wazua Sat, Dec 28, 2024

15 Pages<1234>»
Konza city Reality.
#21 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 10:42:00 AM

Investors who had hoped to cash in on the proximity to Kenya’s first ICT Park in Konza to make capital gains will be disappointed as the government moved to bar human settlement within two kilometres of the park.http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate+News/Fresh+zoning+at+Konza+park+dims+land+deals+/-/539550/1330944/-/42shog/-/index.html

...What will happen to those who had already acquired land with the 10km rad

The government will pay you back - at normal rates - not the inflated rate at which you bought the land. They are likely to pay you at pre Konza City prices which is dirt cheap!

But I don't think this applies to the whole 10km. They will acquire 2km to set up a green zone and the other 8km will be under controlled development. You keep the land but build to plan! Might be a Muthaiga in 10 - 20 years. If you have land > 2km from the park you might consider holding on to it.
#22 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 10:57:35 AM

Ati MPesa was developed at Jkuat and Ushahidi at the Ihub...

talk of talking from a point of ignorance...lol

There was a JKUAT guy who had sued vodafone sometime back after claiming he was paid peanut compared to what the solution was worth...I have also heard that Ushahidi was developed in Ihub or lets say the developers are Kenyans.

My point is we dont need Konza city to advance our technology companies we need to boost the already available companies to achieve global dominance..for instance BPO has been growing at a snails pace we should be asking ourselves why is that...why cant we compete with india...will Konza city make us more competitive.I doubt that.

Jamani
#23 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 11:13:42 AM

selah wrote:
Ati MPesa was developed at Jkuat and Ushahidi at the Ihub...

talk of talking from a point of ignorance...lol

There was a JKUAT guy who had sued vodafone sometime back after claiming he was paid peanut compared to what the solution was worth...I have also heard that Ushahidi was developed in Ihub or lets say the developers are Kenyans.

My point is we dont need Konza city to advance our technology companies we need to boost the already available companies to achieve global dominance..for instance BPO has been growing at a snails pace we should be asking ourselves why is that...why cant we compete with india...will Konza city make us more competitive.I doubt that.

India created the same konza concept with their silicon valley and from it they advanced on their IT and later graduated to include BPOs becoming the white colar job outsource for the west leaving the blue colar to china.
Kenya is on the right course in providing Konza for development...
#24 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 12:24:38 PM

Konza is just that. A dream

Gov't should be more concerned with providing enabling business environments and not making a few people a killing.

what is wrong with gov't using all it's efforts to ensure there is fibre all over the country and in every home. that way, the ideal BPO would be set up. Work from anywhere, not just Konza.

Taking trips to silicon is just silly in my opinion. Silicon Valley is moving out of Silicon Valley. it's busy roaming the world looking not for houses, there are some nice ones in silicon valley you know, but for skilled labour.

I promise you, they won't come to Kenya if there are no skilled labour. And I don't mean the self taught geeks in Ihub. I mean where our colleges and universities are good enough to train skilled labour. From my experience, we can't compare to the Indians who we constantly disparage.

The ICT board has had it wrong from the very beginning. It's the human labour these companies are looking for. Not the houses.Before someone boasts about how many IT guys are tarmacking in Kenya...Let's be serious. IT guys taught using a book by a lecturer who doesn't have email are not truthfully IT guys.

So Konza without skilled, well trained labour is as dead as the ICT board awards to companies that died as soon as they won their money.
Ric dees
#25 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 1:14:13 PM

I echo Konza will be and remain a real estate venture and nothing more.

Last year i was privy to attend the investors briefing in London and he told us all this "glossy" names have said they are going to set-up shop once this is done ie: Twitter,HP,Skype,IBM and many more, now my colleague (we were there in a business capacity) asked him 3 years ago Hong Kong came up with the same concept and again all this guys said they are going to set-up shop and you know what 3 years later non have, it's ended up being..you guessed right a real estate venture..how do i know this, well again our firm was involved in this and barely made money out of this.

So forgive me for being skeptic but i look at London's own Shoreditch roundabout UK's equivalent of Silicon roundabout 99.9% of ventures are all local start-ups and non of the glossy names, until we find local talent providing local solutions then we are doomed even before we start.

