wazua Tue, Sep 23, 2025

Just Curious....
GenghisCapitalLtd
#1 Posted : Monday, March 05, 2012 12:04:47 PM

Wazuans

You know I value your opinions very much and my question to you is When do you think Safaricom will finally reach its IPO value of 5 bob? There are so many factors impending the price appreciation of this stock that's why I will just state "not any time soon - even next year". Another thing Why did they feel it necessary to increase their MPESA charges even though they control 70% of the market and still win international accolades and awards for the best "new" innovation, is is abusing its monopolistic power, if any?

Why does NSE together with CMA continue listing Hutchings Beimer and A Baumann and Co. Ltd when they were suspended eons ago?

Just asking
Follow us on Twitter @genghiscapital
“Be a yardstick of quality. Some people aren’t used to an environment where excellence is expected.” Steve Jobs,iGenius
#2 Posted : Monday, March 05, 2012 12:39:06 PM

@'Bona-fide' Genghis, am not in the money handling profession but these are my 2 cents, so if am wrong, don't let Wazuans skin me!

i. Safaricom reaching IPO share price:
By October 2012! In the past 3-4 months, this guys have drastically reduced advertisement expense in our electronic media (saving billions of cash). Also, the calling charges have survived the airtel scare. Again, data is flourishing. On this, i would be worried if am NMG, SG, Scangroup or AK shareholder! SO A 0.35/- Divided will push the share price to 5-6/-.

ii. Increment in M-PESA charges:
This was clearly explained through the media. The purpose was to let the m-pesa kiosk have more revenue in their business. This has no immediate revenue implication on Safaricom books!

iii. Listing of suspended stocks!
I don't know how i can answer you, but NSE Sucks! Maybe the law doesn't allow them to be automatically delisted once listed! Its like been an MP, once elected by ODM/PNU etc, its you to write to the speaker to inform him, you are fed up with ODM/PNU etc.

Disclaimer: I hold well over 185,000 safcom shares. Bought them after IPO. Average price 3.43/-.

hisah
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 06, 2012 12:17:06 PM

@dunkang - mpesa stock can't pay 35cts in dividends this financial year. That's a whooping 14B payout with H1 2011/2012 results showing a profit dip of 47%. Hiyo pesa watatoa wapi?
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Insurgent
#4 Posted : Tuesday, March 06, 2012 2:55:48 PM

hisah wrote:
@dunkang - mpesa stock can't pay 35cts in dividends this financial year. That's a whooping 14B payout with H1 2011/2012 results showing a profit dip of 47%. Hiyo pesa watatoa wapi?

I thought someone here was claiming that some companies take a loan to pay dividends. If this guys were light, meibe Safcom can do the same in order to pay .35 shillings.

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

jerry
#5 Posted : Tuesday, March 06, 2012 3:05:01 PM

Insurgent wrote:
hisah wrote:

I thought someone here was claiming that some companies take a loan to pay dividends. If this guys were light, meibe Safcom can do the same in order to pay .35 shillings.

you are taking generousity too far.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, March 06, 2012 5:13:33 PM

if a reverse ipo happens or when airtel smells the coffee and goes for the corporate/ elite niche and calling rates go back to 8 bob