wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

Tragedy of Flight KQ507
Spend.thrift
#21 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 3:35:41 PM

Ric dees wrote:

..Sad state of events if the report is anything to go by, however i will not put blinders to ignore the obvious the blame lies in KQ not boeing in my opinion. I will not draw views from people in the industry, there is tendancy to same views.

However i got a view from a consultant in boeing a Kenyan mwindi and he told me Boeing for the longest time have been fed up with KQ when it comes to dealing with simple procedures regarding fixing problems etc..KQ simply tend to ignore, while this may be the small faults here and there however the fact cannot be lost KQ is known to cut corners.

I will not go into specifics but clearly there seem to be un underlying problem here,i know it is a cut throat business but the views expressed would defenitely send chill down any frequent traveller.

@ Ric dees and the weekly top 40s, I hope you are not simply posting this because the view was on your top 40 views chart. It's good you talked of views expressed as opposed to facts expressed

Back to stream, KQ's safety audits always return a healthy bill to the carrier, including in the years 2000 and 2007 when we had fatal hull losses. These are safety audits based on applied procedures for maintenance and aircraft operation so go chill yourself with a cold coke. KQ is a safe airline. You think KQ is a skyteam member, entrusted with not only the safety but the confidence of thousands of travellers traveling on tickets issued by carriers like AF and KLM because of the lively livery on the aircraft?

B.Timer
#22 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 4:15:10 PM

We in Africa like blaming "the West" for our faults and inadequances.

It is clear that this was Captain error and by extension KQ error.

For starters why did they take off in the absence of clearence to do so!!

How come they quietly compensated the bereaved families.
The panicky shouts of we are crashing and the matter of the Plane tilting horribly(unless we dont believe the data to be authentic) must have been sourced from the ill fated Aircrafts devices.

When it suits us, we blame the West for conspiring against Africa. In other situations we believe the West has better and working systems as compared to what we have.

Case in point is the argument that the ICC is being used by the west to punish certain people and reward others in our political landscape.

I will hear none of that - for it is not true!

PS I am no puppet of anybody's - West or otherwise!!!!

Dunia ni msongamano..
Ash Ock
#23 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 6:28:12 PM

What most people don’t see is the similarity between the 2000 and 2007 crashes. Both of these tragic accidents occurred due to the failure of all four pilots to scan, read, and understand what their instruments were telling them.

In the first case, the plane was descending and then crashed. Both pilots had no idea what the aircraft was doing until it was 10ft above the water, when it hit the captain how precarious their situation was. His desperate yell of “Go up” was captured on the CVR a second before the accident.

In the second case, the non engagement of the auto-pilot was by itself not tragic. What was tragic is that right after take-off, situational awareness was lost. Both pilots did not realize that the plane was not being flown by the autopilot and was dangerously banking. The instruments would have shown them the status of the autopilot and the attitude of the plane. The FDR recorded this information. Both pilots failed to see and therefore could not take the appropriate action until the automated bank warning was set off. The action was then panicky with the captain first banking the plane further to the right, the co-pilot shouting “right captain right” before correcting himself to say left.

Leaving aside the supposed arrogance of the KQ507 captain, note that both of these accidents took place at night. In the first, it was over water and in the second, it was over land during a storm. When such a situation occurs and the pilots do not rely on their instruments, they will become spatially disoriented, with grave consequences.

Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
#24 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 7:13:42 PM

The problem with this story is that we can identify with it. A captain who is arrogant who doesn't deal with situations as they are supposed to be dealt with.

It's easy to blame the 'WEST' as usual. And have no doubt about it the story is biased....but what isn't even our opinions here are biased to the point where we aren't diapproving the facts but the article writer's "westness".

The questions that need to be asked to prevent the next nairobi-kisumu crash on Kibera slums.

1. Did the pilot follow the right procedures?
2. Did the co-pilot?
3. Was the plane in good condition?
4. If the pilot and co-pilot didn't follow procedure, who's in charge of ensuring they follow right procedure?
5. Is this the first time this has happened at KQ?

Therein lies your answers. Forget the mzungu issues and the west and the they hate us.

If there is a problem in KQ that this article has brought up, deal with it now or expect worse.

I've just read some of the comments here so I want to ask based on the comments

1. Are KQ pilots arrogant to a fault? Do they really call clients, f***ers?
2. Is it true that some of them have a brown probox before they board those planes?
3. Is it true that a huge percentage of the pilots come from well off families who go into piloting for prestige rather than being the best the country can offer?

If any of these are true then KQ has institutional problems rather than pilot errors. So expect more of these "accidents".

