SUBARU DRIVERS
mkeiyd
#21 Posted : Friday, April 13, 2012 3:48:33 PM

mkeiyd wrote:

Back to @ brav,I dispute your rule.
Thumbs up to Subaru, but not to the MAJORITY of their drivers.
They will be dying to show off in the estates and rough roads, coz of their superior power, accelerating faster than most Toyotas, but when the road clears good enough, i've only seen one Subaru get past me in a Toyota since 2006.
Those average drivers give Subaru a bad name.

There are very few roads around where a driver can really appreciate the power of a Subaru.....try racing with a Subaru STI along Mombasa rd with your Toyota, you'll probably give it away for free ama itakuwa nyumba ya kuku (unless your Toyota is Turbo charged). Speed is all about acceleration, how many km/h it can do in 10 seconds.

I usually see so many idiots speeding around estates lakini akifika highway anakuwa bure kabisa.

@ TAZ, did you even bother reading the whole of my post?

I said Subarus are superior to Toyotas.
I also said most of their[Subaru] drivers are average,reason why i believe since 2006 only one Subaru has gotten past me and that happened in April last year.
I'm talking about the drivers, NOT the Subaru.

Drivers? average. They are not fast drivers as they would want everyone in the estates/streets of Nairobi believe.
All the way from Mombasa to Malaba, Nairobi to Garissa or Namanga, you will do above 200km/h if your car permits. It's not usually done, reason being the driver.
Subaru to Toyota? Subaru is SUPER.
Hope i'm clear enough.
#22 Posted : Friday, April 13, 2012 5:06:34 PM

So in short you trying to say wewe ni mambo bad kwa barabara......i hope you're not one of those characters who start accelerating when someone tries to overtake you just to prove a point!
#23 Posted : Friday, April 13, 2012 9:51:40 PM

quicksand wrote:
....and to imagine that most of them are now way cheaper than the toyos?...NKT!!!

...It is living with the machine that can be costly. Ask anyone who has broken a Subaru light,..they will tell you.

hear hear! kununua gari sio chida kama 'kuishi' nayo
Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad AlišŸ
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#24 Posted : Friday, April 13, 2012 11:04:38 PM

Dont understand this funny craze of driving fast,yet those cars r so low u wud think you r sitting on the road while driving!
mpaka wen u get to a bump, u find urself partially standing!
Get a high car,feel comfortable as u drive slowly!
@SufficientlyP
Julie
#25 Posted : Saturday, April 14, 2012 12:18:51 PM

Very true! Break a head lamp and you learn the hard way!
#26 Posted : Saturday, April 14, 2012 12:31:13 PM

Julie wrote:
Very true! Break a head lamp and you learn the hard way!

...of a Subaru?, maybe expensive lakini enyewe ni kama watu hawajui magari!!!
mkeiyd
#27 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 9:43:46 AM

So in short you trying to say wewe ni mambo bad kwa barabara......i hope you're not one of those characters who start accelerating when someone tries to overtake you just to prove a point!

No,i'm not saying mimi ni mambo bad,what i'm trying to say is, Subaru drivers are not that fast, as they would pretend around the estates n in areas where one is not supposed to drive fast.
I'm a fast driver,never reckless.
I don't accelerate coz i'm being overtaken,as a matter of fact, any fast driver suffers that a lot,some drivers trying to accelerate when about to be overtaken.Subaru drivers are notorious for that,but when finally the Toyota gathers speed, you get to overtake them without much of a fight.
#28 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 10:31:07 AM

@ Mkeiyd....I'm curious, what kind of Toyota are we talking about here? I used a Vitz once along Mombasa Rd and i was surprised by how fast it can be, problem is that at 150 km/h you start to feel uneasy because the car is just not stable enough....it wasn't meant for speed. If you are a fast driver then get a car that is built for that purpose. I'm also sure you know there are Turbo and Non-turbo charged Subarus. I don't think its right to declare most drivers average just because they are not as fast as the cars they drive.
mkeiyd
#29 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 12:26:06 PM

@TAZ, We are talking about the misbehaving drivers,the bad drivers, that's why i say they give Subaru a bad name. You will agree with me they are many these days.
The Toyotas i'm talking about are Carina and Allion.
Mostly European cars are well driven.
redondo
#30 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 12:56:18 PM

Its a fact that subarus are fast and they are built for those who' s core consideration in a car is acceleration, responsiveness and handling. This is the main reason there is a cult following for these machines.

Bad news for subaru lovers though: Toyota acquired a controlling stake in Fuji Heavy Industries(the makers of subaru)in 2008. They now share a common platform for building some subaru models. Consequently some new subaru cars are looking and feeling more like toyotas.

The tribeca,outback 2010(and later),forester 2010 (and later)look to me like Toyotas with a Subaru budge
#31 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 2:02:35 PM

@TAZ,
Shida ni makerere and disturbance to 3rd parties, graffitti na maandishi sio sida!!!!

The makelele is due to the boxer engine used in Subarus which is noisier than the straight 4 engines used by other manufacturers.

