wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

Hardtalk: state funerals
#1 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 11:59:30 AM

Hardtalk: State funerals
Let me be clear right from the start. I respect dead people and this does not in way refer to any dead person specifically. I am just asking a moral question. Should the government be bankrolling funerals for ministers?

What does the law say? As best as I know it is only the president and his two assistants who should enjoy this. Others who have distinguished themselves in certain fields, both at home and abroad, should also be recognized and given a state send off. Wangari Maathai is a good example. Why should the government pay for funeral services of men who have amassed such huge wealth when IDPs are suffering in the camps? When children in Ukambani sit under trees for lack of classrooms, when men and women in Kakamega and elsewhere can’t walk because their feet have been ravaged by jiggers? Does anyone ever bother to know how those who die in the IDP camps are buried?

I have heard many say that Hon. Michuki transformed our transport sector. Did you know that he was on a monthly salary to do that? He just did what he was supposed to do and if I was to appraise his performance at the end of the year, I would give him an A. If anything he should have been accountable for what he did which he was not supposed to do. The raid at KTN by the Artur brothers in his efforts to stifle freedom of the media is a case in point.

My point is that tax payers’ money is used to pay ministers to work. If families of ministers feel that they should not use the wealth left by the deceased to give him a proper send off, they should hire some space at Garden Square like everybody else to collect money for a proper send off but not ask the government to finance their funeral. Here we are setting a very bad precedence. What criteria will be used to determine who gets a state send-off? Or does it mean that all seating ministers will get a state send-off?

I know I am treading on a topic regarded as a taboo to discuss. But I am not scared of death. When God feels that my time on earth is over, I will go and it does not matter whether I will be buried in a sack or in a gold casket. I know MPs can’t dare debate this in parliament for reasons they best know.

pariah
#2 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 12:06:51 PM

thanks Magigi, you are one Kenyan in touch with reality and can see the hypocrisies in this sham govt. The twin deaths of Kibaki's allies has exposed the hypocrisy in the govt yeat again and our society in general. I wonder when I see people trotting to praise any dead person while they are fully aware they contributed significantly to the mess that Kenya is today. Michuki was a DC for heavens' sake in the colonial govt and now he s praised as a nationalist. He supplied seatbelts and speed governors when he allegedly turned around the matatu industry for his gain but all we see now is a saint whose funeral we are going to pay for. .... who will wake up Kenyans?
#3 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 12:10:24 PM

michuki will even get a gun salute and he was enviroment minister we live it to the historians
Theu
#4 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 12:10:57 PM

Applause Applause Applause Applause I totally concur.
#5 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 12:31:09 PM

Some animals are more equal than others.
#6 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 12:32:40 PM

Hardtalk: State funerals
Let me be clear right from the start. I respect dead people and this does not in way refer to any dead person specifically. I am just asking a moral question. Should the government be bankrolling funerals for ministers? What does the law say? As best as I know it is only the president and his two assistants who should enjoy this. Others who have distinguished themselves in certain fields, both at home and abroad, should also be recognized and given a state send off. Wangari Maathai is a good example. Why should the government pay for funeral services of men who have amassed such huge wealth when IDPs are suffering in the camps? When children in Ukambani sit under trees for lack of classrooms, when men and women in Kakamega and elsewhere can’t walk because their feet have been ravaged by jiggers? Does anyone ever bother to know how those who die in the IDP camps are buried? I have heard many say that Hon. Michuki transformed our transport sector. Did you know that he was on a monthly salary to do that? He just did what he was supposed to do and if I was to appraise his performance at the end of the year, I would give him an A. If anything he should have been accountable for what he did which he was not supposed to do. The raid at KTN by the Artur brothers in his efforts to stifle freedom of the media is a case in point. My point is that tax payers’ money is used to pay ministers to work. If families of ministers feel that they should not use the wealth left by the deceased to give him a proper send off, they should hire some space at Garden Square like everybody else to collect money for a proper send off but not ask the government to finance their funeral. Here we are setting a very bad precedence. What criteria will be used to determine who gets a state send-off? Or does it mean that all seating ministers will get a state send-off? I know I am treading on a topic regarded as a taboo to discuss. But I am not scared of death. When God feels that my time on earth is over, I will go and it does not matter whether I will be buried in a sack or in a gold casket. I know MPs can’t dare debate this in parliament for reasons they best know.

well - says who? Who says the likes of Wangari Maathai should be afforded a state funeral? Who? and Why? why the president even then? Why? its all a subjective discussion. Remember, funerals do not benefit the dead! its for the living to say bye to their beloved. the dead are not concerned with funerals, they don't care whether they are cremated or eaten by dogs - they are DEAD. its all for us living people to get to terms with the death of our loved one. thus its an emotional decision (subjective) on the part of the decision makers. the law does not dictate that. Kwani 21 gun salute ni nini? ama ni hasara ya risasi ishirini na moja unalilia?
#7 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 12:44:11 PM

pariah wrote:
thanks Magigi, you are one Kenyan in touch with reality and can see the hypocrisies in this sham govt. The twin deaths of Kibaki's allies has exposed the hypocrisy in the govt yeat again and our society in general. I wonder when I see people trotting to praise any dead person while they are fully aware they contributed significantly to the mess that Kenya is today. Michuki was a DC for heavens' sake in the colonial govt and now he s praised as a nationalist. He supplied seatbelts and speed governors when he allegedly turned around the matatu industry for his gain but all we see now is a saint whose funeral we are going to pay for. .... who will wake up Kenyans?

