macharia gaitho on my wall!!!!
#1 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 11:27:00 AM

http://www.nation.co.ke/...t/-/54epjf/-/index.html

Macharia Gaitho

Raila shouldn’t have to fight alone to save the Mau

Rating

Posted Monday,November 23 2009 at 19:17

PRIME MINISTER RAILA ODINGA has declared,again,that he is ready to put his career on the line in the effort to save the vital Mau Forest complex.

But are Cabinet colleagues who should be standing firmly by the government decision to clear the Mau of illegal and destructive human encroachment similarly prepared to put the greater national good above selfish and short-term political interests?

Since the evictions begun and the subsequent uproar over a looming humanitarian crisis,the silence has been deafening from President Kibaki,Vice-President Kalonzo Musyoka,Deputy Prime Ministers Uhuru Kenyatta and Musalia Mudavadi,Internal Security and Provincial Administration minister George Saitoti and Environment and Mineral Resources minister John Michuki.

Mr Odinga has made it clear that the political fallout in ODM will not deter him from the campaign to save the Mau. Ministers William Ruto and Franklin Bett,former minister Isaac Ruto and others,and MPs from the ODM wing of government agitating against the Mau evictions pose a serious political threat to Mr Odinga.

They have indicated that they are more than ready to break the formidable alliance that propelled Mr Odinga to within an inch of the presidency in 2007.

If the Kalenjin section of the populous Rift Valley bloc walks away from ODM,Mr Odinga will suffer quite a blow.

But instead of cowering to that kind of blackmail,the Prime Minister has stuck to his guns and confronted his detractors head-on.

But other than the selfish clique using poor peasants as cannon fodder to secure their own theft of the Mau,why are so many of Mr Odinga’s other Cabinet colleagues remaining silent?

With their silence,they are helping create the impression that the campaign to rid the Mau of illegal settlements is an Odinga campaign rather than government policy.

Chances are that many of those plotting their own prospects for 2012 are secretly salivating at the prospects that Mr Odinga will destroy his own political base and ruin his chances of getting the top job come the next elections.

Some,in fact,would seem to be quietly satisfied that they are setting Mr Odinga up for a fall; and they are circling,like vultures,ready to pick at the carrion.

I would not be surprised in the next few days if some powerful voices in government suddenly announce that the campaign to rid the Mau of illegal encroachment has been suspended. This could be part of a move to project,for selfish political gains,a 'caring and humane face' of the government,at the expense of the Prime Minister.

IF THAT EVER HAPPENS,IT WILL serve as confirmation that all morality has been thrown out of the window. The fate of the Mau must never be tied to cheap manoeuvres by a group of leaders who see every opportunity to advance their own faltering political careers.

Neither must it be hostage to threats from small group of ethnic warlords suffering hangovers from the impunity they enjoyed to rape,loot and plunder during the Moi era.

This campaign to save the Mau must be carried to its logical conclusion. The ministers rebelling against the policy,inciting their constituents,and uttering war-cries should be sacked from the Cabinet. The sense of entitlement that drives such reckless fellows must be dealt with once and for all.

While the government must,indeed,use humane methods to clear the Mau,it must make it clear that there will be not a penny in compensation except for the innocent ones who genuinely took up settlement under government direction.

All those who simply invaded the forest and now sit by the roadside demanding compensation for land they have no claim to must not be entertained.

The 'executive squatters' in the Moi era corridors of power,including some of those MPs today making the most noise,hid behind a purported scheme to settle the landless Ogiek forest dwellers and other needy groups to grab massive chunks of the Mau for themselves.

They should not only be evicted without ceremony,but invoiced for the cost of restoring the Mau back to its pristine state,and also charged with abuse of office.

They are the same fellows sending out hardly veiled threats that evictions from the Mau might result in retaliatory attacks against some communities in the Rift Valley.

Those are the kind of threats a certain Luis Moreno-Ocampo might be interested in hearing. And they should have been the first ones to be ejected from the Mau in order to send the message that no one,however mighty,is untouchable.

mgaitho@nation.co.ke

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 11:29:00 AM

He even posted me what those who read his article think

Submitted by gm1971
Posted November 25,2009 12:01 PM

Hon Mwai Kibaki,you are the man of Africa. On the other hand no politician should comment on mau. It is not a referendum issue,it is a policy and it is the law. Let us not repeat our selves as if we ave no low. Law should take it measures

#

Submitted by mzeemoja
Posted November 25,2009 10:50 AM

The Mau issue is all but settled and the PM has the support necessary from govt and the public. However what is left is unfortunately ODM politics and how they do it should not drag others.