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Jamani
#26 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 1:21:23 PM

Having seen the success of such developments in places where skilled labour is available and places without either skilled labour or human resource numbers.... Konza will not died with or without labour.... think labour can be imported....I fully support the govt on this and I rest my case on arguments.
a4architect.com
#27 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 1:22:55 PM

@ Ric Dees. Very true. They should just market cheap land nead CBD, MOmbasa road e.t.c then local ICT guys invest small time then the city grows by itself as opposed to taking the Tatu City /Migaa route whreby they over-direct plot owners in what to develop. Even without all the ICT hype, Konza area will still develop into a Nairobi City hub due to
1.nearness to Nairobi
2.Proximity ot Msa. road.
3.Cheap land
The ICT hype is mostly a fad so as to enable faster human settlement- i believe the main issues here is availability of cheap land. If the hype results to over-rpiced land, then it makes more sense for an ICT company to buy same price of land at Upper Hill ,Westlands or along Msa Road-Libra house area. ICT operates using very minimal space.E.g Safaricom runs alot of its biz from Westalnds and Mombasa road efficiently.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
#28 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 1:52:47 PM

So its agreed we call it a real estate venture and that's all. Now we can invest with information in our hands.

But believing that as soon as Konza is finished, Kenyans will turn into IT gurus that the world shudders on seeing is rather foolhardy. Drinking cool-aid is not a cool thing.

Let's have the ICT board and the gov't doing what they are supposed to do. Build an enabling environment so that we don't have our graduates hanging around the estate with no funding for their ideas. Building tall buildings is not the solution.

mkeiy
#29 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 2:27:01 PM

Going by the above, Dubai is a dream. That palm palace, a dream too. Simply, why not clear the air with 10 year bets. How did Vegas come up? I believe in New York people could gamble. Why go to Las Vegas? Simply convergence. If you are going to start making cars in modern day world, you need a place where you can get supplies. Human capital is just a cog on the big wheel. ICT is NOT ONLY about software development,it's MORE than that. Making phones is ICT. Making all manner of electronic chips is ICT. Making comps is ICT. Making servers is ICT. Making navigation consoles is ICT. BPO is ICT. To me,Konza will happen and not only as a real estate venture, but as a ICT hub also.
Jamani
#30 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 2:32:26 PM

@ Mkely, they just dont get it...., they narrowed the scope.
Ric dees
#31 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 2:43:19 PM

deleted!!

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#32 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 2:49:08 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Going by the above, Dubai is a dream. That palm palace, a dream too. Simply, why not clear the air with 10 year bets. How did Vegas come up? I believe in New York people could gamble. Why go to Las Vegas? Simply convergence. If you are going to start making cars in modern day world, you need a place where you can get supplies. Human capital is just a cog on the big wheel. ICT is NOT ONLY about software development,it's MORE than that. Making phones is ICT. Making all manner of electronic chips is ICT. Making comps is ICT. Making servers is ICT. Making navigation consoles is ICT. BPO is ICT. To me,Konza will happen and not only as a real estate venture, but as a ICT hub also.

The problem with people in gov't is that they say the same thing in different places thinking that we won't remember.

BPO? What bpo? Can't run a good one now, yet we believe once we build a tall building it will happen?

making servers? where? can't even keep kplc transformers up because someone steals the cabling! my goodness! I won't mention the cost of internet in Kenya. Will there be a law in Konza making it cheaper than in India?

Stop taking Kenyans to be fools. We shall invest in the place since by our very nature, we like investing in land. Lakini hii maneno of genius Bill Gates fellows magically sprouting out of Konza is bullshit and I'm being kind.

An ICT hub is not Thika Road.You are talking about human capital, good infrastructure, good law. Heck, good management which so far is wanting. Show me those things now, not after the first building is finished to be sold for 20 times the value of the land.

All we talk about are tall buildings and good roads. Those things are not meant for ICT hubs, they are mandatory for any civilized nation. All roads in Kenya should be good and all cities well managed. ICT has nothing to do with it.

Konza is not ICT. It is a version of TATU city.

We shall buy it even when you say its a real estate venture. Coz it will have good infrastructure that is lacking in Kenyan towns.

Not coz Steve Jobs will resurrect there.
mkeiy
#33 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 3:08:26 PM

mkeiy wrote:

The problem with people in gov't is that they say the same thing in different places thinking that we won't remember.

