wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

Young Karume snubs Moi!
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 3:41:41 AM

I found this amusing:
http://www.youtube.com/w...kIPOhw4_DLK9gnl004wshUk

Moi had gone to console the Karume family. They go outside to take a picture and Moi tries to get the attention of young Karume's son who clearly does not know him and snubs him as he runs into his mother's arms.

It got me thinking, there is a whole generation of young people today who do not know who "Baba wa Taifa, mtukufu Rais Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi, Amiri Jeshi mkuu wa majeshi yote ya Kenya" is.

How times have changed. I remember the very first time I saw Moi "with my eyes". It was one of those things in the village I grew up in, a boy who had seen Moi "with his eyes" could silence all others who had only seen him on pictures.

"Wewe unasema nini, ushawahi ona Moi na macho yako?" and you knew you could not speak your ignorance so you simply gave up and just shut up. So the opportunity to see him presented itself when he came to open a government project in the local town. Of course all the local schools were closed and we all went on the streets to welcome him. He was coming at 11 but we were all at the venue by 8 in the morning. I remember peering from behind a mesh wire fence and waiting in the hot morning sun amid fellow boys pushing and shoving for the best vantage point. He came, he got out of his car, raised his rungu and went into the building, I think I probably saw him for about 10 seconds or less but it was a most gratifying experience........ I had seen him "with my own eyes."
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 3:59:14 AM

Laughing out loudly LOL that's funny Laughing out loudly
pariah
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 4:10:05 AM

you should know people
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 10:33:35 AM

Laughing out loudly enyewe times have changed.

Our teachers would give us songs to perform for mtukufu a whole month before his 'passing by' our town.(Passing by not visiting us). We would miss classes just to perform for Baba wa taifa.

On the material day, he would stop kidogo,listen to our songs, give us mawaidha then give us a small token.

No wonder people don't like Kibaki.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 10:35:34 AM

Karume was landing even at that age!!! kiuno was still functional!!!?...small kid...
livie
#6 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 11:04:11 AM

How times have changed. I remember the very first time I saw Moi "with my eyes". It was one of those things in the village I grew up in, a boy who had seen Moi "with his eyes" could silence all others who had only seen him on pictures.

"Wewe unasema nini, ushawahi ona Moi na macho yako?" and you knew you could not speak your ignorance so you simply gave up and just shut up. So the opportunity to see him presented itself when he came to open a government project in the local town. Of course all the local schools were closed and we all went on the streets to welcome him. He was coming at 11 but we were all at the venue by 8 in the morning. I remember peering from behind a mesh wire fence and waiting in the hot morning sun amid fellow boys pushing and shoving for the best vantage point. He came, he got out of his car, raised his rungu and went into the building, I think I probably saw him for about 10 seconds or less but it was a most gratifying experience........ I had seen him "with my own eyes."

i saw Kenyatta....1977/78 - na macho!

uhuru park national holiday celebrations, beat that!

If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
QW25091985
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 11:21:59 AM

times have changed ...hata siku hizi hakuna maziwa ya nyayo ...nkt nkt !
livie
#8 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 11:37:21 AM

QW25091985 wrote:

If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
wajuguna
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 11:43:16 AM

@livie
Which corner of the museum did you pull that pack from? Those were them days.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 12:20:51 PM

"with my own eyes."

very funny!!!! Yenyewe the others saw him through the cameraman's eyes!!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly :-

"Baba wa Taifa, mtukufu Rais Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi, Amiri Jeshi mkuu wa majeshi yote ya Kenya".

Reminds of the 1 O'clock news bulletin which was how government appointees were hired or fired!!!!! enyewe the mzee was enigma itself!!!!! Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Then some one believes the police can kamata his son kienyeji tu!!! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Spend.thrift
#11 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 12:44:04 PM

I found this amusing:
http://www.youtube.com/w...kIPOhw4_DLK9gnl004wshUk

Moi had gone to console the Karume family. They go outside to take a picture and Moi tries to get the attention of young Karume's son who clearly does not know him and snubs him as he runs into his mother's arms.

It got me thinking, there is a whole generation of young people today who do not know who "Baba wa Taifa, mtukufu Rais Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi, Amiri Jeshi mkuu wa majeshi yote ya Kenya" is.

Its a bit extreme to expect that a kid of that age should be able to recognise Moi, unless he features in the TV advert for Ribena.

livie
#12 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 12:45:37 PM

wajuguna wrote:
@livie
Which corner of the museum did you pull that pack from? Those were them days.

www has many pics, if u know where to look........
#13 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 12:57:56 PM

livie wrote:
QW25091985 wrote:

The then KBC on weekends...

Paukwa? - Pakawa
Sahani? - Ya Mchele
Maziwa? - Ya watoto wa Nyayooooooooo!!!!!!

Drool Drool Drool
#14 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 1:44:01 PM

Karume was landing even at that age!!! kiuno was still functional!!!?...small kid...

bearing in mind that toi is around four years old...ama alisaidiwa
#15 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 1:46:24 PM

at michukis funeral when he rose to speak...he cleared his throat only as Toro can and the room broke out in laughter and ululation..for a moment the sombre mood lifted and i could even picture him doing his ndombolo routine...wait that was nyambane..but it was refreshing to hear him after all this time..vintage
#16 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 2:10:23 PM

Yeah that 'clearing the throat' was pure CLASSIC.

It made me miss him and redykyulass crew.
Julie
#17 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 5:10:56 PM

My first born alikunywa ile ya tetra pak.
He was class prefect so he had priviledges...so he used to bring home two to three packs za wenye walikuwa absent!
Who has photo of those?
#18 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 6:12:19 PM

livie wrote:
QW25091985 wrote:

It's coming back. Mark my words. You heard it here first!
#19 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 6:17:41 PM

Spend.thrift wrote:
Its a bit extreme to expect that a kid of that age should be able to recognise Moi, unless he features in the TV advert for Ribena.

My daughter loves that advert! I guess if Moi features in it, she will also get a chance to know him.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 7:42:16 PM

Spend.thrift wrote:

My daughter loves that advert! I guess if Moi features in it, she will also get a chance to know him.

Not for kid adverts. Kids love fun. And cartoons too. But not the face of Mugabe of Zimbabwe. Those are faces of power.