wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

Media Council of Kenya v/s Classic FM
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 9:49:20 PM

I don't know who was listening to Classic FM on Tuesday morning but the boys are in a wee bit of trouble - like again!

Who heard what was said? Lakini sasaaa, one of the callers requested the presenters to extend the topic to another day so that the discussion could go on.
http://www.africareview.com/New...9180/1322998/-/tft7mm/-/

#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 9:52:14 PM

Hope MCK win this one...that stations needs to regulate content..
TiggerTiggy
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 10:11:00 PM

@muganda i did. some lady called-in claiming her hubby requests for some back door action. she claimed if she didnt give it to him, he'd go get it elsewhere. she further claimed her lady friends do the same. was overboard really.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 10:34:13 PM

TiggerTiggy wrote:
@muganda i did. some lady called-in claiming her hubby requests for some back door action. she claimed if she didnt give it to him, he'd go get it elsewhere. she further claimed her lady friends do the same. was overboard really.

its right for KTN to talk about boot specialization but wrong for CLassic to talk about it
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 10:38:35 PM

good move.
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Lucid_Iam
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 8:04:15 AM

carygoh wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:

its right for KTN to talk about boot specialization but wrong for CLassic to talk about it

Why do people listen to this show anyway. Is stopped when I bought my own car. I pity those who must use public transport and are forced to listen to Classic. You can't also compare Classic and KTN. One is vulgar and explicit going by the post by TiggerTiggy and the other informative on the same issue. One is aired at 10pm and the other 8am. Why has it taken MCK this long to act.
#7 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 8:34:57 AM

carygoh wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:

@carygoh, I think it is about the timing, for Classic, this was done in the afternoon while for KTN, they warned guys well in advance for about 1 - 2 weeks, and aired it past 9am.
#8 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 9:13:13 AM

TiggerTiggy wrote:

No! No! No!

The discussion was whether prostitutes are in it by choice or by circumstances. It was triggered by Nairobi Mayor's response to reports that he had intentions to create "red-light" districts.

Maina maintained that prostitutes are in it by choice. He also maintained that mpango-wa-kando women are prostitutes because they have sex with married men for money knowing full well that the men will never leave their wives for them.

He encouraged mpango-wa-kando women to call in and share their opinions. Several did call-in and some agreed with him [that they can be defined as prostitutes] while others didn't. One said she is a mpango-wa-kando for four men and one of the men is an MP!

The final caller was a lady who said that all women are prostitutes! her argument was that sex is a transaction of give and take. Even those in marriage have sex with their husbands for material gain - housing etc!

I didn't think it was overboard - there has been worse. I think some one's mpango-wa-kando called in and he felt ashamed.... the guilty are afraid you know.

TiggerTiggy
#9 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 9:26:07 AM

time will tell which discussion got classic in trouble.
seppuku
#10 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 9:38:53 AM

mukiha wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:

No! No! No!

The discussion was whether prostitutes are in it by choice or by circumstances. It was triggered by Nairobi Mayor's response to reports that he had intentions to create "red-light" districts.

Maina maintained that prostitutes are in it by choice. He also maintained that mpango-wa-kando women are prostitutes because they have sex with married men for money knowing full well that the men will never leave their wives for them.

He encouraged mpango-wa-kando women to call in and share their opinions. Several did call-in and some agreed with him [that they can be defined as prostitutes] while others didn't. One said she is a mpango-wa-kando for four men and one of the men is an MP!

The final caller was a lady who said that all women are prostitutes! her argument was that sex is a transaction of give and take. Even those in marriage have sex with their husbands for material gain - housing etc!

I didn't think it was overboard - there has been worse. I think some one's mpango-wa-kando called in and he felt ashamed.... the guilty are afraid you know.

