New Age Driving
#21 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2012 9:41:20 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
The new rule in Nairobi seems to be
a)'the idiot with the bigger car has the right of way!'
b) All GK vehicles are exempt from following traffic rules
c) Cash carrying vehicles and their chase cars should never stop
d) All "senior" govt officers are always late!
e) Matatus can use any lane in the roundabout to go wherever they so please with or without traffic officers presence
f) Probox vehicles have no brakes so just give them way when they get close
g) Mkokotenis have right of way even if the road should only have motorized vehicles
h) riders have a right to crisscross your lane and knock your side mirrors all they wish.

BY the way, I was once shocked to see a traffic officer chewing Miraa while controlling traffic at the Haile Selassie / U Highway roundabout....

so true
#22 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 7:36:29 AM

seppuku wrote:
another courteous 'driving manners' i used to observe seated next to my dad backk in the days..
If you indicated you want to overtake a vehicle infront of you.. the driver would be kind enough to communicate if its all clear or you should wait..

Left indicator meaning 'tuliza boli, ngoja kidogo, wacha haraka, kaa pande yako naniii!..There is a car coming...'
Right indicator ' Haya enda sasa... mambo shwari, Go! enjoy your trip'

Nowdays you just see cars 'chomoaing' head then kanarudi lane.. the car infront not bothered to warn or give a clear sign.....

or that one was taught in the old syllabus

The other way round, I think. Or was it in the DRC where they drive on the right?

Agree @seppuku, if in kenya the opposite of pounds post suffices!!!!

I only see these things at night. Quite useful, especially on the highways without 'street lights'.
wasee
#23 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 8:33:06 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
Haya!....Masomo ya bure ndio hiyo!

5.An overtaking driver heading your way and he puts his full lights on as if you are the one on the wrong!....Hi nini sasa?

@Gathee... you should know people!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

hahahaha Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause LOL
wasee
#24 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 8:57:05 AM

seppuku wrote:
Kihangeri wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
Your were taught wrong on No. 2.

You should indicate right when entering a r/about with intention of turning right. Then indicate left when exiting the r/about.

If you intend to go left, then indicate left when entering r/about.

If you intend to go straight on, then no indication when entering but indicate left when exiting.

Which Driving School did you go to man? Approaching a roundabout demands you stick to your lane where the lane demarcation is continous. So no changing lanes and thus no need to indicated anything as all drivers already know your intentions. You are also not supposed to change lanes once inside the round about. The lane you took while approaching the round about takes you to your preferred exit lane. But some idiots do not understand this rule of lane maintainance. That is the only time you use an exit signal just incase someone is not familiar with the lanes rule or is retarded.

@Kihangeri, I think you are ignoring the fact that once you get in through some lanes you have more than one option. In that case, the guy behind you has no way of telling which option you will take - hence the need to indicate accordingly. Basically you're telling other drivers one of the following:

a) I am not done going round the circle yet (if indicating right)

b) I am done going round the circle now and so I am exiting here (if indicating left)

You all have valid points.

I think the reason why people indicate on round-about is because the traffic rules are not properly followed by all drivers {have you been to uhuru highway and seen the lane those trucks use as they move towards westlands....Its absolutely wrong!!} hence a need to indicate to warn the other drivers on where/turn you are taking. If all drivers approached the round-about in their correct lanes there would be no need to use the indicator in the round-about since you would exit into the correct outlet/lane.
chiaroscuro
#25 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 10:42:00 AM

Kihangeri wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
Your were taught wrong on No. 2.

You should indicate right when entering a r/about with intention of turning right. Then indicate left when exiting the r/about.

If you intend to go left, then indicate left when entering r/about.

If you intend to go straight on, then no indication when entering but indicate left when exiting.

Which Driving School did you go to man? Approaching a roundabout demands you stick to your lane where the lane demarcation is continous. So no changing lanes and thus no need to indicated anything as all drivers already know your intentions. You are also not supposed to change lanes once inside the round about. The lane you took while approaching the round about takes you to your preferred exit lane. But some idiots do not understand this rule of lane maintainance. That is the only time you use an exit signal just incase someone is not familiar with the lanes rule or is retarded.

My dad's; 1981. Took the test in 1982 when they used to test everything including 3-point-turns [without touching the kerb], hill-starts and about 10km of city driving...

Now our highway code is based on the British one and this is what it says in rule 186:

Signals and position.

