wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

Changing my names
wilyum
#1 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 10:13:01 AM

Goodday wazuans,

i happen to have a name tht i dont lyk, n would like to change it, how is the process for this?

can KNEC also change the names tht appear on my certificates?
hw ernomous is this task?

i wanna change my name coz my original was mispelt and nid to get bck my name.
#2 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 10:54:08 AM

wilyum wrote:
Goodday wazuans,

i happen to have a name tht i dont lyk, n would like to change it, how is the process for this?

I have a buddy who changed his as in he did it just to drop his baptism name because he felt that having an English name was kasumba ya ukoloni. Anyways,the process took long but apparently what they give you is a document showing that you are the same person as appears on all other documents...
#3 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 10:56:16 AM

wilyum wrote:
Goodday wazuans,

Deed Poll.
wilyum
#4 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 12:18:49 PM

wilyum wrote:
Goodday wazuans,

I have a buddy who changed his as in he did it just to drop his baptism name because he felt that having an English name was kasumba ya ukoloni. Anyways,the process took long but apparently what they give you is a document showing that you are the same person as appears on all other documents...

thanks, does it mean, the names will still appear as they r currently and not change completely?
#5 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 12:57:42 PM

Prince Rogers Nelson
Prince
The artist formerly known as Prince
The artist without a name
chiaroscuro
#6 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 1:41:54 PM

wilyum wrote:
Goodday wazuans,

What's in a name?

Orpah was mispelt OPRAH; now see how far she has gone with it...
wilyum
#7 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 2:10:59 PM

wilyum wrote:
Goodday wazuans,

What's in a name?

r u helping ama not? u cant understand!
Thiong'o
#8 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 2:57:43 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:
wilyum wrote:
Goodday wazuans,

What's in a name?

@ chiaroscuro, you just arrived recently, WELCOME

@ wilyum
It is called an affidavit
You swear, then all the names become yours.
Look for a lawyer.
again.. What's in a name?
Didn’t you hear the rumor.. that the daughter of Mbeki is called HATO?
kiriita
#9 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 3:13:21 PM

wilyum wrote:
Goodday wazuans,

@Wilyum, so your name ought to have been William, huh?smile

Anyway, like @ Elder says, the answer is a Deed Poll. In other words, get a lawyer to do one for you. And yeah, I believe you can change your names completely e.g. from Francis Wanjohi to Farah Mo Maalim, etc.
wilyum
#10 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 3:42:34 PM

wilyum wrote:
Goodday wazuans,

Anyway, like @ Elder says, the answer is a Deed Poll. In other words, get a lawyer to do one for you. And yeah, I believe you can change your names completely e.g. from Francis Wanjohi to Farah Mo Maalim, etc.

@ kiriita, kitu kama hiyo ,thanks for tht,atleast,lemi try tht
#11 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 9:25:14 PM

wilyum wrote:
Goodday wazuans,

Change your name if you will. Your certificates wont be changed but the name change will be gazetted and the gazette notice is available so your bank, employer, school will have access to the info on your name change.
TiggerTiggy
#12 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 3:02:09 PM

makadara MP wants to officially change his name to Mike Sonko. link the star corridors section
#13 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 3:07:46 PM

Euge wrote:
wilyum wrote:
Goodday wazuans,

Change your name if you will. Your certificates wont be changed but the name change will be gazetted and the gazette notice is available so your bank, employer, school will have access to the info on your name change.

If my official papers and certs wont change so what is the advantage?
Every-time you like apply to a new job and you are told the papers are fake.
What about being issued with a new ID and fasfort?

specky
#14 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 4:07:27 PM

@wilyum,just like impunity says,if i were you i would think and think very hard before going for the name change...i can imagine you having applied for a job and people have to keep on reffering to your several papers for your real name and when it comes to the bank issues dont even mention it,who knows your cash could go missing just becoz of an error.....this is kenya my friend things just go missing...i suggets you keep your name just as it is,after all,hakuna jina hailei mtoto
#15 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 4:53:46 PM

specky wrote:
@wilyum,just like impunity says,if i were you i would think and think very hard before going for the name change...i can imagine you having applied for a job and people have to keep on reffering to your several papers for your real name and when it comes to the bank issues dont even mention it,who knows your cash could go missing just becoz of an error.....this is kenya my friend things just go missing...i suggets you keep your name just as it is,after all,hakuna jina hailei mtoto

The answer is deed poll. This ensures that the person changing his/her name (Identity) is identified as the former as well as the later identity. Fraud and ID theft are a common feature now a days. Figure these:
Joginder Singh Quincy Zuma Timberlake
Rogers Neo Roggi Rogern Branson

The deep poll is a cumbersome process that involves gazetment of the names and searing of affidavits. Thereafter A.K.A becomes a common middle feature in your series of names for avoidance of doubt. However, most documents issued in the previous names never change e.g certificate of birth the names remain as were given by parents at time of birth. Education certificates also don't change since the person issued the certificate was known by the former identity. Kitambulisho may change.
wilyum
#16 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 4:59:08 PM

@rahatupu,thts an eye opener.lemi weigh my options
#17 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 5:01:34 PM

Heard that Mike Sonko changed his name from Gideon Mbuvi.
@wilyum ama wewe ni Mike sonko?
wilyum
#18 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 5:08:32 PM

Heard that Mike Sonko changed his name from Gideon Mbuvi.
@wilyum ama wewe ni Mike sonko?

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Drunkard
#19 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 11:25:42 PM

if Dick cheney or Tyson Gay didn't change their name, why would I bother to change mine, my name is Drunkard 10k Rollout, call me Drunkard if you're my friend, call me 10K if you're my family or Rollout for business.

@Wilyum, is your name something like Nataka Kumamoto?
#20 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2012 9:54:01 AM

wilyum wrote:
Goodday wazuans,

@ kiriita, kitu kama hiyo ,thanks for tht,atleast,lemi try tht

While at it, I hope you do not have a kid who carries the name you are changing because it will give them grief in future!

My advise, change before you have wilyumlets who will carry the name! If not, keep those documents very very safely.