wazua Tue, Sep 23, 2025

EABL firing locals for foreigners!!!
phee
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 1:15:59 PM

http://www.nairobilawmon...limit=0&id=295&

Guys pls see this article.

Apparently EABL has kaliad anyone ( ie big media Houses ) from unleasing the story...

Very sad

Phee
phee
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 1:34:02 PM

http://www.nairobilawmon...limit=0&id=295&

Guys pls check this...unbelievable in this day and age...

Ati Peter Ndegwa was promoted wapi he was demoted...ati MD of a small jua kali brewery in Ghana and he leaves the FD position of the biggest company in Kenya...Kwelie tunadanganywa...

bure kabisa
kizee1
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 1:40:15 PM

so do your civic duty and boycott their stuff..im serious..this is a company which prides itself on being kenyan, they want us to consume thei products but we arent good enough to work for them??
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 2:19:03 PM

phee wrote:
http://www.nairobilawmonthly.com/modules/frontpage/php/fullview_content.php?mode=0&multi=0&type=0&pos=0&limit=0&id=295&

Apparently EABL has kaliad anyone ( ie big media Houses ) from unleasing the story...

Very sad

Phee

Did I read that Diageo owns 50% of EABL? Sorry but I hate to break it to you that is what happens in a listed company and an entity owns majority shares. They have SAY about who runs what and where they run it. If this was a govt parastatal however ...
kiash
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 2:47:53 PM

For my part i would suggest these guys who are getting a raw deal from EABL to cross bridge and go over to Naivasha(KEROCHE) and there they make it sound like a real Kenyan company (which it is really. Just like UCHUMI and NAKUMATT and guess increased compe will profit the local mwananchi.
Marty
#6 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 4:57:07 PM

quicksand wrote:
phee wrote:
http://www.nairobilawmonthly.com/modules/frontpage/php/fullview_content.php?mode=0&multi=0&type=0&pos=0&limit=0&id=295&

Very sad

Phee

Did I read that Diageo owns 50% of EABL? Sorry but I hate to break it to you that is what happens in a listed company and an entity owns majority shares. They have SAY about who runs what and where they run it. If this was a govt parastatal however ...

Very true. If I own a business then I'll decide how it is run and by who.
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 5:56:43 PM

Whooiiieeee pole @Phee.

So. What reason did they give for firing you?

Oh. And by the way, welcome to the Virtual Republic of Wazua.

After you have gotten over getting fired, I should hope you will keep visiting and posting.

Again Pole for loosing your cherished position.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 6:01:10 PM

Whooiiieeee pole @Phee.

So. What reason did they give for firing you?

Oh. And by the way, welcome to the Virtual Republic of Wazua.

After you have gotten over getting fired, I should hope you will keep visiting and posting.

Again Pole for loosing your cherished position.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 8:01:14 PM

Kenyans should support 'Summit' the way they supported Equity so that all their money doesn't got to London. That way we will build Kenya.
luttz
#10 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 9:55:43 PM

@Jaggernaut, so true. We need to support indigenous firms; we are obsessed with anything foreign. However, 50% EABL belongs to us coz so many of us are small shareholders. Does Summit quality match Tusker? Will try one during my next visit.
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
phee
#11 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 1:49:23 AM

Hahaha Mr Clown. I am gainfully employed thank God by a local firm that thinks local first...

dont worry wise guy your time will come soon. Kuishi kwingi kuona mengi.

this is why i like the growth of Sierra range of brands done by locals and driven by locals...

i have no issues with foreigners being hired but surely get locals first and if locals cannot then go out safaricom style...

but you will learn my friend you will learn...
#12 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 9:33:52 AM

I don't know about firing locals for foreigners but if you go to the west marketing, quality and competition there is cut throat and I don't think EABL will make it trough with their old ways 'kenyans are patriotic' thinking. I think it's time they do what they have to do or lose their edge.

#13 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 9:56:51 AM

phee wrote:

Guys pls check this...unbelievable in this day and age...

Ati Peter Ndegwa was promoted wapi he was demoted...ati MD of a small jua kali brewery in Ghana and he leaves the FD position of the biggest company in Kenya...Kwelie tunadanganywa...

bure kabisa

Give me an effing break! Being a CEO is the next step for many CFOs but they often need to 'experience' a different setting...
1) MNCs often move staff around to make them 'rounded'
2) GGBL is the largest brewer in Ghana not a jua kali one like keroche!
3) The CEO position in KBL/EABL is filled... So the move is to another subsidiary
4) If PN is aggrieved... then QUIT... Simple as that! There are many competent Kenyans in senior positions in Ghana & South Africa... Do you want them fired citing silly notions like those expressed here?
deadpoet
#14 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 10:37:16 AM

I'd be drinking summit if I could find it... guess I'll have to keep it Tsingtao beer from now on.
kiash
#15 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 12:58:30 PM

How i wish these guys who feel like they are getting a raw deal from EABL jumped ship and went over to KEROCHE(even if others call it Jua kali).
They could market it as a home brand. Just look at Uchumi its being marketed as a home brand unlike Nakumatt where you find almost everything foreign. This would be the best way to go. Aggressive marketing , reduced prices due to competition and the drinkers will profit.
RichVee
#16 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 1:20:55 PM

Is it necessary, the condescending comments directed at newcomers in Wazua? Is this not an open forum to share and learn from each other?
Tired of mediocrity. Am going to the very top!
luttz
#17 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 2:43:49 PM

@ VVS, The essence of expatriates to MNE is to transfer firm specific advantages which may be lacking in the host country. The firm specific advantages may be transferred as knowledge bundles and skills (read people) or technology. The concern for many of us is why EABL brings in expatriates in areas with many qualified Kenyans. Look at Safcom model! Nobody will question such intentions, lakini hii ya EABL, hapana. Something is wrong. Do you remember Kajwanga signing work permits for some welders eti because they are no specialist welders in Kenya?

@ Richvee, take heart, you will always encounter such minds in public forums like Wazua. Some people feel special and important that others plus it's like you are encroaching on their comfort zones
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
#18 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 3:15:17 PM

@luttz - I was of the same mind/thought but over time I realized that its a global marketplace... I don't want 'basic' jobs given to foreigners but at a certain level [provided all applicants are afforded the same opportunity] it has to be the best getting the job!

There are many Kenyans in Namibia, SA (even with its xenophobia), Zambia, Rwanda, Uganda & Ghana! In Tanzania, they just don't like Kenyans... using the same excuses/reasons portrayed in this discussion thread!
Kaffir
#19 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 3:40:53 PM

I thought EABL was an East African Company, not Kenyan. KBL, and UBL are the subsidiaries that were Country specific. Im not sure, therefore, why the hullabaloo. Xenophobia is a bad thing, especially when its founded on mob-mentality.
#20 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 4:31:35 PM

Kaffir wrote:
I thought EABL was an East African Company, not Kenyan. KBL, and UBL are the subsidiaries that were Country specific. Im not sure, therefore, why the hullabaloo. Xenophobia is a bad thing, especially when its founded on mob-mentality.

Diageo has 50%+ shareholding, followed by Kenyans. I am not sure what the Ugandan or Tanzanian shareholding is... but EABL is traded (cross-listed) on the USE