Talk2Us
any wazuan in lagos?
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2007 Posts: 2,037 Location: Lagos, Nigeria
wilyum wrote:@young,thts more than enuf insight,all noted, thxs for the insight and the wazua spirit. Karibu Sana my friend !!! I live in the mainland, specifically Ikeja the airport area which is far from lekki phase 1 (the island) where you stay. The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Rank: Member Joined: 2/24/2010 Posts: 637 Location: Nairobi
reddevil wrote:wilyum wrote:Quote:and what are u in lagos for? biz? That's one crazy city with lots of activities.Just watch ur back cz those boko guys aren't laughing.
ama I give u an idea? join boko haram. On second thoughts NO.Please dont take it seriously! here for project work. wats boko haram? You are annoying..kwani unaishi kwa shimo! or are you ignorant american lot!!! How can you say you r in Lagos and claim not to even know the word Boko Haram.Wacha wewe>you are annoying. The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
Magigi wrote:young wrote:I am in Lagos what can I do for you ? In addition to www.nairaland.com check out www.vconnect.comAvoid night life unless you are in high brow Ikoyi, Victoria Island or Lekki phase 1. ...How? How do you visit a country and not sample the night life, unless you want to tell us that Lagos is worse than Mogadisho! I concur - try Michael Lodge near bar beach and opposite ocean view restaurant - there's a pub annexed to it that is crawling with some interesting life forms - plus a decent live band... Avoid Gulder unless you want heart burn and to collapse in the Lagos daytime heat. Go for Star - and to keep in step - perhaps take the small one not the 650ml. Don't be too timid to try the local cuisine - but ask clearly if snails are any part of it (I made such a mistake in Abuja and wasted almost $50 on a meal). Enjoy oga!
Djinn wrote: I concur - try Michael Lodge near bar beach and opposite ocean view restaurant - there's a pub annexed to it that is crawling with some interesting life forms - plus a decent live band...
Avoid Gulder unless you want heart burn and to collapse in the Lagos daytime heat. Go for Star - and to keep in step - perhaps take the small one not the 650ml. Don't be too timid to try the local cuisine - but ask clearly if snails are any part of it (I made such a mistake in Abuja and wasted almost $50 on a meal).
Enjoy oga!
@Djinn. there is exasgeration here. Snail is NOT a common delicacy in any part of Nigeria except on request and they are very expensive. The USD50 you spent is an exageration. You are talking about 8,000 Naira, name the place in Abuja ??? Gulder is not a local Nigerian brew it is a Guiness product so the heart burn story is a thrash !!! May be you have a peculiar medical condition. That does not butress you to generalise. Whenever you visit another black african country, be more objective, it does not pay to paint or demean the things you see just to make a show of it. Why do we always look down on another country. You know very well Nigeria is well advanced than any East African country in terms of GDP and the size of economy. Your comments are too derogatory. The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
young wrote: @Djinn. there is exasgeration here. Snail is NOT a common delicacy in any part of Nigeria except on request and they are very expensive. The USD50 you spent is an exageration. You are talking about 8,000 Naira, name the place in Abuja ??? Gulder is not a local Nigerian brew it is a Guiness product so the heart burn story is a thrash !!! May be you have a peculiar medical condition. That does not butress you to generalise. Whenever you visit another black african country, be more objective, it does not pay to paint or demean the things you see just to make a show of it. Why do we always look down on another country. You know very well Nigeria is well advanced than any East African country in terms of GDP and the size of economy.
Oh how much I agree with you Young!
make friends "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Rank: Member Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 677 Location: Nairobi
young wrote:Djinn wrote: I concur - try Michael Lodge near bar beach and opposite ocean view restaurant - there's a pub annexed to it that is crawling with some interesting life forms - plus a decent live band...
Avoid Gulder unless you want heart burn and to collapse in the Lagos daytime heat. Go for Star - and to keep in step - perhaps take the small one not the 650ml. Don't be too timid to try the local cuisine - but ask clearly if snails are any part of it (I made such a mistake in Abuja and wasted almost $50 on a meal).
Enjoy oga!
