@Maitchblack: Clearly I did not go to the same school of Economics as you did. But I am certainly not the one who should be suing for my money back.
Forget the high sounding formulae and theories for a minute. A part of the answer to your problem can be found in the following statement which you made:
“Does M-Pesa make people spend money which would otherwise have been tacked away under a mattress?”
YES – by reducing inefficiencies in the system, M-peasa does several things:
1. Allows money to change hands more often (almost every time money changes hands goods or services are exchanged which is how an economy grows)
2. By reducing transaction costs, M-pesa allows more money to be moved around
3. M-pesa also allows money to be more efficiently allocated – eg by moving it to rural folks who have a higher propensity to consume.
All this of course assumes an efficient market system, but ours is nothing but. In the meantime, one of the prices we pay is temporary inflation
Let me tell you a story
“A long time ago, before the invention of M-pesa, a young man named Maichblack used to regularly send 3000K to his grandmother in shags. His cucu loves sugar in her tea so she would use the money to buy a kilo or so of the sweet stuff at the local Kiosk (we are keeping things simple here). In return the Kiosk owner, Munene, would order more sugar from the wholesaler at the nearby town.
The whole transaction would on average take about three months. It was unpredictable and quite inefficient and sometimes Maitchblack’s cucu would be forced to do without sugar in her tea.
Maitchblack had a problem. You see the only way he could send money was through Kamau, a tout whose Matatu plies the route to his shags. Sometimes Kamau would drink the money, other times he would demand a 30% percent fee. This was the main reason that Matchblack sent his cucu money every three months or so, although he could have afforded to send more regularly (he still managed to send her 12,000 each year). This in turn affected the Kiosk owner’s sugar orders, which in turn affected the wholesaler, all the way to Kidero’s factory in Mumias (I know, we are keeping it simple here).
Then one day M-pesa was invented. Suddenly Maitch could afford to send his cucu money every month because the transactional risk and cost were reduced. Let us assume he sends exactly the same amount (12,000) as before but this time in tranches of 1000 every month. His cucu is happy now because she can afford to buy sugar regularly. Munene the Kiosk owner is happy too, he now has a regular customer and he can order sugar more regularly from his wholesaler in town - he is actually selling more sugar now but we shall ignore that point. A transaction cycle that used to take 3 months takes one month.
This happy cycle should go all the way to Mumias where the manager will order a change in sugar production to match the new demand cycle, or build additional warehouses to hold buffered stock.
But we have an inefficient market economy. The demand signal will eventually be heard and the market will respond. But that will take time. Meanwhile what you will have is temporary inflation.
In other words Maicthbalck's cucu will have money to buy sugar but Munene will have less sugar to sell because his supplies have not arrived, he will raise the price.
This may look insignificant but consider that M-pesa moves 2 billion shillings a day and you can see the effect is not so mall.
You are very welcome!
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)