wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Airtel could drop low-cost strategy
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 11:43:42 AM

LINK: http://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/me9mk4/-/index.html

I liked this comment: “Unlike India, we were surprised that in Africa, lower tariffs could not increase volumes. In Africa, subscribers use the money saved on lower-calling rates to buy food and not to talk more. This means that we have to think of a new model that works there,” the firm’s chairman and MD, Mr Sunil Mittal, said.
Abunuasi
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 12:12:24 PM

The writing has been on the wall. Swallow the humble pie and increase call rates coz cant see any other escape route for Airtel. Engaging in day light robbery thru non functional data bundles and other uncouth behaviors will add more damage to the company.
#3 Posted: : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 12:23:10 PM

Reminds me of the experience I went through one time. I used to charge sh9k for one of my products and would get about 5 orders per month. I thought the price was too high so I dropped it sh6k but still got about 5 orders per month.

Then I dropped further to sh3,500 but the volume remained! So I started increasing all the way back to 9k....then to 12k then to 15k.... and within one year I went to 25k. Guess what, I still get about 5 orders per month.

Moral of the story: cheap does not always sell more! I am now considering hiking the price to sh50k by the end of 2012...
josiah33
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 10:55:01 PM

So what are this Indians going to do now that their little trick of low cost calls only served to put ugali on the table rather than making people make more calls?
#5 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 8:16:20 AM

mukiha wrote:
Reminds me of the experience I went through one time. I used to charge sh9k for one of my products and would get about 5 orders per month. I thought the price was too high so I dropped it sh6k but still got about 5 orders per month.

Then I dropped further to sh3,500 but the volume remained! So I started increasing all the way back to 9k....then to 12k then to 15k.... and within one year I went to 25k. Guess what, I still get about 5 orders per month.

Moral of the story: cheap does not always sell more! I am now considering hiking the price to sh50k by the end of 2012...

those are abnormal profits you are making if you can play with pricing like that - are you a monopoly or what? what exactly are you selling, i may end up being the 6th customer..
#6 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 10:13:05 AM

vinii wrote:
mukiha wrote:

those are abnormal profits you are making if you can play with pricing like that - are you a monopoly or what? what exactly are you selling, i may end up being the 6th customer..

There is nothing "abnormal" about profit as long as the buyer is not coerced into buying.

Those who don't want what I sell don't buy it - even if I offer it to them free of charge! Those who want it are willing to buy at whatever price... so far we've reached 25k

Jamani
#7 Posted : Saturday, March 03, 2012 12:15:21 PM

I kept saying this strategy wont work in Kenya.... Airtel have looked at the numbers and they are feeling the pain hurting in the wrong place... they will look at the numbers released by Bob C... compare with theirs and someone will get fired, as has been the case since celtel..
QW25091985
#8 Posted : Saturday, March 03, 2012 1:02:31 PM

Bora wasiguse data charges. Hiyo italeta vita. Laughing out loudly
Jamani
#9 Posted : Saturday, March 03, 2012 5:33:43 PM

@Qw, wakigusa data italeta quality na speeds noma vi-deadly
#10 Posted : Saturday, March 03, 2012 6:50:48 PM

mukiha wrote:

I liked this comment: “Unlike India, we were surprised that in Africa, lower tariffs could not increase volumes. In Africa, subscribers use the money saved on lower-calling rates to buy food and not to talk more. This means that we have to think of a new model that works there,” the firm’s chairman and MD, Mr Sunil Mittal, said.

This can only be hate speach or racism!
Though funny.

jerry
#11 Posted : Saturday, March 03, 2012 7:08:06 PM

Speech, speech,speech. Indians drink alot of tea, chili, spices,... Is this also hate speach?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#12 Posted : Saturday, March 03, 2012 7:11:55 PM

mukiha wrote:
vinii wrote:
mukiha wrote:

There is nothing "abnormal" about profit as long as the buyer is not coerced into buying.

Those who don't want what I sell don't buy it - even if I offer it to them free of charge! Those who want it are willing to buy at whatever price... so far we've reached 25k

Hii kitu wewe nauza must be in powdered form.
Which other bizna are you running beside it to cover up?A salon/kinyozi most probable!

Cardinal
#13 Posted : Saturday, March 03, 2012 7:41:58 PM

True, loweer call rates dont add more profits in kenya.

What Airtel should do is to add more value to their products,just like safcom do, they innovate and advertise their products aggresively.

#14 Posted : Sunday, March 04, 2012 8:32:25 AM

Cardinal wrote:
True, loweer call rates dont add more profits in kenya.

What Airtel should do is to add more value to their products,just like safcom do, they innovate and advertise their products aggresively.

A good lesson for them but there are so many areas they can get a competitive advantage like roaming in the region (one network). They used to have most corporate accounts as kencell. Wonder what happened.
#15 Posted : Sunday, March 04, 2012 3:07:04 PM

Saw the data bundle costs in todays Daily Nation and they are cheaper than Safcom. How much is the airtel 3G modem costing?
QW25091985
#16 Posted : Sunday, March 04, 2012 3:29:42 PM

Saw the data bundle costs in todays Daily Nation and they are cheaper than Safcom. How much is the airtel 3G modem costing?

i have seen airtel is capping bandwidth @ 30 KB/s . I just hope its because of the cable cut. Otherwise its totall crapp if they will be capping it.
I cannt even stream videos.
#17 Posted : Sunday, March 04, 2012 3:55:23 PM

The bundles now come with a validity period, which was not the case previously. So what happens to me with some 2 GB on my phone I had expected to use in the next 6 months? BTW, I have noticed that I have been automatically subsribed to the 50MB bundle.
am6612
#18 Posted : Monday, March 05, 2012 11:12:32 AM

mukiha wrote:

Does it mean that we are this hungry? So where does safaricom get its profits from? For airtel they came into the market through a copy and paste from India. I hear they outsourced and each department is two or three companies. How do they make profits and yet this companies are also for profits? They need to make kenyans feel as part of them. Maybe they could sell shares but who will buy unless they make profits or still make a kenyan as the CEO.