wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

Maranda tops KCSE 2011!!!!
#41 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 7:32:52 AM

link ya full results?
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
TiggerTiggy
#42 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 8:26:08 AM

TiggerTiggy wrote:
how did the likes of aga khan academy, riara, makini, braeburn and other 'class' high schools fare?

the likes of braeburn do kcse?

some international schools offer kcse.
limanika
#43 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 9:12:29 AM

The poor kids in Maranda used to wake up at 4am as a must. Teachers in class daily at 5.45am! Where are the human rights activists? Anyway congrats it is enough proof anyone can achieve whatever they want
Kihangeri
#44 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 9:14:34 AM

Boys have dominated the top positions nationally in the Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (KCSE) released Wednesday.

In the top ten positions nationally, boys took seven while girls managed three.

The top student was Nalianya K Job of St Peter's Seminary in Eldoret followed by Gikonyo Victor Gitau and Odhiambo Emmanuel both of Alliance High School.

The top girl was Lonyangapuo E Chelagat of Alliance Girls High School and came in fourth nationally.

1. Maranda High School (261 students)

2. Alliance High School

3. Alliance Girls School

4. Starehe Boys

5. Mangu High School

6. Moi Girls High School

7. Kenya High School

8. MaryHill Girls High School

9. Pangani Girls School

10. Starehe Girls Centre.

DN website

Anyone with figures of students who sat the KCSE for the above schools?
By inference, the man is all that Mr Phantom is not: an untrustworthy radical, divisive, too many enemies, a dictator, and a persistent liar...
Gaitho dialogues.

Marty
#45 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 9:19:46 AM

My former school perched at No. 5, 2 yrs ago it was number one. Someone is sleeping on their job. What became of PBs and Sunshines of this world? and by the way, this school ranking thing had disappeared, how did it come back??
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
#46 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 9:30:49 AM

Marty wrote:
My former school perched at No. 5, 2 yrs ago it was number one. Someone is sleeping on their job. What became of PBs and Sunshines of this world? and by the way, this school ranking thing had disappeared, how did it come back??

MHS was no 1 in KCSE 2007. Last yr it was out of top 10(Starch too wasnt in the top 10)
#47 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 9:31:49 AM

limanika wrote:
The poor kids in Maranda used to wake up at 4am as a must. Teachers in class daily at 5.45am! Where are the human rights activists? Anyway congrats it is enough proof anyone can achieve whatever they want

.......with no classes in the afternoon coz of the hotness and they had to study under the trees!!!
#48 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 9:34:05 AM

I like it when schools like Maranda emerge tops. It helps shatter the myth that the old academic giants make it through leakage.
#49 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 9:43:54 AM

[quote=limanika]

.......with no classes in the afternoon coz of the hotness and they had to study under the trees!!!

Thanks for educating some ignorant Kenyans.
Ondiek
#50 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 10:09:53 AM

limanika wrote:

Quite right.The heat in the afternoon makes it unbearable to hold lessons so they do self study or hold discussions under cool tree shades.
wa P
#51 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 12:11:31 PM

This Maranda is now Srikal! and do they say!!

I only heard about it first time last year, and more intimately this year when they admitted a nephew.

The high school i went through (name cannot fit in here) seem to have produced only one successful candidate in the last 20 years.

We need public vetting of teachers.

Chaka
#52 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 1:01:58 PM

Is that tired blue lorry(with functional headlights)in DN pg 4 the Maranda school "bus"??...
#53 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 1:04:36 PM

I like it when schools like Maranda emerge tops. It helps shatter the myth that the old academic giants make it through leakage.

Agreed. Mangu, Strathmore, Starehe, Precious Blood, Alliance etc put in a lot of effort to remain academic giants.
#54 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 1:08:30 PM

About great schools and the purpose of education:

"At school you are engaged not so much in acquiring knowledge as in making mental efforts under criticism. A certain amount of knowledge you can indeed with average faculties acquire so as to retain; nor need you regret the hours you spent on much that is forgotten, for the shadow of lost knowledge at least protects you from many illusions. But you go to a great school not so much for knowledge as for arts and habits; for the habit of attention, for the art of expression, for the art of assuming at a moment's notice a new intellectual position, for the art of entering quickly into another person's thoughts, for the habit of submitting to censure and refutation, for the art of indicating assent or dissent in graduated terms, for the habit of regarding minute points of accuracy, for the art of working out what is possible in a given time, for taste, for discrimination, for mental courage, and for mental soberness. Above all, you go to a great school for self-knowledge."

- William Johnson Cory at Eton College.
#55 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 3:52:11 PM

'user' wrote:
link ya full results?

TOTAL AGGREGATES
A A- B+ B B- C+ C C- D+ D D- E X Y Z W Candidates
97 104 15 2 42 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 0 264

97 straight As and 104 A-.

Lucid_Iam
#56 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 3:57:24 PM

Tebes wrote:
'user' wrote:
link ya full results?

TOTAL AGGREGATES

Vijana wameerevuka zaidi ama masomo yamekuwa rahisi? Back in the day getting a B+ meant getting a place in Med school.
#57 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 5:16:06 PM

Lucid_Iam wrote:
Tebes wrote:
'user' wrote:
link ya full results?

TOTAL AGGREGATES

Vijana wameerevuka zaidi ama masomo yamekuwa rahisi? Back in the day getting a B+ meant getting a place in Med school.

Grade Inflation?
#58 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 7:28:40 PM

There was some inconsistency in the results published by DN today. In the overall ranking, PB Riruta is absent, in the county ranking, it is ahead of Pangani which was in the top 10. This was not the only one but the most glaring!

#59 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 7:35:36 PM

wa P wrote:
The high school i went through (name cannot fit in here) seem to have produced only one successful candidate in the last 20 years.

Were you close to him?

Don't begrudge him for not assisting. You can still be successful even at an advanced age!

#60 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 7:45:06 PM

On a serious note, as I had stated on a previous thread, if you have a son (or "boy child" you are sponsoring) don't enroll them in a County school in Nairobi. Hi vijana ya Nairobi sijui ni bangi gani wanavuta shuleni!!! Nairobi boys county ("provincial") schools are no where to be seen even in the County list. Inaonekana dawa ya mboys from Nairobi ni machinani tu!!!