Disclaimer: I have no idea what I'm talking about. I've never even entered a plane.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 8:10:57 PM

@alma wewe ni malenge.
Ha hahahahahahah..

#26 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 8:30:41 PM

@alma wewe ni malenge.
Ha hahahahahahah..

sasa nimefanya nini?

By the way I took the advice from Mcregae and bought a bond 7 from a supermarket. It tastes better than the one from kalocal.

It makes me see things in question form.
#27 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 8:15:47 AM

@alma,
In this partcular, the pilots are also suffering from what the west suffers in terms of blame.......arrogance!!!!!
#28 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 9:26:22 AM

Ric dees wrote:

..Sad state of events if the report is anything to go by, however i will not put blinders to ignore the obvious the blame lies in KQ not boeing in my opinion. I will not draw views from people in the industry, there is tendancy to same views.

However i got a view from a consultant in boeing a Kenyan mwindi and he told me Boeing for the longest time have been fed up with KQ when it comes to dealing with simple procedures regarding fixing problems etc..KQ simply tend to ignore, while this may be the small faults here and there however the fact cannot be lost KQ is known to cut corners.

I will not go into specifics but clearly there seem to be un underlying problem here,i know it is a cut throat business but the views expressed would defenitely send chill down any frequent traveller.

This might be true, but that plane was 6 months old....it must have been ok even without ever having been maintained.

@Spend.thrift "I'm always edgy when the aircraft takes that right bank at JKIA especially at night." It banks and rises at the same time, no chance of ploughing into the ground....ama unaogopa iko brick wall hapo juu?
#29 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 11:31:50 AM

3. Is it true that a huge percentage of the pilots come from well off families who go into piloting for prestige rather than being the best the country can offer?

....you (or your parents) need to be super loaded for you to acquire a CPL/ATPL ...Na kuingia hiyo ab initio training ya KQ ...Shame on you boss ... you would have better luck convincing a mean banker to hand over 10 million as a gift.

I tried thrice (with good grades, and the final time I had a BSc under my belt) ..didn't make it
Kirika
#30 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 11:46:22 AM

Ash Ock wrote:
What most people don’t see is the similarity between the 2000 and 2007 crashes. Both of these tragic accidents occurred due to the failure of all four pilots to scan, read, and understand what their instruments were telling them.

In the first case, the plane was descending and then crashed. Both pilots had no idea what the aircraft was doing until it was 10ft above the water, when it hit the captain how precarious their situation was. His desperate yell of “Go up” was captured on the CVR a second before the accident.

In the second case, the non engagement of the auto-pilot was by itself not tragic. What was tragic is that right after take-off, situational awareness was lost. Both pilots did not realize that the plane was not being flown by the autopilot and was dangerously banking. The instruments would have shown them the status of the autopilot and the attitude of the plane. The FDR recorded this information. Both pilots failed to see and therefore could not take the appropriate action until the automated bank warning was set off. The action was then panicky with the captain first banking the plane further to the right, the co-pilot shouting “right captain right” before correcting himself to say left.

Leaving aside the supposed arrogance of the KQ507 captain, note that both of these accidents took place at night. In the first, it was over water and in the second, it was over land during a storm. When such a situation occurs and the pilots do not rely on their instruments, they will become spatially disoriented, with grave consequences.

Well put !

Couldnt have put it better.
#31 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 11:57:53 AM

One thing for sure according to the article/crash report the pilot was below average and KQ did nothing to rectify that..the copilot on the other hand failed some test which shows they have same very predictable fate...something I missed is the qualification of the flight engineer.

The report also indicated failure to communicate btwn the pilot and the co-pilot, clear instructions were never issued..the pilot seemed to communicate to himself..which ultimately means the Co-pilot was watching the pilot do most of the work..that is, he was intimidated by the pilots experience so even if he noticed an error he could not tell the pilot.

The flight engineer is not quoted anywhere...or Am I missing something...I might be wrong but dont all flights have flight engineer because the pilot and the co-pilot were unable to use the flight instruments.

#32 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 12:24:25 PM

@selah,
The modern role of a flight engineer is to do ground checks at the point of destination, if an airline has station engineers at the destination then most flights go without flight engineers!!!!
Burning Spear
#33 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 1:17:00 PM

selah wrote:
One thing for sure according to the article/crash report the pilot was below average and KQ did nothing to rectify that..the copilot on the other hand failed some test which shows they have same very predictable fate...something I missed is the qualification of the flight engineer.

The report also indicated failure to communicate btwn the pilot and the co-pilot, clear instructions were never issued..the pilot seemed to communicate to himself..which ultimately means the Co-pilot was watching the pilot do most of the work..that is, he was intimidated by the pilots experience so even if he noticed an error he could not tell the pilot.

