wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

Kenya's peculiar habits@worst !
#41 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2012 8:27:30 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
kollabo wrote:
Sorry @nyangau as seen from my rununu. Picture quality is poor but its an NCC sign written "PICKING OF PASSENGERS BY MATATUS OR PARKING IS STRICTLY PROHIBITED AT THIS POINT"

The sign does not read 'PEDESTRIANS SHOULD NOT STOP HERE TO ADMIRE CARS'

They have broken no law to me!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

...Akiangai!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
...OR HOOKERS ARE NOT ALLOWED AROUND THIS AREA!!!
karqui
#42 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2012 9:05:05 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
kollabo wrote:
Sorry @nyangau as seen from my rununu. Picture quality is poor but its an NCC sign written "PICKING OF PASSENGERS BY MATATUS OR PARKING IS STRICTLY PROHIBITED AT THIS POINT"

The sign does not read 'PEDESTRIANS SHOULD NOT STOP HERE TO ADMIRE CARS'

They have broken no law to me!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

...Akiangai!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
...OR HOOKERS ARE NOT ALLOWED AROUND THIS AREA!!!

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

my ribs........
conos
#43 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2012 11:51:56 AM

- You are waiting for an elevator (lift) and it arrives full packed. Instead of guys giving way for those inside to come out first, they begin to push and shove to get in. Very stupid.

Wat abt this foko jembe @ cannon towers.. mko ground floor, then he asks juu, chini?Shame on you
ukiona choo kwa ndoto usiingie, ni mtego!
banyamulenge
#44 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2012 1:12:30 PM

Blocking the road at the start of the acceleration lane to join the road straight into the inner lane, and like wise turning off the road from the inner lane badala ya kutumia decceleration lane. Mtu ngapi naelewa what am talking about?Sad

"The longer the fuse the mightier the blast!"
kiash
#45 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2012 2:39:38 PM

Another one I have seen in Supermarkets, someone buys two three items, gets to the counter and then pays and since you expect every time you buy there is someone there to put the stuff in that shopping bag , you stand there and wait. Even if the guy who is supposed to serve you is doing it in another counter, some ‘foko jembes’ stand there and wait really annoying.
Yes that’s the guy’s job but depending on the stuff you have bought and on whether the guy is busy elsewhere or not. Just pick up the paper and put your stuff and leave.
#46 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2012 2:49:53 PM

While at it, is it lawfull to install additional headlamps on a jalopy so that when you meet one on the road it appears like an on-coming train.
Those jalopy cars and double cab pick-ups are the most notorious.

They put those to revenge when another motorist wekas full beam on them, little do they know it can be a recipe for disaster.

@harrydre been contemplating of doing this,cause its irritating your driving on dimmed lights then some idiot has his or hers on full beam kwanza on a narrow road...your try the polite driver move indicating to them n also flash ua lights to show your on dim but they are still kamin towards you with full lights thats when you have the right to daze them with your fitted flood lights so that they know whos king...ok doesnt sound kind.

Most likely outcome, he/she does not see well enough to avoid you even as you also get dazzled and you end up shouting at each other 'wacha polisi wakuje' - unfortunately in hell.
anasazi
#47 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2012 3:22:39 PM

I concur that some of the things listed here rank way up on my list of pet peeves:

1. Littering from the car window. This one irritates me kabisa. Kwani hauna pipa kwako? Shameless
2. The full lights saga. Enough said. Watu wajue gari zao and do unto others as you would have them do unto you!
3. Improper use of acceleration/ deceleration lanes. Wacheni kununua DL. Go to school!

Basically a lot of these issues have to do with lack of knowledge, lack of being cultured or just simply mental sluggishness!
Form is temporary, class is permanent
QW25091985
#48 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2012 3:26:12 PM

anasazi wrote:
I concur that some of the things listed here rank way up on my list of pet peeves:

1. Littering from the car window. This one irritates me kabisa. Kwani hauna pipa kwako? Shameless
2. The full lights saga. Enough said. Watu wajue gari zao and do unto others as you would have them do unto you!
3. Improper use of acceleration/ deceleration lanes. Wacheni kununua DL. Go to school!

