wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

Kenya's peculiar habits@worst !
kiash
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 2:45:21 AM

It’s like hell driving at night in Kenya; it’s no wonder so many accidents happen at night. Lots of people drive with full lights really inconveniencing the oncoming vehicles. Once you try to signal to them to put them off I think there are even people who do not understand the meaning and continue driving. Don’t they teach such things in driving schools?
Another one is for those driving to and from Nakuru to Nairobi; someone told me once that before departure one has to say some prayers. This is not a reserve of Matatus but also personal cars. Whenever one car overtakes, then four or more stupid drivers follow blindly only for the most unlucky to find out that he can’t overtake and he comes squeezing in front of you and you are forced to apply those brakes. “Kenyans peculiar habits @worst “

Next time nitabeba nyahunyo
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 10:14:34 AM

kiash wrote:
It’s like hell driving at night in Kenya; it’s no wonder so many accidents happen at night. Lots of people drive with full lights really inconveniencing the oncoming vehicles. Once you try to signal to them to put them off I think there are even people who do not understand the meaning and continue driving. Don’t they teach such things in driving schools?
Another one is for those driving to and from Nakuru to Nairobi; someone told me once that before departure one has to say some prayers. This is not a reserve of Matatus but also personal cars. Whenever one car overtakes, then four or more stupid drivers follow blindly only for the most unlucky to find out that he can’t overtake and he comes squeezing in front of you and you are forced to apply those brakes. “Kenyans peculiar habits @worst “

Ditto!

I once hiked a lift in a colleague's car who by that time claimed he was a middo-krass.
He asked me what that blue colored light on the dashboard was as he had tried to turn it off in vain, he thought it was some useful indication in European cars but not necessary in Africa (read snow warning etc), he was doing 120km/h headed to a phombe joint at aroung 9pm!Pray Pray

I asked him to slow down I showed him how to turn it off, I did that in a second, he felt amazed, I then told him "hiyo ni full lights" he felt ashamed.

I laughed myself out loudly once I alighted at my stage.

Middo-krass man with a KB_something who dont know the basics of a car indication!!!

karqui
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 11:39:11 AM

Middo-krass man with a KB_something who dont know the basics of a car indication!!!

They do not take time to learn the different elements/ basics of the contraption they are in. And how they despise the tu KA's all the time.
Sigiriri
#4 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 1:53:22 PM

blame these things on the hopefully-past age of 'kuletewa driving License kwa bedroom'!!!

Lakini I have to admit when I went for my car coast, I honestly did not know where the lights are - it got dark before machakos and I had to touch all the dials before I found it. You see (but do I say!), my car is a Euro make, so it's not same as the Nissan Sunny I had before...

Kabla I got used to it, I hit wipers a zillion times instead of indicators pia..

Lakini hiyo ya full beam I have to say I am very faithful kwa hiyo - and at least ni same way as Toys, Nisans etc!!
#5 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 1:54:22 PM

karqui wrote:

They do not take time to learn the different elements/ basics of the contraption they are in. And how they despise the tu KA's all the time.

They think "owning" an NZE or ka-Subaru Impreza all 1500cc is a major achievement!
Owning is quoted since all these Ex japanese junks are on Equity loan book.
Shame on you Shame on you

Sigiriri
#6 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 2:01:50 PM

@impunity - kwani wewe unauza magari ya Dobie, GM, CMC au CG? Mbona una shida mob hivi na ex-jap? Je Ex-UK?

The best deal would be for us to make changes kwa gava then we push for more inventives for these makers to come make their cars here - this will save us a great deal of foreign exchange and create a good industry much like SA. Until then, this ex-jap thing is going nowhere.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 2:04:00 PM

Sigiriri wrote:
blame these things on the hopefully-past age of 'kuletewa driving License kwa bedroom'!!!

Lakini I have to admit when I went for my car coast, I honestly did not know where the lights are - it got dark before machakos and I had to touch all the dials before I found it. You see (but do I say!), my car is a Euro make, so it's not same as the Nissan Sunny I had before...

Kabla I got used to it, I hit wipers a zillion times instead of indicators pia..

Lakini hiyo ya full beam I have to say I am very faithful kwa hiyo - and at least ni same way as Toys, Nisans etc!!

It happened to me once on a VeWe and really chafuad the windscreen and worse still the wiper water was NIL.

Tommy
#8 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 2:06:53 PM

kiash wrote:

Ditto!

I once hiked a lift in a colleague's car who by that time claimed he was a middo-krass.
He asked me what that blue colored light on the dashboard was as he had tried to turn it off in vain, he thought it was some useful indication in European cars but not necessary in Africa (read snow warning etc), he was doing 120km/h headed to a phombe joint at aroung 9pm!Pray Pray

I asked him to slow down I showed him how to turn it off, I did that in a second, he felt amazed, I then told him "hiyo ni full lights" he felt ashamed.

