wazua Fri, May 8, 2026

7 Pages«<567
To FundamentAli, harrydre, user, digitek1 etc: Yes, that Maranda story smells.
SiriKali1
#61 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 6:19:49 AM

SiriKali1 wrote:
I will ignore the last post you wrote to me, and the first half of the one 2nd to last.

What I want to do you is a favor nikikuomba Mlevi ujitahadhari na soko za hisa. Najuwa unategemea ati the Efficient Market Hypothesis ukikiri kwamba the market always corrects itself. Hah! Kaput! Toka 2008 ni wachache sana wenye kudhania kwamba the market cannot be gamed, and gamed hard na wale ambao wanujuwa ma siri ya kiuchumi. Insiders always benefit. They always have the advantage. The best investment strategy? Weka vitabu vya Efficient Markets kando. Juana na watu. Be very circumspect. Like me. How's that for real?

You know who's unreal? You are unreal.

@ Serikali1, for your own good stop wasting your precious time with one Drunkard a.k.a 10k. He feels like a small god who owns planet earth while he cant keep simple promises like a pledge to help a disabled man (and that's how 10k came about. We should actually name this dude LO, he seems to be living the life of Louis the Pest).

And could you give up recomputing those grades please. We know this KNEC or whatever it's called is never serious. You saw even KCPE results had so many errors what would stop KCSE from having the same errors. That body got no credibility whatsoever. During Moi's time, we used to hear Kabarak schools in the top where are they now? RAO just picked the phone before results were announced and declared his former school MUST be top else 'results will not be accepted' & 'mass actions'...learn to fight another day.

You are right about Drunkard. This guy is following me around with what he imagines are sly remarks. I called him a monkey in Swa and he didn't even know it. What a waste of DNA!
pariah
#62 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 11:39:48 AM

SiriKali1 wrote:
pariah wrote:
Tribalismis a reality in all public corporations, the appointing authority has ensured the VC hails from a given tribe ie Moi University has Mibei, before him it was Some (Kaleos), they in turn hire managers from their tribe and you can imagine the trickle down effect upto the cleaners. Having said that you would naturally expect lower cadre staff to be residents of that location ie Pwani university will have coasterians in lower ranks.....

To both Pariah na Mlevi,

Exactly. I mean, no matter how ethnic-neutral the hiring practices, the location of the university will have an impact on employment, especially, as you point out, among the lower cadre staff.

The reality, though, is that faculty and other higher echelon hiring itself is tribal. This a sad testimony that book learning does not make one educated. Even so, I still think that is an evil we can live with if the student admissions process is (relatively) fair. It would appear to me the JAB does a decent job of giving the deserving an opportunity, parallel programs aside.

The sticky issue with a tribal spoils system is that it almost certainly guarantees that assembling a first-rate faculty among any of our universities will take a looong while. Don't count on living to see that day.

Is it too much to ask not be lampooned with mlevi in the same sentence? I think in our life time we ll live to see Kenyan unis hiring top notch faculty on merit. University education has proliferated so much that in a few years time they ll be competing to attract students and funding. In the process to improve quality they ll have to show they have the best resources around and that includes faculty as much as other facilities. And this will happen in our lifetime, at least in some unis

FYI I skip Mlevi's posts in any thread
Spend.thrift
#63 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 11:58:10 AM

Having a laugh listening to the discourse among the Kenyan booboise.

Ukitaka kutathmini mienendo ya nyani,sokwe au tumbili usiende kwenye mbuga. Tizama barabara za Kenya vile wanavyoendesha magari ama uungane nami katika ukurasa huu.
#64 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 8:33:09 PM

That Nation article does not make sense to me. When I read something like "The Big Five ethnic groups in Kenya dominate the work forces of the centres of higher education, the report shows", kwani what did they expect? some waliahs or El Molos or Mijikendas dominating? That does not make sense!The truth of the matter is the workforce will be proportional to the ethnic proportions living around that institution. What's the problem if a university in Meru has 83% Merus and one in kisumu has 84% Luos? The report further states "14,996 employees in six public universities and nine constituent colleges, 4,133 are from the Kikuyu community, 2,544 are Luhya, 2,133 are Kalenjin, 2,086 are Luo while 1,041 are Kamba" Now if you compute the percentages (Kiuk - 27%, lughya 16%, Kales 14%, Luo -13%, kamba -6% and compare to national averages, they are as close as a tie National Averages infact the kambas should be crying haki yetu.

I would like them to publish full facts and numbers by ethnicity for both workforce and populations living around the institution. They also fail to note that different ethnic tribes have different social economic interests. For example Maasai's will be more interested in animals related jobs than schools and colleges. These type of analytics just gets the public fuming towards certain communities with no solid facts. That's the truth of the matter
Spend.thrift
#65 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 10:04:40 PM

That Nation article does not make sense to me. When I read something like "The Big Five ethnic groups in Kenya dominate the work forces of the centres of higher education, the report shows", kwani what did they expect? some waliahs or El Molos or Mijikendas dominating? That does not make sense!The truth of the matter is the workforce will be proportional to the ethnic proportions living around that institution. What's the problem if a university in Meru has 83% Merus and one in kisumu has 84% Luos? The report further states "14,996 employees in six public universities and nine constituent colleges, 4,133 are from the Kikuyu community, 2,544 are Luhya, 2,133 are Kalenjin, 2,086 are Luo while 1,041 are Kamba" Now if you compute the percentages (Kiuk - 27%, lughya 16%, Kales 14%, Luo -13%, kamba -6% and compare to national averages, they are as close as a tie National Averages infact the kambas should be crying haki yetu.