Boxer Engine
#32 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 2:15:37 PM

@TAZ,
Shida ni makerere and disturbance to 3rd parties, graffitti na maandishi sio sida!!!!

The makelele is due to the boxer engine used in Subarus which is noisier than the straight 4 engines used by other manufacturers.

Boxer Engine

The boxer has a slightly deeper growl than the straight 4, but it is not loud enough to cause noise pollution or disturbance ...in fact in a well serviced Subaru you can hardly hear the engine on a normal cruise ...the problem are the large non-standard exhaust bore (some fitted after market, other by STI) ..those are noisy.
#33 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 2:15:38 PM

....and to imagine that most of them are now way cheaper than the toyos?...NKT!!!

It's true that subarus are going at half the price of Toyotas CIF. Picture this, the japanese are quoting a subaru Impreza at $4500 while a Premio is going for $8500 CIF. Even a corolla is going for $7500 and a Vitz at $5500! Subarus are such great cars, more superior engineering-wise than toyos and it seems Kenyans are being conned big time due to their love for Toyotas. It's the old demand and supply story.
jamplu
#34 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 3:32:37 PM

It's true that subarus are going at half the price of Toyotas CIF. Picture this, the japanese are quoting a subaru Impreza at $4500 while a Premio is going for $8500 CIF. Even a corolla is going for $7500 and a Vitz at $5500! Subarus are such great cars, more superior engineering-wise than toyos and it seems Kenyans are being conned big time due to their love for Toyotas. It's the old demand and supply story.

The Japanese are really minting money out of our ignorance. We have always thought toyotas are cheap just because we can get taiwanese fake parts at daresalaam on the contrally if you go to toyota kenya prices for parts like brake pads the prices are same as those of subaru genuine parts.
Cardinal
#35 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 10:30:55 PM

redondo wrote:
Its a fact that subarus are fast and they are built for those who' s core consideration in a car is acceleration, responsiveness and handling. This is the main reason there is a cult following for these machines.

Bad news for subaru lovers though: Toyota acquired a controlling stake in Fuji Heavy Industries(the makers of subaru)in 2008. They now share a common platform for building some subaru models. Consequently some new subaru cars are looking and feeling more like toyotas.

The tribeca,outback 2010(and later),forester 2010 (and later)look to me like Toyotas with a Subaru budge

Very untrue. Subaru make mechanism remains totally different from toyotas. What was bought was the companys share and not technology behind the subs
#36 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 11:46:36 PM

Well Subs are great and might be the only other car i could go for however I love my car high for off-road purposes. That said, i think its bad manners for a civilized driver to speed in estates. If itā€™s need for speed, they should join the rally events and showcase their skills there. Alternatively, gather their pals and do NBI-NAKS in 45 mins or something. On the noise if it's the deep genuine Sub sound that's ok it doesn't irritate but once they put those aftermarket tins on the exhaust, that's plain, cheap. Those who open the windows to be seenā€¦lol thatā€™s an ego issue and probably the car is 100% on debt. The able men do not show off.
#37 Posted : Tuesday, April 17, 2012 7:47:01 AM

Well Subs are great and might be the only other car i could go for however I love my car high for off-road purposes. That said, i think its bad manners for a civilized driver to speed in estates. If itā€™s need for speed, they should join the rally events and showcase their skills there. Alternatively, gather their pals and do NBI-NAKS in 45 mins or something. On the noise if it's the deep genuine Sub sound that's ok it doesn't irritate but once they put those aftermarket tins on the exhaust, that's plain, cheap. Those who open the windows to be seenā€¦lol thatā€™s an ego issue and probably the car is 100% on debt. The able men do not show off.

That's what "great" accidents are made off!

ā€œPeople will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.ā€ ā€• Walter C. Langer
#38 Posted : Tuesday, April 17, 2012 7:50:44 AM

jamplu wrote:

The Japanese are really minting money out of our ignorance. We have always thought toyotas are cheap just because we can get taiwanese fake parts at daresalaam on the contrally if you go to toyota kenya prices for parts like brake pads the prices are same as those of subaru genuine parts.

Pardon my ignorance but aren't Subaru spares worth an arm and a leg hence the high Toyota initial costs since their maintenance costs are lower?

ā€œPeople will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.ā€ ā€• Walter C. Langer
#39 Posted : Tuesday, April 17, 2012 7:52:35 AM

Cardinal wrote:
redondo wrote:

Very untrue. Subaru make mechanism remains totally different from toyotas. What was bought was the companys share and not technology behind the subs

Well Cardinal, you are wrong. Check this:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subaru_BRZ
Sigiriri
#40 Posted : Tuesday, April 17, 2012 10:52:10 AM

Subarus are great rides. I particularly love that they are real value for your money. One day, many other Kenyans will become enlightened and maybe the Toy shareholders will dilute the quality of the SUB (is it just coincidence that the latest models are crap - especially the Tribecca?) - so get yours today for keeps sake! Not to sell after 2 years and bemoan resale values!!!