wazua Sat, Jan 18, 2025

Total Kenya profit falls by 96%
#21 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2012 11:28:07 PM

cnn wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
cnn, could we term that a peril of operating in multiple markets, or do you think KK could be doing much better on that front regardless?

I think they did mention despite fluctuations across the markets ,it is the Kenyan one that hit them really hard,the same one that Total operates in...but i trust the management to know and do better going forward,the competition has shown there is a way.

And then this:
holycow wrote:
The effect of Realised Loss started in the month of December 2011 and spilled over into the subsequent Financial Year, of which effect, can be seen in Statement of Comprehensive income."[/i]

The above is an excerpt from KK 2011 annual report pp 4.

Saw on Twitter the following.
@oleturana
#STOCKWATCH #KenolKobil H1 earnings "under pressure” after maturing hedging contracts led to FX losses #JacobSegman via @Bloomberg

#STOCKWATCH #KenolKobil "Sales have gone up significantly in Q1, but suffering FX loss on forward contracts" #JacobSegman via @Bloomberg

#STOCKWATCH #KenolKobil currency loss rose to KES1.2Bn ($14.5M) in 2011 vs KES573M in 2010 #JacobSegman via @Bloomberg

Just hope KK will come out strong.

But the journey was never going to be ''smooth all the way''...
Aguytrying
#22 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2012 11:45:15 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
I once said that the share prices of KK and TOTAL will switch. It's going to happen. now total at 13.20 would you believe?

I also can't believe it!

Especially knowing that Total has 23% Kenyan market share (kk definitely has lesser share even NOW!) and kk has almost 8.5 times more floated shares than total (1,471,760,000 compared to 175,060,000)!

Seriously, if KK is rightfully worth 12/-, Total should be at least 50 something/-.

My friend where have you been. KK overtook TOTAL in market share mid last yr 2011. it stands at around 25% now.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#23 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 8:08:06 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
I once said that the share prices of KK and TOTAL will switch. It's going to happen. now total at 13.20 would you believe?

I also can't believe it!

Especially knowing that Total has 23% Kenyan market share (kk definitely has lesser share even NOW!) and kk has almost 8.5 times more floated shares than total (1,471,760,000 compared to 175,060,000)!

Seriously, if KK is rightfully worth 12/-, Total should be at least 50 something/-.

My friend where have you been. KK overtook TOTAL in market share mid last yr 2011. it stands at around 25% now.

Plus market share doesn't mean jack if you're not churning out the profits. KK is minting billions.
Aguytrying
#24 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 9:09:29 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

I also can't believe it!

Plus market share doesn't mean jack if you're not churning out the profits. KK is minting billions.

Exactly. And when you are trading on a negative eps, the market has the right to do with you what it wants.

@ycant, don't you think it's ironical that whenever KK share starts rallying, theres always some bad news that crops up.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#25 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 10:11:43 AM

These Total guys must be jokers.

I say Total = [(KQ x Eveready)x (KQ x Eveready)]+[Mumias*Express]

jerry
#26 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 10:53:20 AM

These Total guys must be jokers.

I say Total = [(KQ x Eveready)x (KQ x Eveready)]+[Mumias*Express]

Wait for Total for 2yrs!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#27 Posted : Wednesday, April 04, 2012 11:02:38 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

I also can't believe it!

Exactly. And when you are trading on a negative eps, the market has the right to do with you what it wants.

@ycant, don't you think it's ironical that whenever KK share starts rallying, theres always some bad news that crops up.

*Sigh*
Seems they may have got it terribly wrong on the hedges.
I guess it's times like this that you wish KK released quarterly financials.
I just hope we'll see some profit growth, however minimal.
On the upside though, "Sales have gone up significantly in Q1'' That's gotta be nice to hearsmile
Jamani
#28 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2012 8:48:48 AM

Whats the material announcement on Total any idea?
#29 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2012 8:52:10 AM

Jamani wrote:
That they have thrown in the towel... and sold out to KK?
Jamani
#30 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2012 8:53:25 AM

Jamani wrote:
That they have thrown in the towel... and sold out to KK?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly good one
Jamani
#31 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2012 9:05:02 AM

Aguytrying
#32 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2012 10:30:23 AM

Jamani wrote:
http://www.total.co.ke/os/oskenya.nsf/VS_SWIPSA/13A047025695C83EC12574F4003CC5A6?OpenDocument&UNI=C1256F8E00532BAEC1256F1E005A5915&LG=EN&

Its Totals turn for a brush with the law
FUNKY
#33 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2012 10:38:39 AM

mkeiyd
#34 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2012 12:27:21 PM

3 shares traded @ 211 bob. How is that possible?
maina20
#35 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2012 12:28:31 PM

Jamani wrote:

http://www.businessdaily...8/-/aqce1m/-/index.html

Total Kenya posts Sh88m Q1 loss, cites high financing costs
..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
Jamani
#36 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2012 12:40:32 PM

mkeiyd wrote:

wacha wewe!!!...... its 3 deals at a total of +112K

BIDS 16,200

Quantity Price Splits Time
6,100 15.00 1 12:20:14
2,000 14.75 1 12:20:14
3,600 14.60 2 12:20:14
3,000 13.00 1 12:20:14
1,500 12.00 1 12:20:14
ASKS 67,700
28,600 16.00 6 12:20:14
1,000 16.50 1 12:20:14
10,000 17.65 1 12:20:14
28,100 32.00 1 12:20:14
- - - -
TRADES
Quantity Price Time
2,000 15.00 12:20:13
4,000 15.00 12:15:34
1,500 15.00 09:33:50
- - -
- - -
#37 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2012 3:02:50 PM

Those 3 bob dividends seem eons ago.
But the high financing costs will affect KK as well not to mention the hedging issue...
Jamani
#38 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2012 3:05:21 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Those 3 bob dividends seem eons ago.
But the high financing costs will affect KK as well not to mention the hedging issue...

Take-over will have taken place in Keke...
hisah
#39 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2012 3:09:11 PM

I hope the bad news tsunami on total (TKL) will continue for the rest of the year. At 10/- and below it will get interesting smile

Btw I'm looking forward to other firms reporting their Q1 results esp non-financials. Those funding costs will mostly have shot up by margins above 40%. The liquidity squeeze effect thanks to CBK...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
mkeiyd
#40 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2012 3:21:25 PM

Jamani wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:

wacha wewe!!!...... its 3 deals at a total of +112K

BIDS 16,200

6,100 15.00 1 12:20:14
2,000 14.75 1 12:20:14
3,600 14.60 2 12:20:14
3,000 13.00 1 12:20:14
1,500 12.00 1 12:20:14
ASKS 67,700
28,600 16.00 6 12:20:14
1,000 16.50 1 12:20:14
10,000 17.65 1 12:20:14
28,100 32.00 1 12:20:14
- - - -
TRADES
Quantity Price Time
2,000 15.00 12:20:13
4,000 15.00 12:15:34
1,500 15.00 09:33:50
- - -
- - -

The damn price of 211 for 3 shares was on rich live, both normal and expert boards.
It got my heart jumping.