BPO? What bpo? Can't run a good one now, yet we believe once we build a tall building it will happen?

making servers? where? can't even keep kplc transformers up because someone steals the cabling! my goodness! I won't mention the cost of internet in Kenya. Will there be a law in Konza making it cheaper than in India?

Stop taking Kenyans to be fools. We shall invest in the place since by our very nature, we like investing in land. Lakini hii maneno of genius Bill Gates fellows magically sprouting out of Konza is bullshit and I'm being kind.

An ICT hub is not Thika Road.You are talking about human capital, good infrastructure, good law. Heck, good management which so far is wanting. Show me those things now, not after the first building is finished to be sold for 20 times the value of the land.

All we talk about are tall buildings and good roads. Those things are not meant for ICT hubs, they are mandatory for any civilized nation. All roads in Kenya should be good and all cities well managed. ICT has nothing to do with it.

Konza is not ICT. It is a version of TATU city.

We shall buy it even when you say its a real estate venture. Coz it will have good infrastructure that is lacking in Kenyan towns.

Not coz Steve Jobs will resurrect there.

I will start on the reds. That's one of the objectives,good infrastructure which lacks everywhere else in Kenya. Most of the serious ICT firms are either in Egypt or South Africa and nothing in between. Konza will be the thing in between.
Expensive internet? Go back to 1999, how much was internet back then? It will be cheaper at some point. I expect the gov't to offer subsidies. Think EPZ. Electricity? KPLC is upgrading it's infrastructure to address that. Geothermal/solar/wind power will mitigate against our current power deficit. Who talked about a "Bill Gates"? Does anyone know where the next great ICT mind will pop from? You can't win a raffle if you don't buy a ticket. Konza is our ticket.
We all know that ours is not a perfect country,but should we just resign to despair?
You do know Vietnam,50yrs ago there was nothing in Vietnam to show for in terms of manufacturing might. It was a tattered state. Just google how they are fairing.
Sad thing is, in modern world, skepticism is usually mistaken for wits.
#34 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 3:33:11 PM

mkeiy...follow the money, then know who stands to gain from Konza.

If anywhere in your search you find a young enterprising Kenyan, tell me about it.If Konza can help a young man or woman start a company in their garage and make it big, you tell me about it.

For now, I will live with the skepticism I have based on the track record of the organisations that are pushing this Konza real estate project. As it stands, with no internet in my office, I will remain yours truly extremely skeptical, suspicious, unconvinced and not being taken to the cleaners.
#35 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 3:35:58 PM

For now, I will live with the skepticism I have based on the track record of the organisations that are pushing this Konza real estate project. As it stands, with no internet in my office, I will remain yours truly extremely skeptical, suspicious, unconvinced and not being taken to the cleaners.

All this negative energy for what... You are definitely part of Kenya's problem that we are trying to weed out and exterminate for good!!
#36 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 3:43:43 PM

aii kweli hii Konza ina matata namna gani.

I've simply pointed out the fallacy of this thing. Now I'm being called a potential candidate for extermination.

Kweli kuna nini Konza?
Ric dees
#37 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 3:49:49 PM

@Mkeiy...Entrepreneurship and innovation is being talked about continually in Kenya. This isn’t some small-time effort.They’ve been thinking hard and smart about the lessons to be learned not only from Silicon Valley, but with only 40 million people, they are also looking for lessons from other small innovation clusters such as Israel, Singapore and Finland. These countries are great models of countries too small to sustain startups of scale on just domestic consumption yet have managed to create innovation with a global reach.

However that said for a country so focused on innovation and startups the lack of venture capitalists is easily noticeable. Given the interesting things being talked about,one would have thought the place would have been crawling with VC’s fighting over deals. Instead it feels like the government – through ICT BOARD - is doing most of the risk capital investing. Given that great VC’s are much, much more than just a bag of money, this means that startups will lack experienced board members with practical experience. There also seems to be very few stakeholders on-board who know/willing to coach entrepreneurs and to build companies.Lastly there seems to be few tools, techniques and strategies to do so.

