deal with it or go sit on a pin.
#25 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2008 5:32:00 AM

......Caught this one years back on Madd Madd world............KPLC.....Acronym for Kenya Paraffin Lamps and Candles..............
Murenik
#26 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2008 7:50:00 AM

KLPC is into cone schemes!!Last month i paid my bill 2 days late,they charged me a disconnection fee of KShs.500 for abill of 1200,yet there was no disconnection.When i complained they said i was lucky it wasn't disconnected!

That's the price of amonopoly.We should agitate for competition in the distribution sector.

They have alot of Transmission losses which they load to the consumer.

Financial analysts give good advice if you do the opposite.
#27 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2008 8:19:00 AM

@ brightstar: All these gadgets you metion; how much power will they save and what is their payback period? I.e.,are they really worth the cost?
kiilu
#28 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2008 9:00:00 AM

my bill also shot up from an average of 2k to 10k. when i went with the meter reading to KPLC they readjusted it to 4k. Now tell me if these guys arent out to fleece us in broad daylight?!

@brightstar .. i have almost all those energy saving gizmos yet......
jerry
#29 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2008 4:13:00 PM

KPLC has posted August FCA info on their website which says 560,630,437 KWH were Generated and Purchased (including hydros excluding export). If for every KWH KPLC charge KSh 7.69 as Fuel Cost Adjustment,this gives us 4,311,228,062/=.

Can somebody justify this?
Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
jmuigai
#30 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2008 6:38:00 PM

Solar might actually work. With good batteries and a good inverter(3000 watts) you'll power the whole house and appliances. Kplc should also connect solar panel owners to the grid that way it buys their power when they have excess (say during the day) ....That alone would eliminate a lot of rationing and bring prices down.
#31 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2008 11:48:00 PM

But it's very expensive!
Mainat
#32 Posted : Saturday, September 06, 2008 5:28:00 PM

Mukiha-you seem knowledgeable about solar...

3/4 bedroom,with all the appliances (fridge/freezer,tv,pc,et al) what's your ball-park estimate? I was quoted 50k a few yrs back.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
jmuigai
#33 Posted : Saturday, September 06, 2008 10:53:00 PM

You'll just pay a little more for some good deep cycle batteries about 4 of them,kyocera panels (170 watts output)and you are good. Depending on your source 50k is enough and you should get enough juice to power everything. At current normal power rates 50k looks like a bargain.
Mainat
#34 Posted : Sunday, September 07, 2008 6:56:00 AM

JMuigai,tx.
I've been told that the batteries last for 10yrs. In which case,I think its a very good deal.

Electricity bills are not going to back down to the old levels as this an increase that was meant to have taken place in 2006.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#35 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2008 4:25:00 AM

@mukiha...this Kenya Consumer Organisation (KCO) funded by corporates like Unga,Nation etc....do you really think it can sort us out when we will be fighting the price tags of the same sponsors' products??....i believe the answer is no!...we need an independent outfit....where are the lawyers???...they can advise us on the way forward.

@mrefu...why so silent on this???..Are you afraid of being our outfit's chairman???...we need to fight those insane basic consumer goods price tags!!
#36 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2008 8:13:00 AM

I believe jmuigai has a point and sooner or later we are going to go solar. My question is,what are you guys who are in rented houses doing? I thought one would need to re-wire the whole house but i understand you just need a converter. anyone with an idea how much should cost for a two bedroomed flat?
Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
omachini
#37 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2008 10:56:00 AM

I believe all those electical gadgets we are talking about is just to regulate the power usage.Take for example the power saving bulbs:honestly,before kplc announced the thieving scheme which trippled electricity bill,how much were we paying for lighting only?The answer is negligible.The issue of power saving is yet another scheme for business-men/women.

issue: @mrefu must accept chaimanship and we move a head.Ama @mrefu umeogopa?

the higher the risk,the higher the returns.
#38 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2008 2:16:00 PM

Hello people,

I remember that about two months ago,I posted a thread here that was basically telling guys that what we need in Kenya today is a consumer organsation. It did not get as much responses but I am glad that you guys are now up to speed.

Tell you what,the 1992 election was based on multiparty,1997 was based on confusion ( so generated nothing),2002 was based on Change (anti corruption) and Kenya soared economically. 2007 was based on tribal hatred and mistrust ( we are now reaping). My take is this,2012 will ba based on Consumer Protection. So guys if anyone is interested in Politics this is your golden ticket!! Grab it!! mlefu; jammo anyone Lead people into this and you shall not regret it.

Very soon you will be seeing brief case NGO's,politicians etc trumpeting this message. grab it before they do.

Cheers folks..
#39 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2008 3:18:00 PM

mlefu.......kuna nini........why the silence?...or you are putting things together....pliz tell us that!
jokes
#40 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2008 3:27:00 PM

wow. and here i was complaining about 1800/= . still i am going to fix a solar panel on my house na hakuna staree ya stima tena kwangu. tv,micro wave,heater etc are on need to use basis from now on.

but on more profitable matters. where do you think we are headed at with the increase in elec bills,fuel,inflation? and how do we position ourselves to profit from this?

i was thinking all industries that consume energy alot are in some deep s**t. profits down. this incude cement industies,paint,transportation etc.

construction boom will slow down due to increase in energy and material costs (read cement and fuel)

default rates in mortagaes and loans. get my drift. he! he! he!

transport sector and its related bizs.

those are my thoughts and i stand to be corrected. what are your thoughts on these and how do we benefit from it.

Mzee Kobe Alimushinda Sungura.