The flight engineer is not quoted anywhere...or Am I missing something...I might be wrong but dont all flights have flight engineer because the pilot and the co-pilot were unable to use the flight instruments.

The plane had an engineer.

KQ 507 Crew

Captain: Wamwea Francis Mbatia
First Officer: Wanyoike Andrew Kiuru

Flight Engineer: Kisilu William Muia

Purser: Kiiru Phylis Njeri

Flight Attendant: Njoroge Allan Njenga
Flight Attendant: Nyakweba Lydia Mocheche
Flight Attendant: Ongondo Elizabeth Achieng
Flight Attendant: Wakhu Shantaben Niriza
Flight Attendant: Kadurenge Cyprian Mande
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Ric dees
#34 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 2:43:27 PM

Well it seems we many never really know for sure what happened to KQ507 on that fateful day.

However am a firm believer things dont go wrong, BUT they start wrong and herein lies my issues!

* Why did KQ change their destination of training pilots from a world reknowned flight center in Ethiopia to SA? was it cost based or or is SA better or were Ethipia tired of the calibre of candidates been sent by KQ?

http://www.ethiopianairl...ools/pilot/default.aspx

http://www.flightacademy.co.za/

http://www.43airschool.com/

* The who's who seem to have a say in their pilot recruitment programme.

* The over-reliance on ex-airforce personell, have they been unable to make the transition smoothly to a modern private sector environment hence inablity to adapt the rigours of modern day corporates.

There seem to be a number of underlying issues and unless these are addressed then this will indeed happen again, however am no pilot, nor do i work in KQ am just an obesrver from outside.

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Ash Ock
#35 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 3:21:02 PM

Burning Spear wrote:

The plane had an engineer.

KQ 507 Crew

Captain: Wamwea Francis Mbatia
First Officer: Wanyoike Andrew Kiuru

Flight Engineer: Kisilu William Muia

Purser: Kiiru Phylis Njeri

Flight Attendant: Njoroge Allan Njenga
Flight Attendant: Nyakweba Lydia Mocheche
Flight Attendant: Ongondo Elizabeth Achieng
Flight Attendant: Wakhu Shantaben Niriza
Flight Attendant: Kadurenge Cyprian Mande

Actually no. KQ507 carried a ground engineer not a flight engineer, responsible for checks on the ground during stopovers. The ground engineer, during flight, is just a passenger. He was sitting in the passenger cabin and not in the cockpit. Modern jets (starting from the eights) got rid of the flight engineer as the planes computers were more than adequate (so they said) looking after itself. So from a 3 (wo)man crew they moved down to a 2 (wo)man crew.

The pro's and cons of this move have been heavily debated for years (note that some airlines use replacement crews for very long flight so they end up carrying either 3 or 4 pilots. The resting pilots relax outside the cockpit until duty calls).

Most airline accidents are usually not caused by one single event. They are caused by what is described as an Event Cascade.

The official reports on these two accidents lay the blame on a chain of events (of which pilot error is mentioned), in which each single event on its own would not have caused the crashes. In case anyone wants the links, I can paste them here (note that the reports are quite long and technical).
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
#36 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 4:39:03 PM

Check this out;

"The Cameroon Civil Aviation Authority (CCAA) released its final report of the crash on 28 April 2010.[11] The investigation found that the aircraft departed without receiving clearance from Air Traffic Control. The captain, who was the flying pilot, corrected right bank several times after take-off. After 42 seconds of flight, the captain gave a command indicating that he activated the autopilot. However the autopilot did not actually engage, nor was the command acknowledged by the copilot. The pilots did not notice that the aircraft was increasingly banking to the right from 11° when the captain indicated that he had set the autopilot to 34° when a bank angle warning sounded 40 seconds later. The captain then activated the autopilot, but his inputs on the controls lead to a further increase in the bank angle. The aircraft pitched nose-down after it reached a height of 2900 feet with 115° right bank. The two pilots used opposite and conflicting control inputs to attempt to recover the aircraft. The aircraft crashed at 287 knots at 48° down pitch and 60° right bank 1:42 after take off.[33]

The CCAA determined the probable causes of the crash to be "loss of control of the aircraft as a result of spatial disorientation... after a long slow roll, during which no instrument scanning was done, and in the absence of external visual references in a dark night. Inadequate operational control, lack of crew coordination, coupled with the non-adherence to procedures of flight monitoring, confusion in the utilization of the [autopilot], have also contributed to cause this situation"

http://en.wikipedia.org/...Kenya_Airways_Flight_507