wazua Fri, Aug 8, 2025

Is giving TITHE compulsory?
Sure
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2012 12:13:24 PM

The Origin of Tithing

In the first part of this article on tithing it was established that Israel’s tithe was over 22%, and the people were to take care of the Levites. The Levites then tithed by bringing the 10% into the storehouse. This is the biblical Tithe. The New Testament does not require tithing but free will giving under the new Covenant. God mentioned no specific amount to the church. He is not telling prophets to tell the people to send in a $1,000 seed. In fact, Jesus, nor the apostles never used the word “seed” for giving money.

What we need to do is go back in history to see when the tithe was first established and required from the people, then we can determine if it is a practice for the Church today.

God did not command Adam to tithe, nor is it mentioned that Adam tithe of his own accord. Cain and Abel learned to sacrifice from Adam, to give an offering that was to be of blood not something that was from the work of their own hands (Genesis 4), but they did not tithe. Job, whom we have much detail of his life lived in the (pre?) Abrahamic period. He sacrificed but there is no mention of tithing. Considering how inventive some of the promoters of seed faith giving are today, it is surprising they have not found this the cause of Job’s affliction. You would think that Job would have needed to give something to remove Satan’s hand of attack against himself. Yet, the Bible is silent on this matter.

The fact remains-- there is no mention of giving any tenth of goods to a person, priest or God UNTIL Abraham. Lets go back to this first incident and examine carefully what took place. What we need to do is look at what exactly transpired with Abraham to see if this is the origin of the tithe as some of the prosperity seed-faith teacher’s claim.

In Genesis 14 we have the first reference to tithing and this pre-dates the Mosaic Law. This was a unique incident and relates to a special person at a certain time. Gen 14:17-20: “at the Valley of Shaveh (that is, the King's Valley), after his return from the defeat of Chedorlaomer and the kings who were with him. Then Melchizedek king of Salem brought out bread and wine; he was the priest of God Most High. And he blessed him and said: “Blessed be Abram of God Most High, Possessor of heaven and earth; And blessed be God Most High, who has delivered your enemies into your hand.” And he gave him a tithe of all.”

This is the first time a tithe is mentioned in the Bible. Did Abram tithe of all that he possessed? No. The first thing you find is that the “everything” mentioned did not belong to Abram. It was the property of other people, including Abram’s nephew Lot, who was captured by the armies of the kings. Abram gave away ten per cent of other people’s captured goods. I was thanksgiving offering to God on behalf of the people who had been miraculously rescued.

Lets step back a few verses. Genesis 14:16: ”And he brought back all the goods, and also brought again his brother Lot, and his goods, and the women also, and the people.”

After rescuing his nephew Lot from the alliance of the kings with Chedorlaomer he gave Melchizedek, king of Salem a tenth of everything that he plundered. It was from the spoils of war. That was what the tithe came from. Abra[ha]m did not tithe from his personal possessions but the spoils of war. And that is exactly what the New Testament says Hebrews 7:4: ”Now consider how great this man was, unto whom even the patriarch Abraham gave the tenth of the spoils.” A tithe was on what you earned, it was from your vocation (Lev. 27:30; Deut. 14:22-23,28; 2 Chron.31:5-6.)

Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom.
When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
Sure
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2012 12:15:54 PM

New Testament Giving or Tithing?

Tithing was still practiced in Jesus’ ministry on Earth (Matthew 23:23, Luke 11:42) for the simple reason Israel was under the law. The only time Jesus mentioned the tithe was a rebuke to the religious leaders “But woe to you Pharisees! For you tithe mint and rue and all manner of herbs, and pass by justice and the love of God. These you ought to have done, without leaving the others undone.” In Matthew 23:23 he explains they “have neglected the weightier matters of the law: justice and mercy and faith.” These you ought to have done.” Certainly he had in mind the idea to help those in need (Deut. 14:27-28; 26:12) the poor and the strangers that were among them.

Each time the word tithe or tithes appears in the New Testament it is in reference to the Old Testament law they were under. Under the Old covenant God promised blessings for Israel’s obedience to the commandments and curses for their disobedience to the commandments. In the New Testament, once the new covenant is established to tithe is being disobedient, to give freely is being obedient.