Really? Going on and on about married women being no better than prostitutes is not overboard? There very possibly were married, respectable women riding in a mat with their teenage sons and having to listen to that foolishness. To discuss sex, let alone anal sex, at 9am on the radio is not gross? Come on people! And these people who supposedly call in, are we sure it is not purely stage managed so that we can all be fooled into thinking it is the norm? Surely, those two fellows can be entertaining without being so goddamn lewd! Fry them, MCK.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#11 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 9:53:14 AM

seppuku wrote:
mukiha wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:

No! No! No!

Really? Going on and on about married women being no better than prostitutes is not overboard? There very possibly were married, respectable women riding in a mat with their teenage sons and having to listen to that foolishness. To discuss sex, let alone anal sex, at 9am on the radio is not gross? Come on people! And these people who supposedly call in, are we sure it is not purely stage managed so that we can all be fooled into thinking it is the norm? Surely, those two fellows can be entertaining without being so goddamn lewd! Fry them, MCK.

Yes, Seppuku. In the morning, as you sit in the vehicle or any place for that matter, that is an opportune time to plan your day, to get in the right frame of mind in order to boost productivity at your present employment, where ever / whatever that may be.

The last thing I want is to start filling my mind with lewd stuff just one or two hours immediately after getting up.

That is bad breakfast.
#12 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 10:02:39 AM

seppuku wrote:
mukiha wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:

No! No! No!

Sorry; I hadn't thought about it in that context. I agree, the timing is completely wrong.
#13 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 10:04:43 AM

mukiha wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:

No! No! No!

Ditto!
Even me I didnt hear anything overboard.
That woman who said all women having sex with men are prostitutes left me thinking hard.
I think she has a point.
Look at this;you only Nyapong' from wifey after providing things like housing,food,school fees,in-laws etc....similarly you get to land in Koinange after forking out money for literally the same items>food,rents,medication etc.
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

#14 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 10:05:13 AM

In addition: the Kiswahili homework for my son yesterday was to listen to the 7pm news and write down five things covered. So we tuned to NTV [as usual] and guess what was the first item on the news? Gay/lesbian activities in boarding schools!
#15 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 10:05:38 AM

YesuWangu wrote:
seppuku wrote:
mukiha wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:

No! No! No!

Yes, Seppuku. In the morning, as you sit in the vehicle or any place for that matter, that is an opportune time to plan your day, to get in the right frame of mind in order to boost productivity at your present employment, where ever / whatever that may be.

The last thing I want is to start filling my mind with lewd stuff just one or two hours immediately after getting up.

That is bad breakfast.

Lazima wa-tow the line....unless you can implement parental controls on radio - that program has to go or change! We are not animals! there are some who want clean airwaves and want to control what their children are listening too. if they can put parental guidance on TV....Kwa nini vipindi za redio asubuhi hazina control? I remember Oyunga Pala had some program usiku (kama saa tano) on radio for such stuff - that's fine BUT MORNING?
#16 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 10:47:59 AM

They escaped when they played that clip of a woman begging for sex. Wouldn't mind if they were punished for a less severe sin. Very embarassing when you're seated in a mat with your guka.
wilyum
#17 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 10:54:39 AM

i thot i heard it's the muturi clip that they played.

THE CLIP
Kirika
#18 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 10:59:38 AM

mukiha wrote:
In addition: the Kiswahili homework for my son yesterday was to listen to the 7pm news and write down five things covered. So we tuned to NTV [as usual] and guess what was the first item on the news? Gay/lesbian activities in boarding schools!

Honestly, one wonders whether to be irritated or to be pitifull with our media..
#19 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 11:00:14 AM

I was for banning them but now, I think Kenyans deserve everything they get.

Wacha wakae humo humo until Kenyans walk to that station and make it close down. Media council is as useless as its name sounds.

If all you hear is pine trees and sphincters, its probably what you want to hear anyway.

The rest of us will never tune in to that station so we don't know what you're talking about.
subzero
#20 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 12:02:35 PM

now, isn't the media council a 'self regulatory' team? made up of people from the media?

i doubt their will to implement anything, if they had, stern action would have been taken long ago

Classic 105 went overboard years ago not yesterday