wazua Thu, May 14, 2026

9 Pages«<23456>»
are you a student . you never want this happening to you . lol
#31 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 10:35:57 AM

Hesabu ni ngumu!!! Pray Pray Pray
Marty
#32 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 10:53:32 AM

Marty wrote:

If u believe 6/2*(1+2) is the same as 6/2(1+2) then please explain why If u enter 6/2*(1+2) on a spreadsheet, u get 9, but when u enter 6/2(1+2), the spreadsheet (specifically) Excel, advises that the formula is wrong and goes ahead to propose 6/2*(1+2).

What say u about that?

Because 6/2(1+2) is a short form of 6/2*(1+2).

Can you tell us what you believe a(b + c) or better yet 6/2(1+2) means.

Final Attempt

Visit this site and enter the expression exactly the way it is i.e. 6/2(1+2) and see what answer you get.

You have explained so I'll rest my case. BODMAS ( I hear in Canada they call is BEDMAS). Glad that I never lost concentration when they taught us how to count notes and coins. I have since learnt how to identify them by way of touch which is far more important that BEDMAS.
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
#33 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 11:06:18 AM

[quote=harrydre

essy what is your answer? lol
[/quote]

Gosh what is not happening here! d'oh! We didnt use sheets when we were taught these things so use ur brains.
This is what I was taught in Bomas.oops! Bodmas.

Equation: 6/2(1+2)

1+2=3
sasa I was told that we multiply what is outside brackets by what is inside.
Therefore
6/2 x(3)=?? 9.
Ama utasema tulishatoa brackets?

#34 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 11:50:21 AM

Once you solve the ones in the bracket you open up the same by inserting a multiplication sign immediately before the answer. Hence you have;

6/2x3......Using BODMAS again, division comes before Multiplication, hence....
= 3x3
=9

@Maichnyeusi is right
majimaji
#35 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 12:04:08 PM

The ans is 1.
meme
#36 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 12:34:36 PM

people!!!! You have to maliza those brackets kabisa before doing ANYTHING else...the only way to do that is...6/2(1+2)
6/2(3)maliza the brackets by multiplyn 2*3.......this operation is still under B (RRACKETS) in BODMAS.

6/6..... = 1
Patience. You cannot have a baby in one month by impregnating nine women....
#37 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 1:03:32 PM

If you are told to solve the equation:

y = 6

2(1+x)

where x=2,

then y=6/6=1

So the answer is 1
vky
#38 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 1:03:40 PM

people,this is turning out to be quite a quagmire, the arguments advanced for both 1 and 9 are all sound and within the bounds of logic so it would be logical to deduct that both answers are correct depending on the calculator you use and whoever taught you math smile Applause
'One headache for famous medieval holy people was that someone might murder you to acquire your body parts for the relics trade'
specky
#39 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 1:03:58 PM

Thank God we were taught by different teachers,if it was the other way,huyo mwalimu angekiona leo....lol,kweli masomo ni ngumu,no wonder they want even baby class to go for tuition
#40 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 1:59:45 PM

eh!
9 Pages«<23456>»