Thank goodness!
Runda Association have changed tact and are now using a more sensible approach. That is,using their people in the conservation world to do the dirty work for them. But some of the statements in the article today's Nation are amusingly exaggerated to say the least.
'We in the Kenya Wetlands Forum,East African Wildlife Society,Community Action for Nature Conservation and African 21st Century Organisation opposed the move.' - Translation: We represent a heck of a lot of Kenyans. Never mind that most people are hearing of the existence of some of these organisations for the very first time.
'it is going to destroy the environmental sensitive area within the Kiambu Road and Ruaka section' - I call this hiding behind the peasants.
'The team established that this section is a significant headwater wetlands and water catchment area. It is an ecological and hydrologically sensitive area that needs to be sustainably managed.' - Translation: We really want it to be a water catchment area but cant seem to prove it.
'It has a small perennial stream in its young stage flowing east-bound from the headwater marshes and springs of Ruaka-Mimosa catchment.' Translation - Hakuna kitu hapa. Godot.
'These valleys are characterised by both permanent and seasonal marshes and swamps dominated by papyrus,typha reeds and other emergent grasses. It is at this site where ground water emerges and re-enters circulation in Ruaka– Githogoro surface hydrological network.' - Transaltion : Hiding behind the peasants again. No mention of Runda in the entire article. By the way,do you know what typha reeds are? We will bombard you with jargon till you are dazzeled and accept our point of view.
'IT IS IN THIS REGARD THAT WE FEEL this wetland is a significant area for the Athi Water Catchment Basin.' - Yeah. It contributes more than 0.01%. Eureka!
'The Water Resource Management Authority and water providers should guard this area which offers a great opportunity in urban water supply.' - Nairobi will continue to suffer water shortage if you do not sort us out.
'This can only happen if the bypass is rerouted around rather than through this section of land.' - Alas. We get to the point!
'The species include the yellow-billed duck,Hamerkop,red-collared Widow Bird,Black Crake,Sacred Ibis,Hadada Ibis,Augur Buzzard,Fly Catchers,Black Kite,Common Bulbul,Common House Martin,and Weavers.' - Haya,vitisho sasa!
'The variety of the highly-prized plant species provide a good habitat for reptiles,amphibians,invertebrates and smaller ungulates.' - Read geckos,frogs,cockroaches and the pet goat on my backyard.
'And as the country is preparing for the Copenhagen conference on climate change,the government should be more responsive towards the protection of its forests and wetlands,including this one' - Sort us out or else we will use our contacts abroad to give you a really,really hard time.
Read the full article here
http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/4lwea1/-/index.html
Time and chance happen to all.