Nyakemincha pupils answering questions
@magigi & ondiek, Ki-Sii-P-E pap.
kenmac wrote:how would they answer this one:
ukizingatia tamthilia ya tafakari la babu iliyoandikwa na Swaleh mdoe, kwa nini mwandishi hana nyanya? Kwa sababu nyanya yake alikufa na akazikwa. IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,333 Location: Masada
Goodstuff from Nyakemsh! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
HISTORY AND GOVERMENT paper 2 Q 7. What is HAGUE, Henry Kosgey Arap Sang General Hussein Ali Uhuru Kenyatta Eldoret East MP William Rutto.
GEOGRAPHY Q 1. What does colour green represent on our national flag? MPESA
kenmac wrote:how would they answer this one:
ukizingatia tamthilia ya tafakari la babu iliyoandikwa na Swaleh mdoe, kwa nini mwandishi hana nyanya? Kwa sababu Nyanya haijaiva kwa shamba
Sure wrote:I am for this school of thought. Mzungu left us an education which does not allow us to think independently and creatively. We should discard anything British and go back to the drawing board for African inspired education that allows learning instead of memorization. Here's a true story. In 1995, I was a Standard 4 pupil in a village school somewhere in the deep recesses of the Rift Valley. The school headmaster, one loquacious fellow called Mr. Kiama, doubled up as my Swahili teacher. In retrospect, it seems to me that in those days, which subjects would be taught by which teachers was a matter largely left to the whimsical connivances of members of the teaching staff and their immediate bosses. Actual qualifications mattered very little. So one day, a question in our Swahili exam required us to choose, between four choices, which was the correct plural of "mbwa". It was a no brainer for me. "Mbwa", I ticked. To my astonishment, when the answer papers were returned to us marked, it was a wrong for me on that question. "Bona?" I asked Mr. Kiama. Even before he could answer, he first let out a tirade of insults, in a mother tongue we both shared, ostensibly admonishing me for my insolence in questioning his infinite wisdom. In the end, he told me and my classmates that the correct Swahili word for many dogs was "Ubwa". Of course I was cowered by his altercation and decided not to further contest his sagacity. Still, this is clear testimony to how divergent opinion and unconventional thinking is destroyed by our system. Many years later, I was myself a teacher for a while - of Physics to be precise. In a bid to be different I would, whenever I introduced a new concept such as Work or Power or Energy, require the students to tell me in their own words what they thought whatever concept in question was. Believe it or not, it was often the case that there was a student who would at least come very close to the correct definition. But to some, if what you have said is not lifted straight out of a mzungu-authored book, you couldn't be wronger. Ewe mwenyezi mungu utuasidie! Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
seppuku wrote:Here's a true story. In 1995, I was a Standard 4 pupil in a village school somewhere in the deep recesses of the Rift Valley. The school headmaster, one loquacious fellow called Mr. Kiama, doubled up as my Swahili teacher. In retrospect, it seems to me that in those days, which subjects would be taught by which teachers was a matter largely left to the whimsical connivances of members of the teaching staff and their immediate bosses. Actual qualifications mattered very little. So one day, a question in our Swahili exam required us to choose, between four choices, which was the correct plural of "mbwa". It was a no brainer for me. "Mbwa", I ticked. To my astonishment, when the answer papers were returned to us marked, it was a wrong for me on that question. "Bona?" I asked Mr. Kiama. Even before he could answer, he first let out a tirade of insults, in a mother tongue we both shared, ostensibly admonishing me for my insolence in questioning his infinite wisdom. In the end, he told me and my classmates that the correct Swahili word for many dogs was "Ubwa". Of course I was cowered by his altercation and decided not to further contest his sagacity. Still, this is clear testimony to how divergent opinion and unconventional thinking is destroyed by our system. Many years later, I was myself a teacher for a while - of Physics to be precise. In a bid to be different I would, whenever I introduced a new concept such as Work or Power or Energy, require the students to tell me in their own words what they thought whatever concept in question was. Believe it or not, it was often the case that there was a student who would at least come very close to the correct definition. But to some, if what you have said is not lifted straight out of a mzungu-authored book, you couldn't be wronger. Ewe mwenyezi mungu utuasidie! Very true Seppuku. I agree kabisa. There is a story of a friend of mine who while in lower primary school were asked to solve the Math problem 3 divided by 2. He went ahead to solve it and wrote down his answer one point five (1.5) complete with the the method of how he had worked it out. He got it wrong and was reprimanded for not following the class because the teaching at that level was that 3 divided by 2 was 1 remainder 1. Decimal places were to be introduced when you got to a higher level several years later.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,333 Location: Masada
Kusadikika wrote:[quote=seppuku] asked to solve the Math problem 3 divided by 2. He went ahead to solve it and wrote down his answer one point five (1.5) complete with the the method of how he had worked it out. He got it wrong and was reprimanded for not following the class because the teaching at that level was that 3 divided by 2 was 1 remainder 1. Decimal places were to be introduced when you got to a higher level several years later.
True. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
These students will go far...in the wrong direction.
Nyakemincha pupils answering questions