wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

17 Pages«<34567>»
How did you make your first Kes million?
QW25071985
#81 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2011 9:53:27 PM

luttz wrote:
@ Barrywhite, Quite impressive. Excellent idea giving back to the community. I also love your vision/focus.

I made my first million almost 5 years ago. I had started applying to International jobs in 2002 and never gave up until late 2006 when I got the first feedback inviting me for an interview. Was offered the job, took up the challenge, crossed borders and embraced the risks hence my first pay check 1.3m. Planning for retirement in the next 2 years to focus on family business and charity

you earn 1.3m and you are so fast in retiring ?????
if i were you i would hold onto that position untill i cannt..
jaribu
#82 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 2:17:05 PM

"Being poor is eternal but being broke is temporary.."

Here is an interesting article that YOU must read if you want to be rich: "Ten Decisions You Need to Make to Get Rich" By Robert Kiyosaki the famous author of international best seller "Rich Dad Poor Dad"

http://getmotivation.com...ions-Robert-Kiyosaki.htm
Ali Baba
#83 Posted : Sunday, August 28, 2011 8:43:12 PM

I made my first million by growing bhang secretly on aberdares....
Cde Monomotapa
#84 Posted : Sunday, August 28, 2011 9:16:02 PM

[quote=jaribu]"Being poor is eternal but being broke is temporary.."

Here is an interesting article that YOU must read if you want to be rich: "Ten Decisions You Need to Make to Get Rich" By Robert Kiyosaki the famous author of international best seller "Rich Dad Poor Dad"

http://getmotivation.com...ons-Robert-Kiyosaki.htm[/quote]
Cheers. Always good to go back to Financial Management Basics 101 every so often.
Afroblk
#85 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 7:06:02 AM

Haven't made the mil yet but I will next year...have reserved 500k to buy stocks at a bargain. we have some really good counters at the moment. Equity, KCB, KQ and Scangroup. Those are my counters, watch this space :)
Knowledge is contagious...Infect truth!
cakes
#86 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 10:03:02 AM

Hey, IT'd I am interested in what you are doing.
Can you share with me, please?
Kind regards.
#87 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 5:16:53 PM

Ali Baba wrote:

Wapi Commish?

kiterunner
#88 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 6:54:41 PM

Ali Baba wrote:

???PEPE?? I dint know you were on wazua Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
our goals are best achieved indirectly
Ali Baba
#89 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 7:04:31 PM

Yes,on Wazua .....but that's a long time ago (1998),now I'm a law abiding citizen.
IT'd
#90 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2011 9:23:03 AM

good to see this thread still going,this is exactly what some of us need especially under such tough economic times.
To those asking what I do,well its just internet marketing,it might sound simple but its not,you just dont go sit at a computer and start making money.Its not for everybody but if you have the discipline and will,eventually things do work out.I now have no doubt in my mind that I'll be a billionaire by 30.It's only been a year since my first internet pay check and these are the kind of numbers am starting to get used to now.

My advice to anyone thinking of doing this,don't expect anybody to teach you anything.Forget about ebooks either,nobody will sell you a method that is making them bajillions for $50,like I like to say it huyo msee ako biz.There are plenty of IM forums out there and the beauty of it all is that the knowledge is free,just like on wazua.You just gotta have the discipline to consume it.
#91 Posted : Monday, January 23, 2012 10:47:49 PM

Genghis Khan wrote:
I joined JKUAT aged 19. I have always had a taste for the good life so I spent most of my free time in 1st year partying & drinking myself silly. I give myself credit for passing all my units with either A or B.
Net worth: 0
Income: 0

In 2nd year I grew up a little bit. Juja town is like western province... lots of boda boda. I bought 2 at 3,300 each and paid a fundi another 1,000 to fix them with a strong frame and passenger seat. I gave them to two local boda guys & i was getting a fixed 120bob per bike per day (they took the rest and were resposible for maintainance and servicing). Total cost 7,600. Income approx 7,000 per month!
My father was giving me a monthly allowance of 10,000 per month - 3,000 rent and the rest for upkeep. I opened an CDS account at Suntra. At the beginning of every month I would deposit 7,000 and proceed to juja where my business was ready to take care of me! To put things in perspective, sample meal prices were Ugali 4/-, Rice 10/-, Mboga 5/-, Beef 28/-, Beans/ndengu 10/-, Chapo 8/-. An average meal of 2chapo+beans = 26/-! I was living like a milionaire already!
Net worth: 50,000 in CDS a/c
Income: I made 7,000pm from the bodas, maybe 2,000pm from miscellaeneous… I blew it all on the party!

