wazua Fri, May 8, 2026

Ati...Unless you have a witness the Police cannot apprehend a suspect(s)?
villageseer
#1 Posted : Saturday, March 31, 2012 1:37:45 PM

After coming face to face with two thieves who were attempting to steal some avocados from my farm on March 21ST 2002 at around 6.15 a.m.

And even after identifying them by their names to the Area Chief,who then directed me in getting a Warrant-of-Arrest letter from the nearest Police Station and also recording the happening with Police Occurrence Book (OB 21/30/3/2012 at Kandara Police Station)

And after recording what had occurs at Police Occurrence Book (O.B)the Duty-Officer informed me that unless I had a witness at the time of crime, The law does not allow the Police to apprehend the suspect.

He even repeated that even in a situation where a thief or thieves or rapers break your house and beat you mercilessly and leave you for dead or raped you... even if you could name who had beaten you or raped you - If you happened to be alone, the Police would not apprehends the thieves or person who have raped you, even if you know the name(s)of the criminal ... Unless you had a witness at the time of incident!!

Is this legally TRUE Bwana Commissioner?

What is then the use of having private property or assets if there is no law or laws to protect your investment from the criminals?
Dash
#2 Posted : Saturday, March 31, 2012 1:45:40 PM

Thats a load of bollocks
#3 Posted : Saturday, March 31, 2012 1:53:11 PM

say what?
Surely,do criminals hit when people are around?
Do they give hints about their mission so that we can get a witness on standby?
In that case we are doomed.Sad
#4 Posted : Saturday, March 31, 2012 2:15:22 PM

@villageseer and @easyk. If I woke up one day and reported you to the police, would they just come and arrest you? I would need evidencce that you did what I claim you did, easiest way is to have a witness. Else police will record your statement and mark it PUI pending under investigation. Once convinced you are the culprit they will let the law take its course, remember even thieves have rights. Woe into you if you lied to the police.
#5 Posted : Saturday, March 31, 2012 4:50:45 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
@villageseer and @easyk. If I woke up one day and reported you to the police, would they just come and arrest you? I would need evidencce that you did what I claim you did, easiest way is to have a witness. Else police will record your statement and mark it PUI pending under investigation. Once convinced you are the culprit they will let the law take its course, remember even thieves have rights. Woe into you if you lied to the police.

correction ,essyk not easy.smile

True that cz some people will misuse the weak system.
Since CCTVs cant be installed everywhere and fingertips is just another story, a mtego will do to catch them red handed.
No wonder people met out mob justice to such thieves cz they are tired of their inability to catch them red handed.

#6 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2012 10:45:21 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

correction ,essyk not easy.smile

True that cz some people will misuse the weak system.
Since CCTVs cant be installed everywhere and fingertips is just another story, a mtego will do to catch them red handed.
No wonder people met out mob justice to such thieves cz they are tired of their inability to catch them red handed.

The problem with both your arguments is that police are supposed to investigate all claims of criminality. They simply will not be bothered with an investigation.

Picture this. A shop is broken into and cash plus airtime stolen. Police are promptly informed and want to arrest the workers 'ndio watuambie nani aliiba'. Airtime serial numbers are produced so that action/tracking can be done with mobile companies - I hear it is possible to suspend the top up cards where they have not been used, or track the people who bought it- but the police will simply not be bothered. The mobile companies will not do anything without a formal police request and the police will not put through the request, simply because it is easier to arrest the easiest targets.

Sorry but I do not think anything credible can come from the Kenyan police.
Kwanini
#7 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2012 10:56:52 AM

perhaps you could have pierced he night with the cry of a wounded lion, attracting Njorua the local vigilante, who at a small fee, could easily have sworn an affidavit on your behalf, but again why sweat the small stuff? Be solaced by one Chinua Achebe, “ Let us not reason like cowards…If a man comes into my hut and defecates on the floor,what do I do?Do I shut my eyes? No! I take a stick and break his head.”
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
#8 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2012 12:17:50 PM

Robinhood wrote:

The problem with both your arguments is that police are supposed to investigate all claims of criminality. They simply will not be bothered with an investigation.

Sorry but I do not think anything credible can come from the Kenyan police.

That is why they are cops so am okay in assuming they are supposed to play their role.
The culture of mob justice was born by such assumptions but I cant blame the mwananchi.

I once went to the police station to plead for somebody's release and I found this lady who apparently had been involved in the disappearance of a child while she pretended to pray for the child.d'oh!. I blve it was a kidnap.
The lady cops had brought the lady out of the cell and they were harassing her in full view of the public. call it interrogation.

Police woman: Si uliomba mtoto akapotea?
Woman: hapana
Police: Hivyo uliomba akapotea,omba hivyo hivyo hapa na saa hii mtoto atokezee!Mama ya mtoto ndio huyu anasubiri mtoto.

I left praying that her prayers will work.

#9 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2012 6:11:47 PM

@Essk, but I hope you see my point. They are cops, their jobs is to investigate but they will do no such thing. You report a crime and they want to arrest you - ati so you can assist with investigations. With such an attitude from the police, it is not wonder community policing failed. You do not want to report crime and be arrested, or worse, discover that the police eat with the thugs!!
#10 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2012 6:19:35 PM

Robinhood wrote:
@Essk, but I hope you see my point. They are cops, their jobs is to investigate but they will do no such thing. You report a crime and they want to arrest you - ati so you can assist with investigations. With such an attitude from the police, it is not wonder community policing failed. You do not want to report crime and be arrested, or worse, discover that the police eat with the thugs!!

Loil! Talk of the hunter becoming the hunted.
Hell NO.One story on Case files opened my eyes.
Take care of your stuff the best way you know how.