I would like them to publish full facts and numbers by ethnicity for both workforce and populations living around the institution. They also fail to note that different ethnic tribes have different social economic interests. For example Maasai's will be more interested in animals related jobs than schools and colleges. These type of analytics just gets the public fuming towards certain communities with no solid facts. That's the truth of the matter

@Harrydre, Wacha nami niwe nyani pia. Nauliza hili jina "university" maana yake ni nini? Tukianzia hapo labda tutatua. Kwanini vyuo kikuu visiwe vyombo vya kuchangia mchanganyiko katika jamii "diversity". Kwa nini KU iwe na wafanyikazi wengi wenye asili fulani chini ya uongozi wa Mugenda ilhali wakati wake yule Eshiwani, asilimia kubwa kabisa ya wafanyikazi walikuwa wa asili nyingine tofauti?
SiriKali1
#66 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 4:07:39 AM

[/quote]Is it too much to ask not be lampooned with mlevi in the same sentence? I think in our life time we ll live to see Kenyan unis hiring top notch faculty on merit. University education has proliferated so much that in a few years time they ll be competing to attract students and funding. In the process to improve quality they ll have to show they have the best resources around and that includes faculty as much as other facilities. And this will happen in our lifetime, at least in some unis

FYI I skip Mlevi's posts in any thread[/quote]

Bwana Pariah,

Your optimism fills one with hope. I want to believe what you say because I love my country. But I have to challenge you when you say that unis will organize themselves and get their acts together juu ya kompe. I would really like you to point to just one example doing that....I am not saying there isn't any, I just don't know of any.
SiriKali1
#67 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 4:14:36 AM

Spend.thrift wrote:
Having a laugh listening to the discourse among the Kenyan booboise.

Ukitaka kutathmini mienendo ya nyani,sokwe au tumbili usiende kwenye mbuga. Tizama barabara za Kenya vile wanavyoendesha magari ama uungane nami katika ukurasa huu.

Hongera ndugu yangu kwa ufasaha wa lugha (just assuming you are male BTW for no particularly good reason. Ukiwa wewe ni binti, basi msamaha nakuomba).

Wito waku wa kuungana kwa mawasiliano nimeupokea na kuukubali. Nijatenganisha sio tu na madereva wenye kichaa, lakini pia kikundi cha wale ambao nia yao ni kueneza ugomvi.

pariah
#68 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 4:24:49 AM

SiriKali1 wrote:
Is it too much to ask not be lampooned with mlevi in the same sentence? I think in our life time we ll live to see Kenyan unis hiring top notch faculty on merit. University education has proliferated so much that in a few years time they ll be competing to attract students and funding. In the process to improve quality they ll have to show they have the best resources around and that includes faculty as much as other facilities. And this will happen in our lifetime, at least in some unis

FYI I skip Mlevi's posts in any thread[/quote]

Bwana Pariah,

Your optimism fills one with hope. I want to believe what you say because I love my country. But I have to challenge you when you say that unis will organize themselves and get their acts together juu ya kompe. I would really like you to point to just one example doing that....I am not saying there isn't any, I just don't know of any.[/quote]

you may want to re-read, in our lifetime we will...... implies a future event, an example would be from a past events I presume.
SiriKali1
#69 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 4:52:18 AM

Spend.thrift wrote:

@Harrydre, Wacha nami niwe nyani pia. Nauliza hili jina "university" maana yake ni nini? Tukianzia hapo labda tutatua. Kwanini vyuo kikuu visiwe vyombo vya kuchangia mchanganyiko katika jamii "diversity". Kwa nini KU iwe na wafanyikazi wengi wenye asili fulani chini ya uongozi wa Mugenda ilhali wakati wake yule Eshiwani, asilimia kubwa kabisa ya wafanyikazi walikuwa wa asili nyingine tofauti?

Mzee Spend.thrift,

Hata ingawaje swali lako umeliuliza Harrydre, maoni yangu ni kwamba vyuo vikuu huchangia mchanganyiko ya watu wa kutoka mbali mbali na kunawiri moyo wa umoja na undugu mradi tu wanafunzi wapewe fursa kulingana na matokeo ya mtihani.

Bila shaka desturi zote za ubaguzi kama ukabila ambazo zinapunguza maslahi ya Mkenya yeyote lazima zipingwe. Ni wachache sana wenye akili zimekomea ambao wanaridhia kuajiriwa kwa waalimu wa vyuo vikuu kikabila. Hata hivyo, jeraha kubwa sana ni ile ya kumyima mwanafunza ambaye amehitimu pointi za kuingia juu ya ukabila.

Tunafaa tuwe chonjo dhidi ya ukabila wa aina yeyote kwani tukikubali wakabila waamuwe nani ataajiriwa, punde si punde ndio hao sasa wanaamua ni nani ataelemishwa. Na hata tukikubali kwamba chuo kikuu cha Meru kitaajiri kwa mfano wapishi na wenye kufyeka nyasi Wameru, tutazikabili mbinu za kupea Wameru pekee vyeo vikubwa.
7 Pages«<567