Your friend is one of the fork jembes giving me a hard time at nite, although pia wewe you are strong if you allowed a kurutu to drive you more so at nite. ABK
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#9 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 2:38:45 PM

@Tommy the guy faked it till he looked like a space shuttle pilot.

mkeiy
#10 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 3:06:10 PM

kiash wrote:

Ditto!

No wonder. I used to think they are rude or drunk.
They don't know? I always have issues with personal car drivers, the kind who keep on looking at their side mirrors as if the car moves sideways.And then those who never use them.
The best drivers on the road? Long haul truck drivers. Lest you meet one up/downhill after having been held for miles without a chance to overtake.
jamplu
#11 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 4:17:51 PM

mkeiy wrote:

They don't know? I always have issues with personal car drivers, the kind who keep on looking at their side mirrors as if the car moves sideways.And then those who never use them.
The best drivers on the road? Long haul truck drivers. Lest you meet one up/downhill after having been held for miles without a chance to overtake.

kama hutaki waangalie nyuma nayo waambie waitumie kunyoa ndevu ama?
mkeiy
#12 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 6:05:08 PM

jamplu wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

hahaha, @ jamplu, people should use them, but majority of personal car drivers overdo it. Few of those who don't overdo it, don't do it at all. I see it everyday. Especially roundabouts and junctions, they overdo it to the inconvenience of other motorists. Starting with the average female driver onto the male ones in their early 50s driving KB*. ANNOYING.
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#13 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 6:29:48 PM

How i wish we didnt have these ma ex Jap KB.... cars. Kwanza the headlight bulbs are 100 watts so even if they put normal (the few who know), it still looks like full lights of a normal Euro car!
You always get home with your eyes aching coz of these cars. alafu the kuruti's jus joining the road when you coming at high speedShame on you
Luckily, i drive a lorry so i always have an option of smashing themLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
@SufficientlyP
#14 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 6:37:35 PM

jamplu wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

#15 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 8:57:33 PM

Probox drivers and motor bikes. Overtaking from the left Side and joining the road immediately after, scratching the front bumber unnecessarily. And then they are heading to a local pub or mpango wa side .
#16 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 9:28:15 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
How i wish we didnt have these ma ex Jap KB.... cars. Kwanza the headlight bulbs are 100 watts so even if they put normal (the few who know), it still looks like full lights of a normal Euro car!
You always get home with your eyes aching coz of these cars. alafu the kuruti's jus joining the road when you coming at high speedShame on you
Luckily, i drive a lorry so i always have an option of smashing themLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Some of those are HID lights ...and high end euro cars were the first to fit them. My jap car ...sorry cant afford a Euro one like some rich folks in here smile ...came with those, factory fitted. Some times I get drivers flashing me, thinking I am on full lights ..then I actually have to dose them full beams for one second just so that we understand each other. More and more cars are coming fitted with HID lights..its a phenomenon that is here to stay ...
#17 Posted : Tuesday, March 13, 2012 9:51:54 PM

Best solution to solve this full lights issue is to install road lights. If government/city council was serious and installed lights on the roads, then this problem would go away. If you've driven in well lit cities you would note this lights really help. Other crap that annoy me on kenyan Roads

- One eye cars at night. u can't tell if it's a motor cycle, a cop with a torch or some donkey cart on the road.
- Blocking each other when you got nowhere to go. You are on an intecection, on the other side is empty buth some zero brain drivers have blocked your way yet they have nowhere to go creating total chaos. Hopefully the new highways will resolve this.
- madness hooting...just too annoying.
- reckless overtaking and cutting just few inches infront...total craziness.

Most of these can easily be resolved if drivers used half their brains.
sanity
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 12:25:05 PM

strange kenyan habit...everyone seems to know the problems with our roads and traffic .. strangely enough we all know the solutions...but the problems still continue...and we keep complaining d'oh!
Hope is not a strategy
jamplu
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 1:16:00 PM

sanity wrote:
strange kenyan habit...everyone seems to know the problems with our roads and traffic .. strangely enough we all know the solutions...but the problems still continue...and we keep complaining d'oh!

Isn't it just weird Laughing out loudly we even know the problems and solutions for the problems in our homes but we can't fix them we just want to complain and complain some more....
#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2012 1:45:55 PM

While at it, is it lawfull to install additional headlamps on a jalopy so that when you meet one on the road it appears like an on-coming train.
Those jalopy cars and double cab pick-ups are the most notorious.