#

Submitted by THE BLUEZ
Posted November 25,2009 09:49 AM

My Support to the PM,be Strong and we will be with u in 2012 no matter what.

#

Submitted by jahazi
Posted November 25,2009 09:20 AM

Spot on Gaitho. The PM really needs the whole nation's support in Mau conservation efforts. where are all the other nationalists? The unholy alliance of corruption,cowardice,naked opportunism and greed is slowly forming to frustrate these noble efforts. Already Kalonzo and Uhuru have rushed to Roto's stronghold to 'sympathise' with the evictees an hope it will boost their 2012 ambitions. Vultures indeed.

#

Submitted by truthmatters
Posted November 25,2009 08:50 AM

Those opposed to eviction voted yes to it in parliament. the reverse nature of our leaders. Raila is just a supervisor remeber that,only doing what parliament asked him to do. These are our people reguardless of where they came from,they deserve humane treatment

#

Submitted by njengah
Posted November 25,2009 07:38 AM

Right on the money! It is a shame that Raila has to suffer through the pain of having his election stolen by an octogenarian who has no idea where Mau is located or that he is in fact president. Thanks God Raila continues to stand still and committed to saving this Kenyan gem,and is not worried about the noise and rubbish coming from his detractors,and some commentators here!

#

Submitted by olegaita66
Posted November 25,2009 05:59 AM

I have been watching Raila closely.Even though I have been critical of him at times,I have come to understand that the guy needs time to learn how to act in an executive position.He has been a fighter throughout his life.I think this time with the Mau issue,he is now showing national stature. I sympathise with the squatters but at the same time there is much at stake when it comes to the Kenya's environmental needs.

#

Submitted by Don7
Posted November 25,2009 04:03 AM

We all knows Ruto is a tribalist of the highest order,Kalonzo is a traitor and opportunist of the highest order.So we don't care about their 'K.K' evil strategies,and we don't care abt evictee either,all we care is our trees and water catchment area.

#

Submitted by JonBforever
Posted November 25,2009 03:28 AM

Are you serious! Raila is a nationalist? He should go and cleanup his backyard first. Did you know that Lake Victoria is one of the dirtiest Lakes in the world. Raila,tell your tribesmen to stop polluting Lake Victoria,and I will call you a nationalist.

#

Submitted by wuod_aketch
Posted November 25,2009 12:20 AM

Protecting the environment should be engraved into the constitution. Any one who cuts down a tree without permission should be prosecuted. Kenyans should come out and protest against those undermining the evacuation of Mau. Those ministers against this eviction should hand in the keys of their ministries and quit - simple

#

Submitted by Joesmatt
Posted November 24,2009 10:22 PM

Gaitho just stop right there.Who told you Raila will loose popularity for Mau eviction.Infact kenyans have been looking for such leadership for a long time. Let Raila show what he can do when we vote him for next presidency.Mau issue is campaign tosha.We want national leaders not some tribal chiefs like Ruto and Bett.We are behind him 1M% if that is what you want to hear and don't doubt our support for Raila.Kibaki has no business for kenya so let Raila do the job because he Kibaki empowered his office just the other day.

#

Submitted by menjamuki
Posted November 24,2009 09:18 PM

You seem to luck something to comment on... Do you want to mean that Raila is ineffective in his ministirial potiforial to get help from Kibaki,Kalonzo Musyoka,Kenyatta Mudavadi,Saitoti and Michuki. that is not so. again those making noise do not need the attention of everyone. Raila is capable and 99.99% of kenyans are hehind him. Go Raila,go!

#

Submitted by baby09
Posted November 24,2009 07:09 PM

Ati kibaki where are u?he slept long time ago!sometimes i forget kibaki still exist lol!

#

Submitted by nmjoe
Posted November 24,2009 07:08 PM

Gaitho as usual you are upto political mischief.President Kibaki doesnt have to talk about everything!His leadership style is clear.He has delegated.Wekesa and Raila can handle it.The world doesnt revolve around ODM's battles.Kenyans including Kibaki have moved on to other important matters we need solved .Mau issues was settled in cabinet a long time ago

#

Submitted by Brimani
Posted November 24,2009 06:17 PM

Kibaki,where are u? This is the time for you to wake up and lead. You have been quiet since you took power in 2002 and that is not a sign of a good leader. Raila cannot be left to fight this gruelling war alone. Kenyans are on his side. The Kalenjins can rant and rave as much as they want but enough is enough. Get rid of these thugs from the Mau ad the roadside. There is no turning back. Michuki you are always vocal,where are you now. Muite,Wangari Maathai we need you at this time.

