wazua Fri, May 15, 2026

7 Pages«<34567>
Runda Association & Northern Bypass
Waria
#41 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2009 11:21:00 AM

Runda housewives association needs to sack its officals on gross incompetence and laxity. The project has been on the drawing board since 1971,infact i remember rao demolishing some paltial house on the northern by pass.

Incidentally many judges/Mps live here. I think there is a better way to get their views heard.

Lakini I forsee another 'kiambaa' What with all these 'displaced coffee workers' of githogoro,Gachie,mwimuto etc etc

Me first,U next
pops
#42 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2009 11:24:00 AM

@yekeyeke my reasoning for the price drop was imagine u r a rich runda guy with a 11 bed room house with swimming pool in a nice quiet area worth 50 million. now one day the govt decides to build a major road right near your bedroom! now your property is worthless,u panic nd want to sell out quickly nd take the best price u get......etc etc.
#43 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2009 11:27:00 AM

The idea of any road being constructed based on a 1970 plan is just plain wrong. If this road is being built in 2009,why can't it be based on a 2009 plan,

Why can't they first review the plan to ensure that our money is spent to produce the most efficient service,whether it affects Runda or Mathare residents is besides the point.

Secondly,the gava has this tendency to trash private citizens rights just coz 'they can'. The Runda residents while they may be rich and disgusting to most of us have a right to enjoy their expensive and offensive lifestyle,the same way the kibera guy has a right to enjoy his Ugali na maji ya chumvi dinner.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
#44 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2009 11:42:00 AM

When a former World Bank Country Director took life to Muthaiga by playing music there during a party,Mama Lucy told him to go and do those things in Korogocho. Please let runda people live in peace. The bypass can go through Korogocho,Mukuru kwa njenga,mathare,Kibera slums and the residents there will be so happy....!
yekeyeke
#45 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2009 12:20:00 PM

I think the verdict is out. Watu a runda havea right to express themselves,but not to 'tharau' those who drive poorly maintained vehicles. On the other hand the road itajengwa Vapende Vasipende.

'You can fool all the people some of the time,and some of the people all the time,but you cannot fool all the people all the time.'
Abraham Lincoln.
#46 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2009 12:33:00 PM

@ magigi

...and then the residents here at mukuru,kibera,mathare etc will claim that they dont have any cars and they will not appreciate the idea of having a bypass constructed right through. they will also scorn at the government for reducing the size of their recreation grounds and as such the construction of the bypass should be done at the intended route,Runda.

It does not make any sense to deny the 10m or so users of the bypass just because the 50k or so people are not in its favour. The plans were approved almost 40 years ago (long before Runda estate came into being) and the maps show that there is a road through this estate. the Runda fellows knew it all along that there is a road through the estate. Just like somebody asked if these fellows found the road already constructed,would they have rolled it up and threw it back to the Roads Ministry?

The Runda guys are now behaving like the pigs we already know!!!

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
KGB
#47 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2009 11:25:00 AM

There was a meeting to be presided by thewestlands DO at this runda site..

Any news??
sungura2005
#48 Posted : Wednesday, February 25, 2009 6:10:00 PM

@mukiha

I'm so glad we have people like you in our country fighting for neighbourhood quality of life. If residents of upmarket neighbourhoods like Karen,Muthaiga,Lavi,and Runda snooze,they'll wake up one day and find their neighbourhoods invaded by noisy bars and churches,stone fences,kiosks,slums,litter,spitting,public urinating,and unnecessary hooting.

I have nothing against people buying half-acres or even eighth-acres in Karen and other upmarket areas so long as they maintain the peace and natural beauty that they found by doing the following.

