wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

Where are the commissioned fire engines?
#1 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2012 9:37:36 PM

I watched in pain as the Mayor tried to explain their incompetence during fire outbreaks.

So the Goverment commissioned 3 state of the art fire engines and according to honourable Mayor they are no where to be found???d'oh! Like seriously?

They just showed us pics of the engines so in whose backyard are they?? Big engines that size?
or were they reduced to spareparts?
Now the Mayor wants the Minister to allocate funds to buy more?? more?
Don't I just love my city.Laughing out loudly

What beats me is the Mayor acknowledging that he was shocked not to see any of those engines at Kimathi house yesterday.

So the Mayor has absolutely no clue about his firefighting department and its survival?
Whose responsibility is it to ensure the department functions well?

When the private companies step in to assist I believe they contracted by the NCC? ,meaning its not a free service.

Just when I thought we were heading somewhere with 2030 vision people are talking like the did in the 80s.Sad
I give up.What a council!

#2 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2012 9:47:51 PM

The Kimathi hse fire and the CCN inability to deal with it is a shame for Nairobi and Kenya. If we do not have the capacity to put out a fire on the 6th floor how will we manage fire in taller buildings?
#3 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2012 9:51:55 PM

Sold to one of the private firms you saw happilly fighting fire jana,kanjo contracts them in times of emergency like last night.
HII NI KENYA!!!

#4 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2012 9:59:33 PM

Sold to one of the private firms you saw happilly fighting fire jana,kanjo contracts them in times of emergency like last night.
HII NI KENYA!!!

Gosh!I dont know whether to laugh or cry.
Eti happily fighting the fire???Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Cz cheque is on the way?? smh!
Serikali buys using taxpayers money,then the same is sold to private companies and they become a cash cow?
You know that makes me fear that some of these fires could be caused by the smile itself?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly wakati wa njaa.
I am soo glad vision 2030 wont catch some of these fellows in office but will the culture die?
Mr.Wambui
#5 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2012 10:13:00 PM

In kenya, disaster preparedness ni hadithi za kaka sungura. wait and how the rain will 'catch us in surprise'.
All you can do is all you can do; but all you can do is enough!
#6 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2012 10:30:28 PM

We don't even need fire engines.Private firms can take care of that.They have proved themselves even though
The NCC needs firefighting choppers.(2 at most)
But I know they will be ferrying cabbages from karatina to wilson destined for marikiti when there are no fires.
Yet they are quick to arrest people sitting on flower pots.
nyangao
#7 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2012 11:53:14 PM

A much as we would like to blame the council, the building owner should have had a fire fighting reserve tank which is mandatory when gating approvalsh.the hydrants should be easily accessible and with enough water at the right pressure to fight off the fire.we can't expect two tankers to put off
such a fire, once their reserves were over they would have connected to the hydrants and continue fighting the fire
QW25091985
#8 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2012 7:26:34 AM

how embaracing can it get ?
#9 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2012 7:55:08 AM

nyangao wrote:
A much as we would like to blame the council, the building owner should have had a fire fighting reserve tank which is mandatory when gating approvalsh.the hydrants should be easily accessible and with enough water at the right pressure to fight off the fire.we can't expect two tankers to put off
such a fire, once their reserves were over they would have connected to the hydrants and continue fighting the fire

Lets blame the victim shall we! Then vote Kisia for Governor.
jamplu
#10 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2012 8:02:30 AM

If the fire equipments that G4s has is what we claim to be modern then we are doomed the thing couldn't even hit 4th floor. CCN needs to be serious and stop this blame game that they lack funds for equipments. I doubt whether the fire hydrants around nairobi ever work do the firemen even have the right skills?
We should also take care of business in our homes very few of us invest in fire blankets and extinguishers for our houses!
QW25091985
#11 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2012 8:06:55 AM

i remember there was a ceremony at kicc to give ccn fire fighting trucks ( about 8 of them ). kwani kuliendaje ?
nyangao
#12 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2012 8:11:39 AM

Lets blame the victim shall we! Then vote Kisia for Governor.[/quote]