#

Submitted by Delnov
Posted November 24,2009 06:10 PM

Shows how much politics polarizes the country. Sure enough,Mau is a national issue but true to their word,politicians have reduced it to some political party beauty contest! We know why the Rift Valley so called leaders are throwing spanners into the works - so that they may keep the large tracts they are sitting on. They care little about the dire effects. Cabinet,wake up and speak.

#

Submitted by mrkeya
Posted November 24,2009 05:45 PM

I am hoping that people being used for stupid games grow up otherwise we are going to be stuck in some funny sorry state for long. I also think that people being evicted should be given the whole truth about the importance of the forest so that they have a bit of pride in making the right choices at this difficult time. The informed mwanainchi should stand up and be counted,it is sad to keep loosing to this selfish politicians.

#

Submitted by tuffgong
Posted November 24,2009 03:36 PM

qoute one dr john henrik clarke'their is no difference btwn the the left and right all they do is to fight on whom get 2 power inorder 2 enslave the it's people'.our leader never seem to agree on issues pertaining national interest's.when it came's to it they tend to hide behind and play the politricks of tribe.It time we as kenyanz stood up against leaders who pursue there own agenda's leaving the mwanaichi high n dry.

#

Submitted by yesuwangu
Posted November 24,2009 03:16 PM

Its not the first time Raila in his political career to face such a daring dicission.Infact if I were him I would had given up long time this shows that Raila surely sticks by.Even his close associates are afraid to be somewhere near Mau.the fight wangari lauched for tree is similar except that for wangari it was against the govt.but for raila its against th people.in both instance mau must be saved

#

Submitted by ndirine
Posted November 24,2009 03:03 PM

those who doubted raila as being a nationalist should now review their opinions about the man were we to have five leaders using the same approach as raila is in nationalissues kenya would be far in terms of development

#

Submitted by wuod_aketch
Posted November 24,2009 02:50 PM

Well said,RO should be given support from all quarters. We do not need politicians to do this,wananchi should not be passive as they are the ones to benefit from the recovery of the water tower - especially those living in the valleys (Kerio ...). The NGOs should organize a supportive march for the Mau recovery project. Kenyans are always passive even when they are the first to be targeted by corruption. Where is our nobel prize? This is the time the nation needs her support.

#

Submitted by mwanamfalme
Posted November 24,2009 02:27 PM

I agree fully. I think it would give the President's legacy a big boost if he was to firmly drive the restoration of Mau campaign. He has nothing to lose. But Raila should not get scared,some of us,and I hope majority of us Kenyans can at least see some principles in the PM. Who knows,this could yiled him the votes comes 2012.

#

Submitted by wnation
Posted November 24,2009 12:43 PM

History has taught us that natural,patriotic and true nationalist leaders make hard decisions which can move mountains,Raila has proved it more than once. Gaitho,just look at our leaders today who can measure to him in terms of sensible non triabilist leadership?.Eviction and restoration of mau is a hard decision which has shown who among our leaders are tribal chiefs.

#

Submitted by pole_kenya09
Posted November 24,2009 12:26 PM

We have a few Kenyans of great conscience! Phew!! Well done boy!! You have courageously said what most of us wont dare to.

#

Submitted by oletiptip
Posted November 24,2009 11:29 AM

it truly a sad state of affairs the PM stands alone.the media are gladly falling into this humanitarian crisis trap,where are all those clips the use to run showing dry river beds and acres of raped forest,now there just showing the evicteess,no one without a titledeed should be compensated.No other evictees has ever been compensated.dont expect backing from the likes of the coward kalonzo.

#

Submitted by jmarka04
Posted November 24,2009 10:29 AM

well put Macharia. its the high time the common man stopped thinking like politicians. to the average kenyan,it matters not whose political career is on the line,rather what is of interest is what the leaders are doing between the election dates. the govt should not relent on this noble cause just because some vote rich areas feel threatened. thanks for highlighting this noble cause and supporting it in the media. keep it up.

#

Submitted by tek
Posted November 24,2009 10:03 AM

The assumption here is that Kalenjins are opposed to the Mau evictions and hence as a block would hate RO for relentlessly pursuing the matter. Sorry,but I am personally very tired of these generalizations.

