wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

Not many people have done this....
Djinn
#1 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 8:51:15 AM

I have an expectant cat that is due any time and it got me thinking back to another cat that was in the same condition abt 2 years ago. The thing is, I helped that cat while it was in labour - hell, it insisted on my help. Each time I tried to leave the room, it would come purring loudly and in not so many "words" imply that I have to be there during delivery...

Anyway, it got me thinking - there must be some experiences we have had, or things that we have done, that must be very unique or rare.

I count this feline "midwifery" as one such thing (to a vet it might be a commonplace thing). A second thing, and perhaps this is pretty rare - I did once learn how to knit - yes with needles and wool.

So, can anyone else share such rare things they have done or learnt?

Wakanyugi
#2 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 6:20:38 PM

@Djinn. This is interesting.

I have never midwifed a cat. But my first career was as a herds boy and I midwifed cows and goats several times. I also learned how to weave ropes, catch moles and make 'mutego was kihiuko.'

I can also make you a kiondo (learned from my mother) and I am sure I still remember how to knit and crotchet - my female cousins to blame for that one. However I put down my foot at braiding hair.

Meanwhile I have walked on fire, done the Haka and run nine marathons. Have you?

And, oh yes, I have smoked ganja from three continents (but do I say?).
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#3 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 8:26:25 PM

riding on a sheep 'horse' when I was a herdsboy

I loved riding on the back of my grandfathers huge male sheep na ukitaka lift nakupatia of course at a small fee.
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
maligumu
#4 Posted : Friday, March 02, 2012 7:15:23 PM

I once shot a lion with poisoned arrows kumbe ilikuwa ni thicket .
Peace be with you
Drunkard
#5 Posted : Friday, March 02, 2012 7:38:57 PM

I am from the village and a few of you might not related with this; well a couple of years ago me and the entire village filled a lorry to go for a wedding far way from the village, we had around 50 pple packed in the back of a closed lorry, men, women, boys and girls so you can imagine how crowded it was. Anyway, travelling back was night time and when it is dark and boring I tend to get creative and that night it wasn't any different. I know every village has that girl that you don't have to do much to land, all you need to do is sit next to her and let your hands do the talking. Well I for some reasons decided to do just that and what happenned next was something I am not proud of.... after a couple of, you know tries, I stick my finger there and played with her lil punannie and after a couple of minutes the place just exploded, the smells was unbearable, the lorry was backed and we had 2hrs journey, everyone had their hands on their noses and everyone was looking at where i was!
Gosh!