1. Planting kei apple (kaiyaba) fences instead of erecting ugly stone fences.

2. Planting trees,grass and flowers instead of concrete and cabro.

3. Ensuring that the space occupied by the house isn't more than the space occupied by the trees,grass and flowers.

4. Not having a window that's next to the fence so that their neighbour can have some privacy.

5. Not farming (you can do that in shags or buy produce from a rela there).

6. Not burning rubbish (hire a garbage company instead).

7. Not playing loud music.

8. Not engaging in commercial activity.

9. Not littering.

10. Not spitting.

Failure to which residents will continue transferring their properties to a holding company in exchange for shares in that company. This makes it impossible to sell or rent out property without the residents (shareholders) approving the newcomer. Just like in a country club.

That said,the by-passes must be built for the sake of social justice. Kids in Githurai shouldn't be waking up at 4am to go to school. It's not fair.
jitetee
#49 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 1:51:00 PM

Thank goodness!

Runda Association have changed tact and are now using a more sensible approach. That is,using their people in the conservation world to do the dirty work for them. But some of the statements in the article today's Nation are amusingly exaggerated to say the least.

'We in the Kenya Wetlands Forum,East African Wildlife Society,Community Action for Nature Conservation and African 21st Century Organisation opposed the move.' - Translation: We represent a heck of a lot of Kenyans. Never mind that most people are hearing of the existence of some of these organisations for the very first time.

'it is going to destroy the environmental sensitive area within the Kiambu Road and Ruaka section' - I call this hiding behind the peasants.

'The team established that this section is a significant headwater wetlands and water catchment area. It is an ecological and hydrologically sensitive area that needs to be sustainably managed.' - Translation: We really want it to be a water catchment area but cant seem to prove it.

'It has a small perennial stream in its young stage flowing east-bound from the headwater marshes and springs of Ruaka-Mimosa catchment.' Translation - Hakuna kitu hapa. Godot.

'These valleys are characterised by both permanent and seasonal marshes and swamps dominated by papyrus,typha reeds and other emergent grasses. It is at this site where ground water emerges and re-enters circulation in Ruaka&ndash; Githogoro surface hydrological network.' - Transaltion : Hiding behind the peasants again. No mention of Runda in the entire article. By the way,do you know what typha reeds are? We will bombard you with jargon till you are dazzeled and accept our point of view.

'IT IS IN THIS REGARD THAT WE FEEL this wetland is a significant area for the Athi Water Catchment Basin.' - Yeah. It contributes more than 0.01%. Eureka!

'The Water Resource Management Authority and water providers should guard this area which offers a great opportunity in urban water supply.' - Nairobi will continue to suffer water shortage if you do not sort us out.

'This can only happen if the bypass is rerouted around rather than through this section of land.' - Alas. We get to the point!

'The species include the yellow-billed duck,Hamerkop,red-collared Widow Bird,Black Crake,Sacred Ibis,Hadada Ibis,Augur Buzzard,Fly Catchers,Black Kite,Common Bulbul,Common House Martin,and Weavers.' - Haya,vitisho sasa!

'The variety of the highly-prized plant species provide a good habitat for reptiles,amphibians,invertebrates and smaller ungulates.' - Read geckos,frogs,cockroaches and the pet goat on my backyard.

'And as the country is preparing for the Copenhagen conference on climate change,the government should be more responsive towards the protection of its forests and wetlands,including this one' - Sort us out or else we will use our contacts abroad to give you a really,really hard time.

Read the full article here

http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/4lwea1/-/index.html

Time and chance happen to all.
#50 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 2:25:00 PM

ati Kenya Wetlands Forum,

East African Wildlife Society,

Community Action for Nature Conservation

African 21st Century Organisation!!!

Where the hell have these idiots been all along since the issues of Mau and Aberdares forest issues first arose. They have never featured anywhere whenever the issues of ecosystem conservation have been mentioned. I honestly dont care about the destruction of that small ecosystem in Runda...what i care about is the thousand of kshs and time that i waste in jams in Nairobi in a given week...i care more about that bypass.

Kama hawataki kukaa mahari kwenye bypass si waende wakanjenge karen...wanapesa....maburukenge!!!!!!

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
7 Pages«<34567>