I can see you are inline with the popular myth promoted by kenyatta...
"Uhuru tulipigania ama tulipewa?"...TULIPEWA... the people you attribute with "nyakua-ring" had already been sorted out by 1956 and the leader of the struggle killed and buried in a grave that we have not discovered until now. The maumau resistance resulted in the deaths of 70 settlers and thousands of Africans before it was quelled. the US is the only country that "Nyakuwa-d" uhuru from the "mgereza". Uhuru was being given to colonies after world war 2 and the beginning of the cold war. we did not even need to fight, we would have gotten independence none the less - who fought for Ghanian independence? considering they got it 8 years before us!
I think the legend of the maumau is nice to tell to our kids. it falls within the requirement that a nation forms a common narrative for uniting its future citizens (that narrative does not have to be 100% true)...its not unique to us (http://fsi.stanford.edu/events/confronting_the_yugoslav_controversies_can_scholars_make_a_difference/) everyone does it :)
pariah
#8 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 12:49:35 PM

i am more concerned on praising JNM as a saint when he was only human, ewe should appraise him accordingly not gloss over facts, whichever way Uhuru was given, he was an enforcer for the mkoloni, he was part of the kanu system, he was a key cog of the kibaki tribal cabal that got us in a fix in 2008, he raided the standard, killed Mungiki.... along with other good things you may have to say about the good mzee

thats all i am saying,
#9 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 12:56:09 PM

pariah wrote:
i am more concerned on praising JNM as a saint when he was only human, ewe should appraise him accordingly not gloss over facts, whichever way Uhuru was given, he was an enforcer for the mkoloni, he was part of the kanu system, he was a key cog of the kibaki tribal cabal that got us in a fix in 2008, he raided the standard, killed Mungiki.... along with other good things you may have to say about the good mzee

thats all i am saying,

well...these are good things he did if you ask me!
pariah
#10 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 1:05:46 PM

pariah wrote:

thats all i am saying,

well...these are good things he did if you ask me!

i already know they are good for some people, i posted to address the others who dint think so, thanks for confirming anyway
tajiri
#11 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 1:26:47 PM

I am not surprised by this move, we have an inept government led by an idiot. He does not not have the intelligence to consider directing that money to improving health care or training a few cancer specialist in the country. It is interesting that when looking reviewing Michuki's 'illustrious' career we are reminded that he was our treasury PS when Kenya had the same GDP as Malaysia and Korea. 40 years later, the country is by far poorer than Korea while his ilk are richer than the government. As we celebrate his achievements we should remember that his financial success and his friends' success came as a cost to our nation.... 'pesa yetu, pesa yetu!!
Our hypocrisy is exposed when we support such stupidity while we have IDPs in camps, shortage of medicine in Kiambu District Hospital and Muranga Hospital, malfunctioning mortuary refridgirator at City Mortuary.
On a light note, if it takes a state funeral to bury this ilk and their negative effect, so be it. We need a new start. Whether in life or death, sickness or health, these guys lived on our sweat, blood and taxes. They are the reason we are what we are.
Let the dead bury the dead.smile smile
pariah
#12 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 1:34:07 PM

tajiri wrote:
I am not surprised by this move, we have an inept government led by an idiot. He does not not have the intelligence to consider directing that money to improving health care or training a few cancer specialist in the country. It is interesting that when looking reviewing Michuki's 'illustrious' career we are reminded that he was our treasury PS when Kenya had the same GDP as Malaysia and Korea. 40 years later, the country is by far poorer than Korea while his ilk are richer than the government. As we celebrate his achievements we should remember that his financial success and his friends' success came as a cost to our nation.... 'pesa yetu, pesa yetu!!
Our hypocrisy is exposed when we support such stupidity while we have IDPs in camps, shortage of medicine in Kiambu District Hospital and Muranga Hospital, malfunctioning mortuary at City Mortuary.
On a light note, if it takes a state funeral to bury this ilk and their negative effect, so be it. We need a new start. Whether in life or death, sickness or health, these guys lived on our sweat, blood and taxes. They are the reason we are what we are.

@masukuma i guess such are the facts that make you proud of your fallen mzee,
#13 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 1:47:24 PM

pariah wrote:
tajiri wrote:
Our hypocrisy is exposed when we support such stupidity while we have IDPs in camps, shortage of medicine in Kiambu District Hospital and Muranga Hospital, malfunctioning mortuary at City Mortuary.