The Kengen IPO came in 2006, I was worth about 60K. I liquidated all my stocks and borrowed 100k from my dad & an older cousin. I invested 160K and sold for over 500k. I repaid my cousin his money (i think 40k) but my dad told me to keep what he had lent me. He had made upto 5m on my advice on Kengen. In retrospect, we had gone with the herd on that one & just gotten lucky.

I got a 50:50 partner and through a proxy (student of UoN, non students were not allowed to have businesses on the grounds) opened a cyber cafe in one of the students halls of UoN. We invested a total of about 550k in the project. 15 pentium 3 & pentium 4 computers, switches, cabling, a telkom adsl modem and some bribes for SONU officials. Daily income varied between 1,500 - 2,000. We paid a guy & a chick 200 bob each daily to run the place. Since we were in a secure location we operated 15-24hrs per day depending on demand. Sometimes my partner & i had to pull all nighters servicing the machines then catch a matatu at 5.30 am to juja, sleep for 2hrs then go to class by 8am only to remember we had not had a meal for almost 24hrs! This is where I learnt the value of hard work. We paid ourselves a standard 500bob daily. There rest of the money we banked in a joint account for replacing equipment and for contingencies. Rent for the cyber was 1,500 per month!
Net worth: about 150,000 in CDS a/c, 300k in other assets
Income: I made 15,000pm from the cyber, maybe 20,000pm from miscellaeneous… assembling clone computers for other students, selling electronics / comps parts etc. I blew most of it on the party!

I continued investing in stocks. By the time i completed my 4th year i think i had 700k in cds. i also had various small businesses giving me income of around 40k monthly.

I did some internships & professional studies as I tarmacked & continued with business .
Net worth: 800k
Income: 40k pm

In Jan i got a good job, I bought my first car in Dec for 800k in cash, aged 24.
Net worth: 2m
Income: 150k

Extrapolate 2010 & 2011…
Life Principles & Lessons learnt
1. Learn from mistakes, never regret, move on quickly after failing
2. Work hard, play hard
3. Anything worth doing is worth doing well, never compromise on standards
4. Think & dream big
5. Invest before spending… I don’t budget my spending (whats the fun in that). Out of my total income there is an automatic check off for pension, my cds account, 2 saccos & a chama… whatever remains I take to the party. This works well for me.. eg. if I drink too much, I can’t buy that suit… the opportunity cost is always one expense for another.
6. Have fun with it

How did your networth jump from 800k to 2M between 2008 and 2009 (1yr) yet you bought a car in cash and your income was only 150k(rememner now u have some car running costs). I need you to explain that to me. Even if you saved every dime. this would not be possible
QW25081985
#92 Posted : Monday, January 23, 2012 11:10:11 PM

Genghis Khan wrote:
I joined JKUAT aged 19. I have always had a taste for the good life so I spent most of my free time in 1st year partying & drinking myself silly. I give myself credit for passing all my units with either A or B.
Net worth: 0
Income: 0

In 2nd year I grew up a little bit. Juja town is like western province... lots of boda boda. I bought 2 at 3,300 each and paid a fundi another 1,000 to fix them with a strong frame and passenger seat. I gave them to two local boda guys & i was getting a fixed 120bob per bike per day (they took the rest and were resposible for maintainance and servicing). Total cost 7,600. Income approx 7,000 per month!
My father was giving me a monthly allowance of 10,000 per month - 3,000 rent and the rest for upkeep. I opened an CDS account at Suntra. At the beginning of every month I would deposit 7,000 and proceed to juja where my business was ready to take care of me! To put things in perspective, sample meal prices were Ugali 4/-, Rice 10/-, Mboga 5/-, Beef 28/-, Beans/ndengu 10/-, Chapo 8/-. An average meal of 2chapo+beans = 26/-! I was living like a milionaire already!
Net worth: 50,000 in CDS a/c
Income: I made 7,000pm from the bodas, maybe 2,000pm from miscellaeneous… I blew it all on the party!

The Kengen IPO came in 2006, I was worth about 60K. I liquidated all my stocks and borrowed 100k from my dad & an older cousin. I invested 160K and sold for over 500k. I repaid my cousin his money (i think 40k) but my dad told me to keep what he had lent me. He had made upto 5m on my advice on Kengen. In retrospect, we had gone with the herd on that one & just gotten lucky.

