wazua Sun, Sep 21, 2025

285 Pages«<7778798081>»
How to tell NSE has bottomed out
mwekez@ji
#1561 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2012 8:35:28 AM

hisah wrote:
I am looking at the volumes on bluechips today and the top 5 look like this...

EQTY 5.12M

On EQTY, BRITAK started exiting last year. And they still have a cool 393,713,630 if the same show is going on this year
hisah
#1562 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2012 11:26:29 AM

@mwekez@ji - oil fortunes create a robust middle class economy. Which bank serves the highest middle class concentration? My bet is on Equity and CIC insurance to return outsize gains when this reality takes shape.

For oil/gas financing my bet is on CFC and KCB. There is some interesting things happening to CFC (Standard Bank the mother esp green energy financing) and why they're recruiting from Goldman etc...

Next will be EABL - a booming middle class has a lot of entertainment budgeting... And in the process telcos will afford to hike tariffs as pocket change will be enough - think Mpesa...

Next look for REITs - oil and REITs are blood cousins...

And if you feel like you can take bigger risks, look for SMEs that will follow the oil money and the ICT boom coming soon. Those penny stocks will be interesting to ride.

Yep, I've let some cats out of the bag smile

$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#1563 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2012 11:30:11 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
Bwana hisah. You once said that high volumes at the end of a rally means exit volume, what makes this different?

Sustained huge volume on resistance levels means buyers are pressing the plate for a break. That's the difference.

I am still wondering about tranny. Could they be slated to grab some infrastructure projects in the oily zones...

$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#1564 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2012 4:42:02 PM

hisah wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
Bwana hisah. You once said that high volumes at the end of a rally means exit volume, what makes this different?

Sustained huge volume on resistance levels means buyers are pressing the plate for a break. That's the difference.

I am still wondering about tranny. Could they be slated to grab some infrastructure projects in the oily zones...

Hmmm... The investment in CIVICON particularly springs to mind
mwekez@ji
#1565 Posted : Friday, March 30, 2012 12:25:13 PM

hisah wrote:
@mwekez@ji - oil fortunes create a robust middle class economy. Which bank serves the highest middle class concentration? My bet is on Equity and CIC insurance to return outsize gains when this reality takes shape.

For oil/gas financing my bet is on CFC and KCB. There is some interesting things happening to CFC (Standard Bank the mother esp green energy financing) and why they're recruiting from Goldman etc...

Next will be EABL - a booming middle class has a lot of entertainment budgeting... And in the process telcos will afford to hike tariffs as pocket change will be enough - think Mpesa...

Next look for REITs - oil and REITs are blood cousins...

And if you feel like you can take bigger risks, look for SMEs that will follow the oil money and the ICT boom coming soon. Those penny stocks will be interesting to ride.

Yep, I've let some cats out of the bag smile

smile You've indeed let some cats out of the bag.

... how comes you've left out KK. Is it that OMC's will not get any direct benefits from this Black Gold
hisah
#1566 Posted : Friday, March 30, 2012 2:35:59 PM

Mpesa bank is starting to build up volumes.
#1567 Posted : Friday, April 06, 2012 12:46:46 PM

hisah wrote:

2. When media & wanjiku concentrate on the bearish bluechips especially KQ, Safcom, Equity and EABL.

And watch the volume spikes start to build up as the smart money buys the fear and blood on the streets...

Listed firms’ profits lift
NSE turnover to eight-
month high
http://businessdailyafri...-/14juxxez/-/index.html
Aguytrying
#1568 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2012 11:35:16 PM

Following the events of this year and this month in particular, where the nse has rallied from ~3200 now at 3489. i feel the techies should at least say something, major events have occurred at the nse, however this thread seems to have died a natural death.

hisah et al, what are the charts saying, i for one think this rally will have many casualties. over to you.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
hisah
#1569 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 7:52:46 AM

Still within rebound range 3000 - 3500 for the index. Nothing new though KCB has rallied much more than my expectation for bank stocks. Some feel good effect has also come from that oil announcement.