#

Submitted by alfotula
Posted November 24,2009 09:40 AM

Excellent stuff bwana Gaitho. 'I would not be surprised in the next few days if some powerful voices in government suddenly announce that the campaign to rid the Mau of illegal encroachment has been suspended. This could be part of a move to project,for selfish political gains,a 'caring and humane face' of the government,at the expense of the Prime Minister.' That was Moi's method of finishing ministers before firing them. Problem here is,who else apart from Kibaki can counter-mind gvt/cabinet position? Can he do it? I doubt it very much.

#

Submitted by jdiallo
Posted November 24,2009 09:37 AM

We need more sober articles such as this. The only thing I would like to add is that Raila will just be fine. This issue has only given us an opportunity to know what kind of leaders the Kalonzo’s and Kenyatta’s of this world are. To be fair to Michuki,he has done his bit on the Mau forest though he supports Kalonzo for presidency. We need a few more principled leaders like Raila and Peter Kenneth!!! BTW in 2002 I thought Kalonzo was a presidential material even though my friends scoffed at me but now I know better!

#

Submitted by The optimist
Posted November 24,2009 08:50 AM

This issue as all Kenyans by now should know is a very serious issue and must be addressed immediately to prevent future suffering. The Honorouble Prime Minister is performing a very important service to the country and thus he should be viewed as a patriot. Kudos Mr. Prime Minister and may God bless the works of your hands.

#

Submitted by Tribeless
Posted November 24,2009 08:50 AM

You are too right on this issue. Kenya is awash with spineless politicians who are not willing to stand up to their principles. Raila is in a class of his own when it comes to such matters,and generations to come will thank him for his statemanship regardless of what political price he pays for it. However it must be acknowledged that Kiraitu and Michuki have now supported him,albeit belatedly.

#

Submitted by Issamtume
Posted November 24,2009 08:39 AM

This issue of the Mau can not be put any other way than you have written. Mr Odinga must push this goons to the corner by proposing their sacking from cabinent. Any the professional squaters seeking unwarranted sympathy during the day by the roadside and moving on to houses at night must be flushed out. What is the intelligence doing? Kenyans think or perish!!!!!

#

Submitted by werssylwer
Posted November 24,2009 08:24 AM

I think,as I can remember very well,Michuki,as Minister for Environment said Mau will be rid off the squatters. Thats when political opportunists stepped in. Dont blame him for not playing along!!!!

#

Submitted by peter mugambi
Posted November 24,2009 08:17 AM

Its true that the PM is walking a tight rope. Those who have 2012 ambitions are not gonna help him because of their own selfish opportunism.On the other hand,politicians from central province had better stay out of this if they do not want to make the situation worse.There is a perception that people from central province have acquired huge chunks of the natives land unfairly,and that the mau evictees have nowhere to go.The situation could be explosive.

#

Submitted by petero65
Posted November 24,2009 08:14 AM

Majority of Kenyans stand with the Prime Miniter.I am sure PM has learnt how difficult it is to govern a divided peoplle and worse off,Who are naive and do not see beyond their noses. All in all every corner of this country support him in his effort which is good for posterity

#

Submitted by okamala
Posted November 24,2009 07:20 AM

When the government gave notice on Mau,most of these leaders purporting to 'care',never engaged in positive dialogue to help ensure moving out of Mau is smooth; they embarked on confrontation and ultimatums - advising the poor settlers to stay put.Now even the VP,a senior member of the government talks of 'humane way',this is pure hypocrisy. We need true leadership in this situation,and so far Raila is the only one showing this.

#

Submitted by kenyanCanadian
Posted November 24,2009 07:16 AM

I agree with you and Prime minister Raila Odinga will get my vote when the time comes.He is the only true leader in Kenya Today.

#

Submitted by kumbaart
Posted November 24,2009 06:40 AM

Politics comes and go.Hon Raila have seen that.When you stand for the truth stay there as true stays forever.Those who do not want to go with the prime minister will be like Hon N itimama who said Kikuyu's weill lie like envelope.It is a shame for him as Kikuyu's did not upply to God to be born Kikuyu's.

#

Submitted by beejaychester
Posted November 24,2009 06:37 AM

Gaitho the Same people who Incited people to burn a church are back at it again- Inciting the same same way the did during the Post Election violence. Kalenjins will have themselves to blame come 2012. Among all cabal of Kalenjin politicians all are tainted by one scandal or another. They realize this and end up inciting people to do stupid things.

