wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

New Age Driving
#1 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 2:30:22 PM

Good people,

Please enlighten me on the following habits I have been seeing of lat eon the roads of this city,,

1) Ambulance with lights flickering and all indicators flashing and headlights on but no Siren.... Is this an emergency, semi emergency or fashion?

2) Drivers indicating right when they join a roundabout.. Back in the day, we were taught that once you are in the roundabout, you are assumed to be going round until you Indicate LEFT to exit the roundabout.

3) Hearses flashing red and blue lights? What is the emergency there, si the guy is dead already? By the way, I thought Gen Ali had outlawed this!

4) Hooting immediately the lights turn green. Why?
FancyFace
#2 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 2:38:25 PM

number 4 is the most annoying..we need like AA(alcoholic anonymus) for this terrible habit

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
chiaroscuro
#3 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 2:48:35 PM

Your were taught wrong on No. 2.

You should indicate right when entering a r/about with intention of turning right. Then indicate left when exiting the r/about.

If you intend to go left, then indicate left when entering r/about.

If you intend to go straight on, then no indication when entering but indicate left when exiting.
#4 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 2:55:38 PM

You were taught wrong on No.1.

The siren comes on ONLY when the driver determines that his lights (flashing and all) have not caught your attention. And when he engages the siren, it is only for as long as required to get your attention.
#5 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 3:08:57 PM

Haya!....Masomo ya bure ndio hiyo!

5.An overtaking driver heading your way and he puts his full lights on as if you are the one on the wrong!....Hi nini sasa?
#6 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 3:34:35 PM

5.An overtaking driver heading your way and he puts his full lights on as if you are the one on the wrong!....Hi nini sasa?

@Gathee... you should know people!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#7 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 3:41:15 PM

@Bwenyenye,
You mean all those are acquintances?.Jinga mimi!What am i supposed to do when they flash?
#8 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 3:48:58 PM

@Bwenyenye,
You mean all those are acquintances?.Jinga mimi!What am i supposed to do when they flash?

Unless you want your nose pinched and a gun shoved @ youknowhere... just politely get your car off the road and wave and smile hard when they pass....Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#9 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 3:50:40 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
You were taught wrong on No.1.

The siren comes on ONLY when the driver determines that his lights (flashing and all) have not caught your attention. And when he engages the siren, it is only for as long as required to get your attention.

Boss read the Traffic Act... it talks of a siren... not flashing lights and accompaniments.Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Kihangeri
#10 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 4:05:40 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:

You should indicate right when entering a r/about with intention of turning right. Then indicate left when exiting the r/about.

If you intend to go straight on, then no indication when entering but indicate left when exiting.

Which Driving School did you go to man? Approaching a roundabout demands you stick to your lane where the lane demarcation is continous. So no changing lanes and thus no need to indicated anything as all drivers already know your intentions. You are also not supposed to change lanes once inside the round about. The lane you took while approaching the round about takes you to your preferred exit lane. But some idiots do not understand this rule of lane maintainance. That is the only time you use an exit signal just incase someone is not familiar with the lanes rule or is retarded.
By inference, the man is all that Mr Phantom is not: an untrustworthy radical, divisive, too many enemies, a dictator, and a persistent liar...
Gaitho dialogues.

Kihangeri
#11 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 4:08:35 PM

He assumes the headlights will prevent an accident by Magic. However, you are advised to slow down if you see such an oncoming car as something might have gone wrong, i.e. no brakes, the car being overtaken has refused to be overtaken and thus things are thick, the car is stolen etc. So, all in all, give way instead of sticking to your lane but finding yourself in hospital or dead.
By inference, the man is all that Mr Phantom is not: an untrustworthy radical, divisive, too many enemies, a dictator, and a persistent liar...
Gaitho dialogues.

#12 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 4:11:39 PM

@Bwenyenye,

Kweli Kenya ina wenyewe.Kwanza they have no regard for Vitz and it's cousinsBrick wall .I'll get off the road from now on alright but i'll invest in a couple of heat seeking missilesSad .
#13 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 4:28:54 PM

Kihangeri wrote:

He assumes the headlights will prevent an accident by Magic. However, you are advised to slow down if you see such an oncoming car as something might have gone wrong, i.e. no brakes, the car being overtaken has refused to be overtaken and thus things are thick, the car is stolen etc. So, all in all, give way instead of sticking to your lane but finding yourself in hospital or dead.