When taking the first exit to the left, unless signs or markings indicate otherwise, signal left and approach in the left-hand lane; keep to the left on the roundabout and continue signalling left to leave

When taking an exit to the right or going full circle, unless signs or markings indicate otherwise, signal right and approach in the right-hand lane keep to the right on the roundabout until you need to change lanes to exit the roundabout; signal left after you have passed the exit before the one you want.

LINK: http://www.direct.gov.uk...t/Highwaycode/DG_070338

chiaroscuro
#26 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 10:45:34 AM

#27 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 10:47:05 AM

Guys, Have you ever realized that 90% of Traffic Officers are not licenced to drive? Yes they know the highway and Traffic laws, but ask them for a driver's Licence......
#28 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 2:16:21 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:

Mr. read your italized paragraphs again and look at the picture you ahve posted here very well. If you notice, the writings say clearly "unless markings indicate otherwise" or something like that... and the photo you have posted, there are not markings on the roundabout hence the need to indicate. however, on kenyan roads, the markings are there (if it has not rained and the chalk washed off) and it clearly indicates there is no overtaking as it is a continuous line. It does not matter whether someone is behind you since they arent supposed to be overtaking anyway and hence, you can move whichever direction you take without obstructing anyone (and that's assuming you are following the lane rules). this is with the assumption that the roundabout is clear (which was supposed to be the case). However, if you are on our kenyan roads with our kenyan drivers, if you indicate you are damned, if you dont you are damned more! so just do whatever everybody is doing and you will be just fine.
#29 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 8:42:06 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:

Mr. read your italized paragraphs again and look at the picture you ahve posted here very well. If you notice, the writings say clearly "unless markings indicate otherwise" or something like that... and the photo you have posted, there are not markings on the roundabout hence the need to indicate. however, on kenyan roads, the markings are there (if it has not rained and the chalk washed off) and it clearly indicates there is no overtaking as it is a continuous line. It does not matter whether someone is behind you since they arent supposed to be overtaking anyway and hence, you can move whichever direction you take without obstructing anyone (and that's assuming you are following the lane rules). this is with the assumption that the roundabout is clear (which was supposed to be the case). However, if you are on our kenyan roads with our kenyan drivers, if you indicate you are damned, if you dont you are damned more! so just do whatever everybody is doing and you will be just fine.

@Wendz; Kweli kizungu ni ngumu....

@chiaroscuro is right. Where it says "unless markings indicate otherwise", the meaning is, "unless markings tell you not to do the things in that rule". That is, unless markings tell you not to indicate, or not to stay in a particular lane!

Now have you ever seen such markings on Kenyan roads?

#30 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 8:46:06 AM

And while on the subject of driving: what sort of test do they give these days? 3 years ago, a colleague went for the test and he told me that he only drove for about 50m... didn't even get time to engage gear 2 and the cop shouted "haya, shuka tukutane kwa ofisi" The guy thought he had failed... only to be surprised with a certificate of competence.

It is a complete sham!
seppuku
#31 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 9:06:41 AM

mukiha wrote:
And while on the subject of driving: what sort of test do they give these days? 3 years ago, a colleague went for the test and he told me that he only drove for about 50m... didn't even get time to engage gear 2 and the cop shouted "haya, shuka tukutane kwa ofisi" The guy thought he had failed... only to be surprised with a certificate of competence.

It is a complete sham!

Nothing has changed. In fact they announce to all the students before the test, "Na mtu asifunge mshipi. Hiyo wakati hakuna hapa!" When I was taking my test, sitting in the back of a truck awaiting my turn, I witnessed two young girls who were grinding the gears like crazy - and that was just fine by the cop. They passed their test. Here in this country, how good a driver you become is your personal responsibility. Government does nothing to protect you from yourself.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
Ondiek
#32 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 9:17:32 AM

mukiha wrote:

It is a complete sham!

How many do the tests? There are driving schools that guarantee one a driving licence thus no need to even appear for the test.
#33 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 9:28:56 AM

Ondiek wrote:
mukiha wrote:

It is a complete sham!

How many do the tests? There are driving schools that guarantee one a driving licence thus no need to even appear for the test.

I honestly think that we should do away with the police test and leave it to driving schools to ascertain a learner's competence. Then have the name of the school written on the license.

Whenever an accident occurs, the schools of the drivers involved are recorded. Then every month, the traffic police will publish a summary of accidents and driving schools concerned. That way, the public will know the quarks.
#34 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 9:31:12 AM

deleted: double-post