#

Submitted by mutuwa123
Posted November 24,2009 06:18 AM

I believe Raila has a golden opportunity to redeem himself. Raila stand by the rule of law and we the kenyan people will give you support such that you will never need coalitions with hyenas. We know the RV thieves are only trying to protect their ill gotten gains and do not care about the peasants much less the future of kenya.

#

Submitted by Sierra
Posted November 24,2009 05:18 AM

why are other politicians quiet? i would be extremely surprised if kibaki,uhuru or any central province politcian who has 2012 ambitions spoke up. central province politicians are too smart to speak up... think 1960s,think 2003,think 2007 elections... very consistent strategy...

#

Submitted by Jellyfish
Posted November 24,2009 05:04 AM

Mr. Gaitho I see you are trying to insert the President into this toxic situation. Why is it that IDP's are always considered a Kibaki problem? Weren't they created by the PEV caused by Odinga's lust for power? Why haven't you asked why the President is handling the issue alone? What about the defeaning silence of Odinga and ODM on the IDP's? Your support of Odinga is showing.

#

Submitted by lubumbashi
Posted November 24,2009 04:13 AM

You are very right Mr. Gaitho. Especially some hyenas in the current leadership,always too timid to kill a prey for meat,but once the meat is ready they jump in through every opening. The same hyenas never questioned the authoritarian regime of Moi. Infact they were Moi's attack dogs when reformists fought for change. But once the battle was worn,they wasted no time to jump in. Today one of them claims that 'NARC was formed in my hotel room. They are now taking cover while PM is fighting alone. Watch them when the job is done.

#

Submitted by EddieMu
Posted November 24,2009 04:04 AM

Kenyan politicians are a CURSE to our country!!

#

Submitted by musyokaj
Posted November 24,2009 02:43 AM

If there is any of our senior politicians who thinks,imagines or dreams of using the Mau issue to dicredit anybody in the near or distant future. They should freeze on their tracks. Kenyans are watching and listening. Just dare and you become history

#

Submitted by KORYEMA
Posted November 24,2009 02:06 AM

The cabinet is full of sycophants and opportunists.Look smone like Kalonzo he was quick to endorse the reappointment of Ringera but now he cannot talk steadfastly about Mau,he's a fence sitter.Uhuru and Ruto are birds of the same feathers.If doing the right thing is what will cost Raila votes,let it be.

#

Submitted by weda
Posted November 24,2009 02:04 AM

Those politicians opposed to the restoration of mau forest may not return to parliament come 2012. Odinga have the support of majority of kenyans and we know he is doing this not for political gain but common sense.Macharia why dont you run an opinion poll on this issue?

#

Submitted by mza
Posted November 24,2009 01:55 AM

Kibaki did his bit before the elections. Raila and co. capitalised on this and castigated him for 'inhumane' treatment of squatters. I was waiting to see how people being evicted from their homes would come out singing and dancing!

#

Submitted by maugo1234
Posted November 24,2009 01:22 AM

Reclaim our water catchment areas and not succumb to cheap political threats or calculation for votes. The silence speaks to political calculation. Ruto said he held talks with Uhuru and Kibaki. Were it not for PEV IDPs some of these leaders would have come out to suspend the eviction. They cannot do it because some of the PEV are in camps,were not allowed to return to their lands by these kale mp warriors and some have relocated. They are in a fix. I dont remember these mps calling for suspension of displacements,murder and rape during PEV.

#

Submitted by SimbaMarara
Posted November 24,2009 01:08 AM

For once there is a voice of reason coming out of this media house in the past so many years! Macharia couldn't have hit the nail of it red hot head with this balanced piece of scribing! RV MPs can rant and rave all they want,but let the PM not be intimidated,but rather stand firm like a tree by the riverside.

#

Submitted by tomiko
Posted November 24,2009 01:03 AM

Gaitho,too right. They are setting up Raila for a thud,I only hope Kenyans have wisened up and can read between the lines. God bless Kenya

#

Submitted by jacmuchie
Posted November 24,2009 12:46 AM

Macharia It can never be better said than this! The sole problem we have in Kenya is a sheer lack of visionary leaders. The PM comes out as a man bold enough to tell off pettiness and selfish motives and we must all support him in redefining the Kenyan political landscape. Raila should remember that Abraham Lincoln risked his second term in Office and ultimately paid the price with his own life,but he saved the Union from collapse. This earned him admiration from allover the world and even if dead,he still lives amongst his many fans.

#

Submitted by bgombey
Posted November 24,2009 12:29 AM

I cannot agree with you more. We need to hear Kibaki's voice,the 2 DPMs and Kalanzo.

