wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

M-Pesa linked to rise in inflation
beiyangu
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 3:26:51 PM

Increased uptake of M-Pesa, Kenya’s dominant money transfer service, has fuelled inflation as the service grew large enough to influence implementation of monetary policy, an African Development Bank (AfDB) research claims.

AfDB holds that financial innovations such as M-Pesa have increased the pace of monetary transactions while increasing cash in circulation, looping more people into the financial sector and leading to demand for goods and services outstripping supply.

Read more on: How M-Pesa is linked to rise in inflation
QW25091985
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 3:31:35 PM

ehehe. ati what ?
Chaka
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 3:40:44 PM

Is that the reason cooking gas is in short supply?
dnn
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 3:54:56 PM

Tell them it's called efficiency and solutions- they shld keep up in their financial systems, giving classroom theory reports is not enough...
For Sport
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 6:06:15 PM

aaarg

its good manners to provide a link to the source of the article. Not your site.
iKenya
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 1:51:15 AM

Bure kabisa! Unatafuta tu traffic to your ka-site.....
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
Cde Monomotapa
#7 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 7:30:22 AM

Chaka wrote:
Is that the reason cooking gas is in short supply?

GGK
#8 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 8:21:06 AM

Long before M_Pesa, I still used to send cash to my missus in Mukurweini, Nyeri.

It used to be a complex affair. Sometimes hanging around Tea Room to see who I knew was heading to Mukurweini.

Later, 2NK started cash delivery services and things cooled a bit. But if was unsuccessful, she knew what to do.... talk to our local shopkeeper Mr. Wanjohi. Life went on. cash got sent and spent

With M-Pesa its easier: I normally receive an SMS, ..."tuma pesa ama niuwe hawa ngombe wako", after which I use my phone to transfer cash from COOP bank account to my M-Pesa account, and then to Missus.

Tell ADB to do research we can use...or forever hold their peace.

Remember when mobile phones came and beer manufacturers cried foul that purchase of air-time was eating on disposable income of beer takers thus affecting beer sales?
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Djinn
#9 Posted : Thursday, February 16, 2012 10:49:32 AM

For Sport wrote:
aaarg

its good manners to provide a link to the source of the article. Not your site.

hear hear!