wazua Sat, Jan 18, 2025

CMA Suspends EAPCC from NSE
lovely2010
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2012 2:22:12 PM

NAIROBI Jan 17 (Reuters) - Kenya's Capital Market Authority (CMA) has imposed a 60-day trading ban on the already suspended shares of East African Portland Cement (EAPCC) to protect investors from a dispute between its board and the government.

The Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE) halted trading in the company's shares on Dec. 27 after the government, which owns 25 percent of the cement maker, dissolved the board, citing an improper tendering process for clinker -- a lumpy intermediate product in the production of cement.

The High Court later ruled that the government had no power to order the board's dissolution, paving the way for the board's reinstatement earlier this month.

"The authority has set down an initial suspension period of 60 days to allow EAPCC to address all outstanding concerns on compliance with the regulatory obligations imposed on listed companies," CMA Chairman Kung'u Gatabaki told reporters.

"We want to restore confidence in the capital markets," he said.

EAPCC is the second company listed on the Kenyan stock exchange to be suspended in less than six months over governance and compliance issues.

Car retailer CMC Holdings was suspended in September following fraud claims involving its former chairman.

Gatabaki said a foresic audit was still being conducted into CMC Holdings, which remains suspended from the exchange. (Reporting by Beatrice Gachenge; Editing by Richard Lough and Will Waterman)
groupielove
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2012 3:00:12 PM

Capital Markets Authority has suspended shares of East Africa Portland Cement Company(EAPCC) from trading at the Nairobi Securities Exchange

http://www.standardmedia...mp;cid=4&ttl=Cement company suspended from Nairobi bourse
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2012 4:19:59 PM

This situation is getting really messy..
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2012 4:22:11 PM

suspended for 60 days until March.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2012 5:07:05 PM

This was widely expected.

hisah
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2012 7:46:02 PM

Bear markets and its cousin enterprise corruption... Trapped investors yet again. Such a 'great' PR job recovering the investor confidence with CMC and EAPCC scandals...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2012 8:06:19 PM

hisah wrote:
Bear markets and its cousin enterprise corruption... Trapped investors yet again. Such a 'great' PR job recovering the investor confidence with CMC and EAPCC scandals...

My only question is who's next?
Cde Monomotapa
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2012 8:40:07 PM

Btw, what r the "ma-workers!!" (Atwoli) mad about?
StatMeister
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2012 10:47:16 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
hisah wrote:

My only question is who's next?

i dont mind Olympia, after teir Bots + SA song, they disclose they are in N.K, next they will announce their investment in Iran is below expectation Pray Pray Pray Pray
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
#10 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2012 12:08:43 AM

lovely2010 wrote:
NAIROBI Jan 17 (Reuters) - Kenya's Capital Market Authority (CMA) has imposed a 60-day trading ban on the already suspended shares of East African Portland Cement (EAPCC) to protect investors from a dispute between its board and the government.

which investors are these being protected... Treasury, nssf, Bamburi?

The free float is only 6%. CMA& NSE may as well delist it so that the 3 dominant shareholders can dry-clean their dirty knickers in private.

public listing of EAPCC really serves no purpose.
GGK
#11 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2012 8:32:45 AM

lovely2010 wrote:

which investors are these being protected... Treasury, nssf, Bamburi?

The free float is only 6%. CMA& NSE may as well delist it so that the 3 dominant shareholders can dry-clean their dirty knickers in private.

public listing of EAPCC really serves no purpose.

I also thought listed companies should have at least 25% of shares available for public trading. Why is EAPC still listed?
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Aguytrying
#12 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 12:04:40 PM

CMA lifts suspension of EAPC. source rich live
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
itz
#13 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 6:13:00 PM

i thought nse had circuit breakers for max plunge protection of 10% per trading day. @ EAPCC down 40% ???
Aguytrying
#14 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 6:21:03 PM

itz wrote:
i thought nse had circuit breakers for max plunge protection of 10% per trading day. @ EAPCC down 40% ???

material news was in today. so the rule was lifted. hii ni junk stock
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#15 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 6:25:44 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
itz wrote:

material news was in today. so the rule was lifted. hii ni junk stock

junk stock ni understatement. this is not even a stock! i pity the owners of EAPCC..

COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#16 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 7:01:58 PM

Believe me this company has potential if only it can be sold 100% to a serious investor.
S.Mutaga III
#17 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 7:24:10 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Believe me this company has potential if only it can be sold 100% to a serious investor.

They say you should buy when there is blood in the street, I wouldnt buy this counter even when skeletons were on the street...atleast not with my hard earned money.
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 7:27:58 PM

mlennyma wrote:

...I believe so too,its dealing in a product that should be generating mega revenues and a healthy bottom line,surely CMA is just a big joke which part of regulatory compliance on thea mandate dont they understand,wananchi are loosing money in this listed companies...so sad
itz
#19 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 8:15:25 PM

itz wrote:

i see it was only 500 shares.This does not mean much, if it was high volume then that would be a problem.lets see how it trades pps and volume over the next few days.