I got a 50:50 partner and through a proxy (student of UoN, non students were not allowed to have businesses on the grounds) opened a cyber cafe in one of the students halls of UoN. We invested a total of about 550k in the project. 15 pentium 3 & pentium 4 computers, switches, cabling, a telkom adsl modem and some bribes for SONU officials. Daily income varied between 1,500 - 2,000. We paid a guy & a chick 200 bob each daily to run the place. Since we were in a secure location we operated 15-24hrs per day depending on demand. Sometimes my partner & i had to pull all nighters servicing the machines then catch a matatu at 5.30 am to juja, sleep for 2hrs then go to class by 8am only to remember we had not had a meal for almost 24hrs! This is where I learnt the value of hard work. We paid ourselves a standard 500bob daily. There rest of the money we banked in a joint account for replacing equipment and for contingencies. Rent for the cyber was 1,500 per month!
Net worth: about 150,000 in CDS a/c, 300k in other assets
Income: I made 15,000pm from the cyber, maybe 20,000pm from miscellaeneous… assembling clone computers for other students, selling electronics / comps parts etc. I blew most of it on the party!

I continued investing in stocks. By the time i completed my 4th year i think i had 700k in cds. i also had various small businesses giving me income of around 40k monthly.

I did some internships & professional studies as I tarmacked & continued with business .
Net worth: 800k
Income: 40k pm

In Jan i got a good job, I bought my first car in Dec for 800k in cash, aged 24.
Net worth: 2m
Income: 150k

Extrapolate 2010 & 2011…
Life Principles & Lessons learnt
1. Learn from mistakes, never regret, move on quickly after failing
2. Work hard, play hard
3. Anything worth doing is worth doing well, never compromise on standards
4. Think & dream big
5. Invest before spending… I don’t budget my spending (whats the fun in that). Out of my total income there is an automatic check off for pension, my cds account, 2 saccos & a chama… whatever remains I take to the party. This works well for me.. eg. if I drink too much, I can’t buy that suit… the opportunity cost is always one expense for another.
6. Have fun with it

How did your networth jump from 800k to 2M between 2008 and 2009 (1yr) yet you bought a car in cash and your income was only 150k(rememner now u have some car running costs). I need you to explain that to me. Even if you saved every dime. this would not be possible

hehehheLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly . thats almost impossible can he please explain that !
onmywaytowealth
#93 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 7:09:14 AM

IT'd wrote:
good to see this thread still going,this is exactly what some of us need especially under such tough economic times.
To those asking what I do,well its just internet marketing,it might sound simple but its not,you just dont go sit at a computer and start making money.Its not for everybody but if you have the discipline and will,eventually things do work out.I now have no doubt in my mind that I'll be a billionaire by 30.It's only been a year since my first internet pay check and these are the kind of numbers am starting to get used to now.

My advice to anyone thinking of doing this,don't expect anybody to teach you anything.Forget about ebooks either,nobody will sell you a method that is making them bajillions for $50,like I like to say it huyo msee ako biz.There are plenty of IM forums out there and the beauty of it all is that the knowledge is free,just like on wazua.You just gotta have the discipline to consume it.

Which forums do you consider have been a great help?
QW25091985
#94 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 7:47:35 AM

onmywaytowealth wrote:
IT'd wrote:

@ IT'd. nice . even we know how to copy paste !
Pierce
#95 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 8:15:41 AM

QW25091985 wrote:
onmywaytowealth wrote:
IT'd wrote:

@ IT'd. nice . even we know how to copy paste !

Tokyo
#96 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 8:53:08 AM

Fishing in pacific
work to prosper
#97 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 12:54:00 PM

Selling hot air.

seppuku
#98 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 1:07:27 PM

Selling hot air.

Are you the GoK Spokesman? smile
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
Jamani
#99 Posted : Saturday, January 28, 2012 7:25:12 PM

@Barrywhite Impressive, impressive, I would vote for you in Top 40 under 40.......

And how did i make my 1st million(KSHS), Kazi kwa bidii, professional skilling education, dreaming, planning, focus and dedication on finances, Sacco loans, NSE, and more NSE.

#100 Posted : Sunday, January 29, 2012 3:10:16 PM

Read about how this Ugandan tycoon made his first billion. A must read.

www.monitor.co.ug/Magazi...50/-/c6yqgr/-/index.html