Point to note there’s confusion in both the Government about the difference between small business entrepreneurship (startups designed to be family businesses,) scalable startup entrepreneurship (startups designed from day one to scale big inside Kenya and then expand globally) and corporate entrepreneurship

These three types of entrepreneurship need to be explicitly recognized, encouraged and managed

My sense is that Kenya has not yet “declared a major.” Saying that you support entrepreneurship and innovation is a start, but the sentence needs to be finished. Entrepreneurship and innovation in what field? Where will Kenya establish technical and innovative leadership? Is the only way they will attract talent by paying entrepreneurs to come to the country? Or will students and entrepreneurs come to Kenya because it is one of the best places in the world for innovation in certain specific industries (pick your favorite – alternative energy? materials science? food science? cellulose outputs? video games and film? East African web commerce hub? automated mining? UAV’s? etc.)

I think what seems to be missing is a stated goal for Kenya to become a magnet for talent in specific domains. Why will people from East Africa and indeed rest of Africa stream to Kenya, besides its magnificent geography and wild Animals, In what fields will Kenya's universities and entrepreneurial culture create such an irresistible pull?

However, i can point out the elements that made Silicon valley successful, and point out the ones that may be helpful in Kenya; the role of Universities and defense-driven university R&D, the rise of venture capital, a failure-tolerant culture and the emerging science of entrepreneurial education.

So there you go to summarise this, the tech city should be a means to and end not an end itself, we lack glaringly on so many aspects mentioned above and dare i say this, it's about time we stopped focusing on this white elephant projects and start by first feeding our people.

And by the way do you know, the PALM DXB is sinking, do you know due to the huge costs the burj incurred in building and running it will never make money...is this the route you want us to go down to...stay away from the mirage that is Dubai..stay well away.

This info is pro-bono my friend!!

#38 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 3:59:40 PM

pple are quoting India as an example of how IT hubs have sprouted from Konza city concepts but one thing pple are forgetting is that the govt initiative was to boost a growing IT industry...I have given Mpesa and Ushahidi as kenyan products...someone tells me they are not ...so what has kenya produced to warrant a whole IT city...shldnt we create first and then make a city.

Bangalore
Bangalore undoubtedly leads the pack when the top IT hubs in India are discussed. A pleasant climate, an international airport and availability of local talent has made Bangalore a popular IT destination. The first IT Park in India was built at Bangalore; many cities now emulate this model.
Recently though, traffic snarls and other bottlenecks have become to affect further growth of the city as an IT hub.
Pune
Pune is similar to Bangalore in many ways. Salubrious climate, progressive local community and the presence of many educational institutes have attracted many multinational IT companies to Pune. Two suburbs of Pune – Hinjewadi and Magarpatta city at Hadapsar offer world class IT facilities and are the IT hubs of the city. Being an educational hub, and being an industrial city also adds to its advantage. Pune is located next to Mumbai, the economic capital of India, and offers accommodation at reasonable rates. The lack of an international airport has hampered its further growth as the IT hub of India.

Thanks lord for being merciful
#39 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 4:00:52 PM

sela.

I agree with you in full. Konza is really an uphill task for Kenya.

That having been said, I trust you agree with the guy who spoke about thika road super highway 6 years ago. no one thought this could happen. That it has happened makes me think that Konza can be done. I beleive so.
mkeiy
#40 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2012 4:12:30 PM

aii kweli hii Konza ina matata namna gani.

I've simply pointed out the fallacy of this thing. Now I'm being called a potential candidate for extermination.

Kweli kuna nini Konza?

Fact; A city equals real estate.So don't waste your breath preaching about that. Then what? Who occupies the buildings? For what purpose? Konza's ICT is in the purpose its built. You follow the money,piece a plot or two, anything. But remember that those who will be occupying the main Konza city won't be raring pigs. Why do you think Aljazeera is in Doha? CNN is in Hong Kong? Why not come to Nairobi? We speak better English than the Cantonese speaking Hong Kong dwellers, or better still, than the Arabs in Doha. Why are they there? They have the infrastructure. Those cities befit their corporate standing,on top of other factors. Its not about HUMAN capital only. Usage of Aljazeera n CNN are for example only.
Groping in darkness might get you what you are looking for. But why grope if you can light your way? WHY GROPE? The gov't is lighting the way. Addressing all the ills in our urban centers so when a big ICT company comes calling, they can see the seat from the coffee table. It is the norm in Kenya to have estates built before the infrastructure. Real estate should follow infrastructure,not the other way round.
Btw, @ alma, do you know where one can get space for BPO? 50,000 sq ft,fast internet connection,easily accessible and secure? geeromano@gmail is the address.