wazua Wed, Jul 23, 2025

South Sudan signs deal with Kenya to build pipeline to lamu
GGK
#21 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2012 6:34:51 PM

limanika wrote:
Fact is, crude oil will get depleted in south sudan in the next 10-15 yrs. S. Sudan will become net importer of oil through Kenya. Kenya could then be forced to buy the pipeline back at a huge price!

If the their crude oil resources is depleted as you say in 10-15 years, the the direction of flow will just change. No harm in that.
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#22 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2012 6:40:18 PM

GGK wrote:
limanika wrote:
Fact is, crude oil will get depleted in south sudan in the next 10-15 yrs. S. Sudan will become net importer of oil through Kenya. Kenya could then be forced to buy the pipeline back at a huge price!

If the their crude oil resources is depleted as you say in 10-15 years, the the direction of flow will just change. No harm in that.

Yes, it will be a simple matter of changing the direction of the valves and pumps.
#23 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2012 8:26:43 PM

2012 is the year kenya will strike oil.
Stealth
#24 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2012 8:34:54 PM

let them construct at their own cost and pay us rates - and handsomely I myt add - for their pipeline passing thru our land.
#25 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2012 8:38:05 PM

We will sell oil to them through the same pipe when their wells dry up since our fields are still virgin.
Mkimwa
#26 Posted : Saturday, January 28, 2012 6:57:51 PM

Lets say Kenya strikes oil in Turkana region. We would have to pay GOSS to use the same pipeline, or build our own then.
tony stark
#27 Posted : Saturday, January 28, 2012 10:32:29 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
limanika wrote:
I hear Tinga oversaw the signing on Kenya's behalf, and just wondering if in his usual hasty manner he read in between the lines - as the pipeline will be owned by S. Sudan. Fact is, crude oil will get depleted in south sudan in the next 10-15 yrs. S. Sudan will become net importer of oil through Kenya. Kenya could then be forced to buy the pipeline back at a huge price!

Have you ever wondered why there is no road connecting KEnya to SS??

I want to look at the positive side of it and also remind everyone that Kenya has been commencing the LAPPSET Transport corridor since 2008. Not even the ground has been broken towards this end. All we do is talk, argue, litigate and basically go round and round in circles. In the meantime we are not the only interested party in the SS oil dollars. The GOSS has been seeing all this. Uganda has struck a deal with Tz to have its oil pass through Tanga instead of Mombasa or the illusory Lamu. Why? We remain with plans that never take off.DRC is following in the steps of Uganda.

Soon we'll be playing catch up. So I'd rather the deal which might awaken our attention to move with speed and urgency.

Ha ha ha ha ha! Ati uganda pass their oil through tanga. Kwani that oil will be carried away in dhows? Tanga is not a port that can be mentioned in serious talk please be serious!
tony stark
#28 Posted : Saturday, January 28, 2012 10:35:19 PM

jamplu wrote:
does it make any economic sense for kenya to start burdening its self with the costs of building a pipeline ? we can still benefit from it without having paid a penny. Tuwache hii mentality ya we have to own something to benefit from it!!

Next will Uganda pay sudan to transport the oil in the pipeline on Kenyan soil. What about DRC? Issues of ownership are very tricky and not something to be glossed over.
#29 Posted : Saturday, January 28, 2012 11:39:36 PM

Kenya should lease to SS a 50ft wide strip of land running from lokichogio to lamu to consruct the pipeline on.
mukoya
#30 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 1:31:43 PM

Petrol war

Now canada has already started drilling for oil in somali, meanwhile america was about to sign a super pipeline deal with them; na huku kenya wants to increase its coastline to get oil!
#31 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 2:01:34 PM

Never knew one could drill before doing exploration and laying out the infrastructure
Rollins
#32 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2012 3:19:18 PM

SS OIL PIPELINE

According to impeccable sources South Sudan will use Kenya's port to refine oil. Their pipe will pass through Kenya yet no tangible benefits will accrue to her. Is that deal good?Sad
Even a BrOKeN clock is right twice a day
#33 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2012 3:50:14 PM

This subject has been up and running in another thread,can you refer?
Mkimwa
#34 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 1:47:11 PM

Mkimwa wrote:
Lets say Kenya strikes oil in Turkana region. We would have to pay GOSS to use the same pipeline, or build our own then.

And so it happened!

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#35 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 1:56:46 PM

mlennyma wrote:
2012 is the year kenya will strike oil.

you are a true prophet!Laughing out loudly
@SufficientlyP
limanika
#36 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 2:18:52 PM

tony stark wrote:
jamplu wrote:
does it make any economic sense for kenya to start burdening its self with the costs of building a pipeline ? we can still benefit from it without having paid a penny. Tuwache hii mentality ya we have to own something to benefit from it!!

Next will Uganda pay sudan to transport the oil in the pipeline on Kenyan soil. What about DRC? Issues of ownership are very tricky and not something to be glossed over.

Now Kenya and SS might have to go back on the drawing board regarding the pipeline. Luckily construction had not started. True, issues of ownership are not to be glossed about and this is the reason we said Tinga did the signing in a hurry without really thinking through. Am very afraid at the prospect of Tinga Presidency esp in post oil Kenya.