Alma, as much as the city council is to blame, the management of the building have a large share of the blame. they should have ensured that the building was compliant with fire protection.
Just a quick question, if your house burned cause of a faulty electrical appliance and the fire fighters come late or don't show up at all, who is to blame? the fire fighters cause of their inefficiency or you who did not prepare for such an accident.
Again i reiterate that the kimathi house owners/ management should have ensured that the hydrants had enough water with the right pressure and should have also fitted fire extinguishers and hose pipes in the building where first people at the scene would have tried to put it off before it became uncontrollable.
This is a building requirement where most developers compromise on; where hose pipes are provided they are used to wash the corridors. unfortunately the price for ignoring such basic requirements is quite high, i sincerely sympathize with the tenants.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2012 8:38:56 AM

nyangao wrote:

Alma, as much as the city council is to blame, the management of the building have a large share of the blame. they should have ensured that the building was compliant with fire protection.

Wait a sec! No building in this city is approved and dimmed fit for occupancy if it doesn't have fire fighting equipment.But you and I know that some buildings skip that,not the likes of Kimathi house though.Reason being it's in a central place,central street just opposite a 5 star hotel besides it houses lawyers offices. Well lawyers should know better than to occupy an office that could go up in flames any minute.

That aside, what time did the fire start? Was there a security guy and if so was he able to access the fire fighting equip?.Would you risk your life trying to put a fire of that magnitude? First thing is run cz of the deafening explosions and carbon emitted.Its not even wise to act hero in such cases.

I rem when the bomb blast happened,it was brought to our notice that most of the city hydrants don't work! Then the talk about repairing them started.
Now how many years are those and how many fires have we had since then? including the Nakumatt one?

Can this council stop fooling us and blaming the victim! These building remit rent and other rates to the council.It's therefore the council responsibility to look after its citizens who pay tax to its accounts or else they pack and go!
This kind of reasoning is not healthy in these times.

And I doubt some people are qualified to lead city councils.What they are capable of managing are village council of elders judging from their talk.

We still would like to know if what the Gone for Sure uses is what the goverment commissioned cz makosa imefanyika if that is so.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2012 9:19:14 AM

I get a lot of flack when I say that the problem with Kenya is not buildings but the people running these buildings....

So all of a sudden the mayor finds out he doesn't have fire equipment, the town clerk looks like a deer in the headlights, the gov't is silent and we all want to blame the tenants for not backing up data and the building owners for not having sprinkler systems.

It reminds me of the Konza thread, where the solution is not to fix the underlying mismanagement but to transfer the mismanagement to a whole new city.

Only when we come to terms that our education system has rewarded incompetent managers with degrees and masters while sacrificing managers who actually perform their duties who are too busy to go for evening classes at strathmore, shall we move forward.

The next building will not be Times towers, it will be your house.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2012 10:35:18 AM

QW25091985 wrote:
i remember there was a ceremony at kicc to give ccn fire fighting trucks ( about 8 of them ). kwani kuliendaje ?

#16 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2012 10:56:26 AM

Sack all fire officers and including the town clerk. Non-performance is not acceptable. If Kenyans are not willing to work, they should go home and bum.
jamplu
#17 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2012 11:26:47 AM

We are simply not prepared for disasters. Commonsense is never taught in school even harvard don't do it. Knowing that fire might happens any time in any of the buildings in town and in the 10th floor requires just commonsense to plan for it.

It was pathetic to see some law firm employees display someones Title deed and behaving like CCN was supposed to buy them fire proof cabinets

#18 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2012 11:38:02 AM

jamplu wrote:
We are simply not prepared for disasters. Commonsense is never taught in school even harvard don't do it. Knowing that fire might happens any time in any of the buildings in town and in the 10th floor requires just commonsense to plan for it.

It was pathetic to see some law firm employees display someones Title deed and behaving like CCN was supposed to buy them fire proof cabinets

jamplu
#19 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2012 11:43:27 AM

Elder wrote:
jamplu wrote:

@Elder it is serious how some of the lawyers handle our documents you just find these documents lying all over their offices its like they don't know the value of that paper. Once you in the office its when you hear something like Document ya huyu iko wapi?
#20 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2012 1:19:39 PM

Don't worry Elder...I'm sure jamplu is right now sitting on a fire proof leather seat, has a fire proof vest and he lives in a house with fire proof windows, doors and walls. He knows kisia's guys aren't prepared so he's fully prepared.

Even fireproof tomatoes that don't burn but simmer.