It is true that walking faith brings some blessings, for obedience and servanthood is what God desires. As believers, we all receive certain blessings because we are under grace. The Bible even teaches because of God’s general grace “ for He makes His sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust” (Matt 5:45). Everybody receives some blessings even if they do not tithe. But what happens when we go out from walking under grace to being under the law? (you can’t do both at the same time Gal. 3:23-25; Heb. 8:13).

The Law was meant to be our schoolmaster (Gal. 3:24), and meant to bring us to Christ who is the mediator of the New Covenant to set us free from the Old. This is very serious to be brought back under what God has set aside to inoperable by the New Covenant. Tithing is of the law. If you tithing in according to the law then you are acting as if the law has not been abolished for the believer.

Acts 15:24: “Forasmuch as we have heard, that certain which went out from us have troubled you with words, subverting your souls, saying, Ye must be circumcised, and keep the law: to whom we gave no such commandment.” Tithing was part of the law to ISRAEL- NOT the Church.

Tithing is evil
Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom.
When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2012 2:31:25 PM

you had to start this thread again! no its not compulsory. no one has forced you to tithe.
Pastor M
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2012 2:44:35 PM

nobody should force you to give/tithe...God loves a cheerfull giver.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2012 5:24:39 PM

Pastor M wrote:
nobody should force you to give/tithe...God loves a cheerfull giver.

Well said.

@sure, are you now Christian? I thought you are atheist
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2012 5:49:00 PM

Stealing in the name of Jesus

...This pastor went ahead to inform viewers that they could call those numbers if they had specific needs that needed praying for. All they needed to do was to “plant a seed” and he, personally, would pray for those needs. One was free to call to find out how to go about this.

One of the women explained that her husband had been cheating on her for years and even had another family. She and her children were suffering, she said, since he was the main breadwinner but rarely contributed to their upkeep. She wanted to be prayed for so that her husband would stop fooling around and go back to his rightful home.

To my amazement, this pastor promised that within 36 days (I have no idea how he arrived at this number) her husband would leave “Satan” (read the other woman) and return home.

Today’s thief is better dressed than you; he or she is a smooth talker who uses words to make you hand over your life’s savings. He is that Jack of all trades that professes to possess the ability to get you that elusive promotion at work, to heal cancer and to help you win a Green Card all in the same breath.

http://www.nation.co.ke/Feature...1/-/igvj45z/-/index.html

I say modern times call for a new way of giving first fruits to The Great Giver.

#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2012 6:25:49 PM

isaiah 55, u give freely what u get freely, without money and without price. people are beguiled because they dont read the bible.
QW25091985
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2012 8:45:45 PM

i think this will answer most of the questions raised here :

http://www.virtualpreach...thing-questions-answers/
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2012 11:47:02 PM

just give what you can...be open it's not cast in stone. if you feel your church pastor is dipping his fingers in the cookie jar, you can give in other ways, visit children's homes, drop by IDP centres and help. it's not specified what to be given, goods, services and money is all fine!
#10 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 8:17:02 AM

Behind all this is the conflict between being under grace and keeping the law. Its muddy waters, when it need not be.

Incidentally, the ones loudest about being under new testament grace not under the law are also the loudest about old testament requirements on tithing and offerings.

I think the discussion should be on law vs grace. This tithing issue has already been discussed.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 8:29:40 AM

Now isn't that an oxymoron? Compulsory giving. If it is compulsory, then it isn't giving...
#12 Posted : Wednesday, January 04, 2017 3:34:17 PM

Taurrus
#13 Posted : Wednesday, January 04, 2017 10:39:55 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause Applause
#14 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2017 1:01:45 AM

Taurrus wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause Applause

majimaji
#15 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2017 10:29:59 AM

#16 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2017 11:02:00 PM

Malachi 3:10
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#17 Posted : Friday, January 06, 2017 10:10:48 AM

Tithing is a COMMAND from God!
#18 Posted : Friday, January 06, 2017 12:34:14 PM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:
Coolio wrote:
Malachi 3:10

I thought the COMMAND (i.e. law) was nailed to the cross? Sad
#19 Posted : Friday, January 06, 2017 6:24:08 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly so is leaving your shamba fallow every 7th year! the reason we have it is because people cherrypick what they want. Yesu aliwahi ongea juu ya hiyo kitu? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#20 Posted : Friday, January 06, 2017 9:21:08 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly so is leaving your shamba fallow every 7th year! the reason we have it is because people cherrypick what they want. Yesu aliwahi ongea juu ya hiyo kitu? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Hakuwahi. Not mentioned at all in new testament