@Djinn. there is exasgeration here. Snail is NOT a common delicacy in any part of Nigeria except on request and they are very expensive. The USD50 you spent is an exageration. You are talking about 8,000 Naira, name the place in Abuja ??? Gulder is not a local Nigerian brew it is a Guiness product so the heart burn story is a thrash !!! May be you have a peculiar medical condition. That does not butress you to generalise. Whenever you visit another black african country, be more objective, it does not pay to paint or demean the things you see just to make a show of it. Why do we always look down on another country. You know very well Nigeria is well advanced than any East African country in terms of GDP and the size of economy. Your comments are too derogatory. young you are doing what in Nairobi is called "catching feelings". Taking what djinn said with a pinch of emotions
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
Oga... Take care of your sehemu nyeti...Can be stolen at night to be used in their movies...Afrosinema ooo...
If say hypothetically Wilyum was Wanjohi wa Kigogoine and was out to meet persons of out in Lagos, where would you recommend he looks?
obong aya afen ano mme ufan mi koro amo idiongoke se etang ebanga Lagos. Nte idung afen abaha se ifon mi awak akan se idiok Ibaha idung ofono ama. The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Rank: User Joined: 1/24/2012 Posts: 1,675 Location: In Da Hood
OgaH Oh ! just remember they do it big there ! Oh!
Quote:If say hypothetically Wilyum was Wanjohi wa Kigogoine like seriously?? smh! By the way I discovered that nigerians love their culture soo much.They value family something I admire. Problem is they have this ethnicity thing just like we kenyans. Guess its just African. Forget the few yahoo boys who try to mess up the image. I have met very kind,helpful and sober ones. There's this place called ombudu cattle ranch.I think.I have seen pic and it looks good. nice place to tour,I hear. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
young wrote:Djinn wrote: I concur - try Michael Lodge near bar beach and opposite ocean view restaurant - there's a pub annexed to it that is crawling with some interesting life forms - plus a decent live band...
Enjoy oga!
@Djinn. there is exasgeration here. Snail is NOT a common delicacy in any part of Nigeria except on request and they are very expensive. The USD50 you spent is an exageration. You are talking about 8,000 Naira, name the place in Abuja ??? Gulder is not a local Nigerian brew it is a Guiness product so the heart burn story is a thrash !!! May be you have a peculiar medical condition. That does not butress you to generalise. Whenever you visit another black african country, be more objective, it does not pay to paint or demean the things you see just to make a show of it. Why do we always look down on another country. You know very well Nigeria is well advanced than any East African country in terms of GDP and the size of economy. Your comments are too derogatory. Name the place? I think it was Abuja Sheraton...if you would like to call and ask them if they have Egusi Soup - pls do...I might be wrong abt the prices but Abuja is very expensive - the hotel alone, without breakfast was abt US$ 480... I never said Gulder was local and was relating my own experience. And I know my physiological make up is rather sturdy... I am not sure where all your angst is coming from to merit such a choleric riposte...and all the undertones about Black Africa...I am Kenyan and not an expat. I see nowhere that I have made sweeping generalisations. Can you perhaps highlight where I have implied anything negative? All I was doing is sharing my two naira abt what to do on VI... Take a chill pill already! Eish!
Dash wrote:young wrote:Djinn wrote: I concur - try Michael Lodge near bar beach and opposite ocean view restaurant - there's a pub annexed to it that is crawling with some interesting life forms - plus a decent live band...
Enjoy oga!
@Djinn. there is exasgeration here. Snail is NOT a common delicacy in any part of Nigeria except on request and they are very expensive. The USD50 you spent is an exageration. You are talking about 8,000 Naira, name the place in Abuja ??? Gulder is not a local Nigerian brew it is a Guiness product so the heart burn story is a thrash !!! May be you have a peculiar medical condition. That does not butress you to generalise. Whenever you visit another black african country, be more objective, it does not pay to paint or demean the things you see just to make a show of it. Why do we always look down on another country. You know very well Nigeria is well advanced than any East African country in terms of GDP and the size of economy. Your comments are too derogatory. young you are doing what in Nairobi is called "catching feelings". Taking what djinn said with a pinch of emotions Thank you - I was beginning to think it was just me who noticed the excessively emotional response...
Enjoy oga!
@Young, the snails are there at Mama Cass in Abuja...and other delicacies are equally good, try Gare and Banga soup... @Wilyum, Star ni pombe ya nguvu, go for it...
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 1,491 Location: Nairobi
QW25091985 wrote:OgaH Oh ! just remember they do it big there ! Oh! Reminds me of that nigerian joke where the dude has everything big only to find that the lady is also from Nigeria Kenya ni yetu sisi sote
@young, r u still there,may i have u r email address for a personal question.
And where is the 'Koinange street' in Lagos?
Talk2Us
any wazuan in lagos?