wazua Sun, Jan 19, 2025

KCB & Equity raiders are in town
Sure
#1 Posted : Thursday, March 22, 2012 2:09:11 PM

Who are the raiders taking KCB and Equity bank shares in millions? They must be foreigners or those selling KQ shares. Anyone in the know?
Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom.
When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
Sure
#2 Posted : Thursday, March 22, 2012 2:11:21 PM

Someone tells me NSSF is one of the raiders.
Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom.
When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
cnn
#3 Posted : Thursday, March 22, 2012 3:07:11 PM

@Sure,but it is 95% foreign buys on KCB,8.4 Million shares traded by the close with a demand for another 9M against a 400k supply.
tuvok
#4 Posted : Thursday, March 22, 2012 3:13:22 PM

Watching these very keenly especially as to when they shall exit the market
underweight
#5 Posted : Thursday, March 22, 2012 3:28:15 PM

KCB at any price above 23.5 its definitely a sell for me having bought at between 15.80 - 16.50 range. Am sure it will definitely touch a low of 20 before book closure and a roar once more. As for equity I guess its a pump and dump. Just look at today's volume. Its insignificant...fume volumes.
"A bad decision made now is beta that a good one made later!!"
tuvok
#6 Posted : Friday, March 23, 2012 11:25:23 AM

Raiders still in town especially so for KCB. @underweight - agreed.
Aguytrying
#7 Posted : Monday, March 26, 2012 11:01:21 AM

Equity's is even more surprising. After book closure you'd expect it to go down, but no. even more demand ex dividend. Safcom behaved similarly last year.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#8 Posted : Monday, March 26, 2012 12:30:18 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
Equity's is even more surprising. After book closure you'd expect it to go down, but no. even more demand ex dividend. Safcom behaved similarly last year.

My surprise is on NBK!

Equity reported 40% increase in profits and the share price started falling. NBK report a decline in profitability and the share price goes up.

Is it that people expected Equity's profit to rise by a bigger margin and NBK's profit to decline by a bigger margin or is it the Kenyan retail investors and speculators being in their usual Absolutely Bure Kabisa mode?
sageauk
#9 Posted : Monday, March 26, 2012 3:25:10 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

My surprise is on NBK!

Equity reported 40% increase in profits and the share price started falling. NBK report a decline in profitability and the share price goes up.

Is it that people expected Equity's profit to rise by a bigger margin and NBK's profit to decline by a bigger margin or is it the Kenyan retail investors and speculators being in their usual Absolutely Bure Kabisa mode?

Thats exactly my worry.

And what do you think of purchasing Centum investments Now?
Aguytrying
#10 Posted : Monday, March 26, 2012 3:30:19 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

My surprise is on NBK!

But NBK was at 22.00-23.00, before announcement of results, then fell to 17.00. now recovered a bit to 18.00. Its still taken a thorough beating considering it was in the 40's before the bear market set in.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#11 Posted : Monday, March 26, 2012 3:50:39 PM

Sure wrote:
Who are the raiders taking KCB and Equity bank shares in millions? They must be foreigners or those selling KQ shares. Anyone in the know?

Me asking too. Anyone in the know?

PKoli
#12 Posted : Monday, March 26, 2012 10:25:02 PM

Sure wrote:

Me asking too. Anyone in the know?

Any one with hard cash knew the stocks had value. KCB had a p/e of about 6 and dividend yield of almost 9% before the results were announced. You could never have ignored that!
the deal
#13 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 12:09:25 AM

The KCB folks are on an investor road show in SA, Europe and U.S.
FUNKY
#14 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2012 9:33:04 AM

hisah
#15 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2012 9:38:43 AM

the deal wrote:
The KCB folks are on an investor road show in SA, Europe and U.S.

I can Washington DC will been on this week.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
mwekez@ji
#16 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2012 9:46:36 AM

#17 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2012 11:14:35 AM

while Simba is rewarding its customers for depositing (read: looking for money), Member is been given cheap loans by international financial institutions.

This is what we call, 'THE POWER OF A GOOD NAME'.

Mimi ni Member, je, wewe?

QD
#18 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2012 12:43:01 PM

while Simba is rewarding its customers for depositing (read: looking for money), Member is been given cheap loans by international financial institutions.

This is what we call, 'THE POWER OF A GOOD NAME'.

Mimi ni Member, je, wewe?

You call it cheap money!! wish you have read the fine prints of how that money will be paid back concidering the Libor rates (and are the cheap loans on Fixed or floating rate: and our FX rate that is not stable.
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
#19 Posted : Friday, March 30, 2012 2:40:24 PM

It seems Simba will not Jump into 23/- this time round, it has kwma'd at 22.25-22.75/- long enough.

How about Member, has it been cursed to remain at 18.5-19.5/- range?

Only time will tell, but from the going on, Simba max price is 23/- and Member max can be 19.75/-.

Simba Vs Member (up to now)
Volume today- 1,962,000 vs 887,400
Best Bid - 22.25 vs 19.20
Best Ask - 22.50 vs 19.25
Highest Price - 22.50 vs 19.30
Lowest Price - 22.25 vs 19.15
Average Price - 22.45 vs 19.25

30th Mrch 2012 2:40EAT

msafiri
#20 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2012 5:32:47 PM

KCB is now the biggest bank in East Africa by assets, and profitability. Equity bank comes a close second in profitability. KCB has for the fist time just edged BBK in market CAP, there is a lot of upside with KCB/Equity. For those with a longer time horizon KCB is cheap at 23.
http://afrikainvestor.bl...k-group-year-ended.html

http://afrikainvestor.bl...nk-group-year-ended.html
When you see clouds gathering, prepare to catch rainwater. - African proverb