Techs aside, macro-econ picture is not looking good and CBK is doing all they can to try and hold out as long as they can. Cant say the same about Treasury, seems like a confused lot. I'm not comfy with that 7% syndicate loan from foreign banks. I cant see USDKES staying below 95 for long unless KES fx becomes a fixed regime. That USD rate uptick will not be good for that loan. Sigh. I have said before it can rain all year, but as long as oil cannot be printed and at lower prices, this will give the econ growth tough challenges. Externally the eurozone LTRO only managed to restore some liquidity. These days trillions of euros or USD cannot hold markets for more than a year?! KE does a lot of export biz with euroland. Need I say more on balance of payments, current account deficits etc.

- High CBR
- High treasury paper rates
- High inflation - cant control oil prices. Power bills, transport, goods, consumer purchase power, wages dilution (wages inflation looms) etc
- USDKES - price fixing. For how long unless CBK prints USD?! BOP, national debt, current account deficit etc
- Finance bill - interest rate cap catfight - a hell for banks.
- Eurozone debt bomb - Spain, Italy. Portugal, expect news very soon.

Yep, a lot of curve balls out there with very minimal immediate control from treasury.
Metasploit
#1570 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 10:09:42 AM

hisah wrote:
Still within rebound range 3000 - 3500 for the index. Nothing new though KCB has rallied much more than my expectation for bank stocks. Some feel good effect has also come from that oil announcement.

Techs aside, macro-econ picture is not looking good and CBK is doing all they can to try and hold out as long as they can. Cant say the same about Treasury, seems like a confused lot. I'm not comfy with that 7% syndicate loan from foreign banks. I cant see USDKES staying below 95 for long unless KES fx becomes a fixed regime. That USD rate uptick will not be good for that loan. Sigh. I have said before it can rain all year, but as long as oil cannot be printed and at lower prices, this will give the econ growth tough challenges. Externally the eurozone LTRO only managed to restore some liquidity. These days trillions of euros or USD cannot hold markets for more than a year?! KE does a lot of export biz with euroland. Need I say more on balance of payments, current account deficits etc.

- High CBR
- High treasury paper rates
- High inflation - cant control oil prices. Power bills, transport, goods, consumer purchase power, wages dilution (wages inflation looms) etc
- USDKES - price fixing. For how long unless CBK prints USD?! BOP, national debt, current account deficit etc
- Finance bill - interest rate cap catfight - a hell for banks.
- Eurozone debt bomb - Spain, Italy. Portugal, expect news very soon.

Yep, a lot of curve balls out there with very minimal immediate control from treasury.

Right to the point
http://www.businessdaily...8/-/4i66mg/-/index.html

Effects Will def cut out thru all sectors..airlines might be hit severely

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
Aguytrying
#1571 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 10:11:38 AM

Wow there's alot of factors there. the pack of cards could all just come crushing down.

The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
QW25091985
#1572 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 10:19:39 AM

here's my investment strategy . close your eyes and the stock that you pick is the one that you will buy !simple as that .
#1573 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 10:41:45 AM

Fasten your belts as we cross 3500 pts today
#1574 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 11:18:20 AM

QW25091985 wrote:
here's my investment strategy . close your eyes and the stock that you pick is the one that you will buy !simple as that .

My finger has just landed on Olympia. On a second trial, express have popped out!

I don't want to try for the third time, because i know it will be Sameer or Marshals!

This system of yours needs to be refined i.e. include exceptions. I can't risk my money on some stocks!

FUNKY
#1575 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 11:24:35 AM

Olympia may surprise with a dividend with this time.
#1576 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 12:47:17 PM

Mumias is doing the maximum 10% with ZERO supply
QW25091985
#1577 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 12:54:13 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

ati coz of a new ceo . Lol . Kwani how bad was the previous c.e.o But amnt complaining.
QW25091985
#1578 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 12:57:20 PM

FUNKY wrote:

its bn at the back of my mind for awhile. These light weight stocks fly faster than a f16 jet
#1579 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 1:17:12 PM

QW25091985 wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

ati coz of a new ceo . Lol . Kwani how bad was the previous c.e.o But amnt complaining.

Hehe. Also some of the projects are reportedly very close to coming online...
slykat
#1580 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 1:20:05 PM

QW25091985 wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

its bn at the back of my mind for awhile. These light weight stocks fly faster than a f16 jet

Laughing out loudly Are u two having a laugh or what!? Wamae?!!!

You are funny. VVS will agree with me Laughing out loudly