jaggernaut wrote:And talking about buses, how come our companies cannot design modern and comfortable buses like those in developed countries?

Well, there are a number of reasons why that will not happen soon. I work for a bus fabrication company,this is my experience..
1. You can tell that the bus from the first world has a smooth finish. That smooth finish comes at a dear cost. Now,the people who buy these buses are businessmen. They are after recouping their investment. Even if the local manufacturer's bought the machines to do such a fine job, they wouldn't find people to sell their expensive buses to.
There is also a monopoly in this glass industry and if one designs a bus with a unique type of glass,the glass people will make you wait for weeks so that they can make some "template" for this NEW glass type. The only other alternative is importing the glass. Most people aren't willing to wait, it's a business and they need it to have their buses on the road soonest.The cost of maintaining the sleek bus is also much higher in comparison to the other.
2. Like someone said, the glass is too much. It looks pretty but I can tell you businessmen aren't willing to buy such a bus and leave them in the hands of their employees. Let's accept this, the matatu industry isn't the smoothest. Even with the blacksheet(mabati), the buses still get scratches and dents all the time, I can only imagine if that was glass, they would be in and out of workshops atleast thrice a week.
3.Our roads are bad. Yes, most of the roads are now much better but we are not yet there. I can tell you most people who decide to go the asian way, especially after an experience with the local buses usually end up "coming back home" in the end. For some reason, these buses from developed countries are quite weak, they just don't survive our roads like our local buses.
All that said, there are definitely much better looking buses than the one pictured here. It is definitely NOT a good representation of locally manufactured buses.