Basically a lot of these issues have to do with lack of knowledge, lack of being cultured or just simply mental sluggishness!

lol. there are such kind of lanes ...si barabara ni barabara !
deadpoet
#49 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2012 4:30:55 PM

Have you guys ever been in a queue and the person behind you is practically butt-f**king you all the way? #killeverylivingthing

hoodrat
#50 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2012 4:50:02 PM

deadpoet wrote:
Have you guys ever been in a queue and the person behind you is practically butt-f**king you all the way? #killeverylivingthing

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Voting queues during erections!
Apparently there is nothing that cannot happen today!
#51 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2012 4:53:20 PM

deadpoet wrote:

butt MunchingLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#52 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2012 4:58:21 PM

Another peculiar habit I have observed with Kenyans this time in buildings...

- You are waiting for an elevator (lift) and it arrives full packed. Instead of guys giving way for those inside to come out first, they begin to push and shove to get in. Very stupid.

- Now you have successfully managed to get in the lift, everyone wants to push the floor button switch. Others will still insist to push it even after it's been pushed by a different person and it's lighting. That's the point you feel like smacking someone really hard!!

and then once inside the lift.. they all keep quiet..whose writing noisemakers? ama niuoga the ka thing might get stuck...?
#53 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2012 5:12:05 PM

Another peculiar habit I have observed with Kenyans this time in buildings...

- Now you have successfully managed to get in the lift, everyone wants to push the floor button switch. Others will still insist to push it even after it's been pushed by a different person and it's lighting. That's the point you feel like smacking someone really hard!!

and then once inside the lift.. they all keep quiet..whose writing noisemakers? ama niuoga the ka thing might get stuck...?

@Poundfoolish, this is the point you say, "...I know you must all be wondering why I gathered all of you here...."
#54 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2012 7:03:39 PM

And what is it with these Tusker malt takers. I see them ordering two beers, having BOTH opened and then they pour the beer from the two bottles into the glass simultaneously.
#55 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2012 9:07:11 PM

This is one annoying culture http://farm8.staticflick...977781_c09a20f675_b.jpg

Is there a law that can be used to stop this like "defilement of public property"?
#56 Posted : Friday, March 16, 2012 12:33:03 AM

And what is it with these Tusker malt takers. I see them ordering two beers, having BOTH opened and then they pour the beer from the two bottles into the glass simultaneously.

Anything beer uliza @McReggae, saa ya phombe.

#57 Posted : Friday, March 16, 2012 1:50:31 AM

There are those drivers anytime they need to change lanes, or enter an intersection, they have to stick out their heads out of the window as if they don't trust their own side mirrors
#58 Posted : Friday, March 16, 2012 10:59:04 AM

Is there a law that can be used to stop this like "defilement of public property"?

I've seen it in Westlands, Thika Rd and Mombasa Rd. Waititu hired a bunch of idiots/goons to do this all over Nairobi!? Bure yeye! d'oh!
#59 Posted : Friday, March 16, 2012 11:26:23 AM

@Poundfoolish, this is the point you say, "...I know you must all be wondering why I gathered all of you here...."

Laughing out loudly Na uwe na kanzu (Years back when my son was still young,he would refer to kanzu as skirt ya wanaumesmile )plus some long beard....Laughing out loudly
#60 Posted : Friday, March 16, 2012 12:15:49 PM

This is pathetic really.All these graffiti are everywhere.Depicting illiteracy,desperation and disorganised. I wonder why he couldn't hire experts if he really needed it done.

And this happens while other African cities are 'trying to keep clean'

The Lagos state government says it would start to seize clothes spread on balcony railings, along major highways, bridges, railings on landscape sites, walkways and other open public spaces across the state.Pray

Thank God tuko mbele kiasi.
YT2 keep the city clean.

@ post I still wonder why a particular group of kenyans love squeezing and fighting to enter bus even when there is no one inside.
10 whole men tearing each other at the door yet the bus has nobody.
And they can't even let the ladies in first hata kama ni mmoja.