@masukuma i guess such are the facts that make you proud of your fallen mzee,

So - who said Independence is the place to start "measuring stuff" considering - Uhuru mulipewa? how many people were employed or educated then? boss, I have discussed this until my voice became hoarse due to the myth of "independence" is the place to start counting things. our GDP at independence was all Kahawa and majani based! Korea had already started doing manufacturing electronics equipment (LG was founded in 1958, Samsung 1938) - and not government led. you idiots keep on believing that everything must come from the gava and to this day bado mambo ni mashamba tu! until now you are still believing that 'good governance' and 'democracy' are the way out! You need to recognize that even at that time Asia was not disconnected to the rest of the world as as sub-Saharan Africa was. The GDP at independence was from exports of tea and coffee to the UK. What about the role of the US after the Korean war in South East Asia? you cannot deny these facts.
chiaroscuro
#14 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 2:00:52 PM

Paragraphs;

paragraphs;

paragraphs!

Please use them. They make it easy to read. As it is, these posts are hard to read, so I make this comment after having not read everything.

Can we not allow the president to decide who to give a state funeral? if we are going to have a law guiding every little decision, then what do we need a president for?
pariah
#15 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 2:04:04 PM

enlighten me masukuma, are u saying gava would nt have done better with less land grabbing, more education focused on sciences and engineering? more infrastructure projects, more electrification, training more doctors..... are u suggesting if these things were done systematically we ll still be where we are?

i really find it hard to believe u are convinced with your arguments yourself, it seems plausible that you are reluctantly doing this for someone else.

What about singapore? were they manufacturing in the 50s too?

#16 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 2:21:57 PM

pariah wrote:
enlighten me masukuma, are u saying gava would nt have done better with less land grabbing, more education focused on sciences and engineering? more infrastructure projects, more electrification, training more doctors..... are u suggesting if these things were done systematically we ll still be where we are?

i really find it hard to believe u are convinced with your arguments yourself, it seems plausible that you are reluctantly doing this for someone else.

boss, i will not go into the details of what advantages the historic east india company gave to Singapore nor will i dwell on how it did not depend on agriculture to survive - its all academic. I think the best way to wrap this is - wewe meza wembe! you and your clan expected government to become a knight in shiny amour and rescue you poor damsels in distress and take you to a new dawn.
until this day you are chasing this myth! Kenyans have been indoctrinated to actually believe that change in gava will actually change their lives!! that's what kept us busy all these years, fighting to go into power! 2008 was the epitome....thinking that if certain people are in power your lot will change...IT WILL NOT. the only way out is if you do something not gava does something for your. otherwise you will die an angry bitter and disenchanted man.
#17 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 2:27:59 PM

All this focus on land is what is messing us up! BUILD STUFF!!
pariah
#18 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 2:28:25 PM

pariah wrote:

boss, i will not go into the details of what advantages the historic east india company gave to Singapore nor will i dwell on how it did not depend on agriculture to survive - its all academic. I think the best way to wrap this is - wewe meza wembe! you and your clan expected government to become a knight in shiny amour and rescue you poor damsels in distress and take you to a new dawn.
until this day you are chasing this myth! Kenyans have been indoctrinated to actually believe that change in gava will actually change their lives!! that's what kept us busy all these years, fighting to go into power! 2008 was the epitome....thinking that if certain people are in power your lot will change...IT WILL NOT. the only way out is if you do something not gava does something for your. otherwise you will die an angry bitter and disenchanted man.

I certainly dont think that if someone from a specific region is in power my fortunes will change, but I know for sure that if consistent policies are implemented by the govt everyone will be better off. Its not purely academic to point out that Singapore had a visionary leadership that set out to transform their economy first to manufacturing hub and later into a financial hub and a major player in the oil sector. I dont care who is in power but I know what is possible and what is not, I know it is possible to get Kenyans better leadership in all spheres of life, I dont believe in the 'tunaomba serikali mantra' which has been accentuated by past leaders. I dont understand why you are so defensive.

#19 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 2:54:10 PM

pariah wrote:

I certainly dont think that if someone from a specific region is in power my fortunes will change, but I know for sure that if consistent policies are implemented by the govt everyone will be better off. Its not purely academic to point out that Singapore had a visionary leadership that set out to transform their economy first to manufacturing hub and later into a financial hub and a major player in the oil sector. I dont care who is in power but I know what is possible and what is not, I know it is possible to get Kenyans better leadership in all spheres of life, I dont believe in the 'tunaomba serikali mantra' which has been accentuated by past leaders. I dont understand why you are so defensive.

the problem with us is that a good leader cannot even plan ahead due to the undercutting siasa. to develop we have to take bitter pills they are:
- give a leader space to breathe!
- believe that foreign powers do not want Africa to succeed.
- believe that we owe our people the dignity of living a human beings.
- believe we are intellectually equal to anyone.
- use our own model to develop.
- do something to improve your fate!

development is not heaven that there is only one way to it...tengeneza panya route!
pariah
#20 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 3:04:12 PM

@masukuma we are now making progress with you giving your take on what you think we need to do albeit with a tinge of your characteristic negativity. All we are saying is past leaders let us down, even if you were part of the system or you gained from it, the point is it could have been better and now we have to be careful how we chose the next ones

In the countries that managed to break with their past we have a model, you can look up all your academic arguments to berate us why it cant work for Africa but we know its possible to better ourselves through responsible leadership at the top and NOT HANDOUTS