Ni gari gani hizi huwa zinakataa to be overtaken??
seppuku
#14 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 4:39:19 PM

Kihangeri wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:

Which Driving School did you go to man? Approaching a roundabout demands you stick to your lane where the lane demarcation is continous. So no changing lanes and thus no need to indicated anything as all drivers already know your intentions. You are also not supposed to change lanes once inside the round about. The lane you took while approaching the round about takes you to your preferred exit lane. But some idiots do not understand this rule of lane maintainance. That is the only time you use an exit signal just incase someone is not familiar with the lanes rule or is retarded.

@Kihangeri, I think you are ignoring the fact that once you get in through some lanes you have more than one option. In that case, the guy behind you has no way of telling which option you will take - hence the need to indicate accordingly. Basically you're telling other drivers one of the following:

a) I am not done going round the circle yet (if indicating right)

b) I am done going round the circle now and so I am exiting here (if indicating left)
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#15 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 4:45:55 PM

@Seppuku,
AiiiiH!!...Omera!...A roundabout is not a practice zone.I must have attended the same school with Bwenyenye.Once inside a roundabout,you cannot change lanes (But in Kenya you may.kwani wata-DO?).If it's your mistake,you let it take you wherever.You can always come back later.Preferably wiser.
seppuku
#16 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 4:59:14 PM

@Seppuku,
AiiiiH!!...Omera!...A roundabout is not a practice zone.I must have attended the same school with Bwenyenye.Once inside a roundabout,you cannot change lanes (But in Kenya you may.kwani wata-DO?).If it's your mistake,you let it take you wherever.You can always come back later.Preferably wiser.

Hehehe! @Njung'e, I didn't mean going round the circle in the way you seem to have understood it. Perhaps I should have said the arc, instead. Now, take a look at this, especially the animation. You will see what I am saying.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2012 2:42:10 PM

another courteous 'driving manners' i used to observe seated next to my dad backk in the days..
If you indicated you want to overtake a vehicle infront of you.. the driver would be kind enough to communicate if its all clear or you should wait..

Left indicator meaning 'tuliza boli, ngoja kidogo, wacha haraka, kaa pande yako naniii!..There is a car coming...'
Right indicator ' Haya enda sasa... mambo shwari, Go! enjoy your trip'

Nowdays you just see cars 'chomoaing' head then kanarudi lane.. the car infront not bothered to warn or give a clear sign.....

or that one was taught in the old syllabus
seppuku
#18 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2012 3:10:07 PM

another courteous 'driving manners' i used to observe seated next to my dad backk in the days..
If you indicated you want to overtake a vehicle infront of you.. the driver would be kind enough to communicate if its all clear or you should wait..

Left indicator meaning 'tuliza boli, ngoja kidogo, wacha haraka, kaa pande yako naniii!..There is a car coming...'

Nowdays you just see cars 'chomoaing' head then kanarudi lane.. the car infront not bothered to warn or give a clear sign.....

The other way round, I think. Or was it in the DRC where they drive on the right?
#19 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2012 3:20:03 PM

seppuku wrote:

The other way round, I think. Or was it in the DRC where they drive on the right?

Agree @seppuku, if in kenya the opposite of pounds post suffices!!!!
#20 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2012 3:45:52 PM

The new rule in Nairobi seems to be
a)'the idiot with the bigger car has the right of way!'
b) All GK vehicles are exempt from following traffic rules
c) Cash carrying vehicles and their chase cars should never stop
d) All "senior" govt officers are always late!
e) Matatus can use any lane in the roundabout to go wherever they so please with or without traffic officers presence
f) Probox vehicles have no brakes so just give them way when they get close
g) Mkokotenis have right of way even if the road should only have motorized vehicles
h) riders have a right to crisscross your lane and knock your side mirrors all they wish.

BY the way, I was once shocked to see a traffic officer chewing Miraa while controlling traffic at the Haile Selassie / U Highway roundabout....