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
Thano
#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 12:27:00 PM

Raila is the man...COME 2012..

Rid mau of this menace......

Kalonzo,Uhuru,ETC ARE JUST BUT OPPORTUNISTS............

How sad..Kenyans are watching you..
Jacob Zuma
#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 12:40:00 PM

Mcreggae and Thano

sorry to say this but you should always be able to separate the ideal from the realRaila will politically. Kenya's politics is not about ideologies,beliefes,its about tribes,tribal groupings,exclusivity and such backward issues.

unfortunately,he seem to have forgotten that. He can barely survive without ruto and his vote,unless he face a very weask ad disgragmented candidate.

Let him not sit and dream that good good will alone from those who are grateful for his enviromental heroism will save him

kibaki made the same mistake,he thought that economic development will take him back to statehouse. it was too late ( or almost too late,depending on which side of the 2007 results you group you believe won)

anyway,God has funny ways of working on us kenyans. He may actually look at the son of Odinga's heart and see hwo genuine he is and reward him.

but in my opinion,Raila's chance went away with the wind in dec 2007.

it will take a super miracle for him to get back to such,unless katiba mpya makes it easy for him.

he better revert back to his old role of King Maker and stop being a mtaftaji wa urais,cos i do not see him there. Not with the way he is walking

I am Not Him,I am in No Way related to Him,I am related to Jesus though
B.Timer
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 1:01:00 PM

@Thano

If we were to use single issues to vet who is good for state house then yes.

Mau is a national issue handled by the ministry of Forest and that of Environment. Wekesa and Michuki.

They never said they were incapable or did they!

In his wisdom Raila chose to make it his pet subject!

By the way nothing of this magnitude would ever happen without Kibakis blessing.

The uniformed forces who propmted the squaters to move out could not be deployed there without Kibakis nod. Raila relies on Kibaki's goodwill to carry out this job so it is not true to say that Kibaki is not doing anything.

Every body else have their own way of going about their business. There are those who play to the gallery and there are those who work quietly.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
mogash
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 1:09:00 PM

let vp be informed that he cannot use shortcuts to statehouse. one has to climb valleys and mountains to reach there. RAO has done it so it is time for to go to state house. RAO is the man to beat come 2012 he has proved to be the right guy for that seat.

Life at the beast is very short...........
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 1:26:00 PM

...Come on guys. If I remember very well,in my school days there was a section in the English Language paper called SUMMARY. Why do you have have to post such long responses? Posting the article is OK ( though it can be summarised and just provide us with a web link) . But a response of pages is a no for me....
The General
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 2:51:00 PM

@ Jacob Zuma & B.Timer,

Don't want the PM getting any credit huh..

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
B.Timer
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 3:23:00 PM

@General

It is more helpful to challenge positions taken by offering your considered intellectual input. What you have just treated us to is difficult to work with.

And yes Raila does merit some credit on this.

My only worry is the almost religious fascination with the guy as though he were solely to thank for any success registered.

Again there will always be some occupational hazards to contend with,hence Raila should be content to deal with the pop ups related to Mau evictions.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
Phaoro
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 5:11:00 PM

I commend Raila for sticking to his guns on the Mau issue. Destruction of the Mau could be catastrophic,rivers and lakes will dry up,hydroelectricity,agriculture and tourism will directly be affected,GDP will tank,unemployment will be astronomical,Food shortage will be unprecedented,under such conditions,vision 2030 will be a non starter...need I go on. We will only be left with a smoldering earth while our leaders fight for power while grouping us in tribal blocks.

Marriages are made in heaven. But so are thunder and lightning.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, January 13, 2015 12:38:57 PM

The company you keep says quite a bout you!

One who springs to mind is Machakos Senator “Gemstone” Muthama, a most unpolished stone whom I remain convinced lost Mr Odinga a few thousand votes every time he took to the podium at the 2013 presidential election campaigns

Then there is Mr Odinga’s brother, nominated MP Oburu Oginga. One would think that by virtue of his age, experience, and education, Dr Oginga is a wise and reasonable man. On Saturday we were treated to another picture when he used the sombre occasion to launch uncalled-for attacks against Fidel’s divorced first wife.

Ditto President Kenyatta. He too is surrounded by all types of venal characters who undermine his claim to running a clean government.

One cannot pretend innocence if surrounded by thugs and bullies who love nothing more than to project their access to State House and to show off wealth of doubtful origin.

A thugocracy can never pass for a democracy.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2015 8:50:01 PM

bullseye!