wazua Fri, May 15, 2026

7 Pages<1234>»
Runda Association & Northern Bypass
#11 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 11:25:00 AM

I sense a lot of 'wivu' in the contributions so far...sounds as if it is wrong to be rich/wealthy and to want to enjoy one's riches/wealth in peace.

@yekeyeke: If the residents of 1) Garden Estate,2) Ridgway&rsquo;s estate 3) Windsor hotel 4) Kahawa 5) Embakasi 6) thika road corridor in general,7) banana 8) muchatha don't want to fight for their peace and tranquility,that's up to them!!

@magigi: the people of Karen (and every other Kenyan for that matter) have a right to have a say regarding who becomes their next-door neighbour,and what kind of neighbourhood they want to maintain....minumum 5 acres,or whatever! They are annoyed because some corrupt officials at the council ignored the residents opions and approved subdivision of land to small half-acre plots.

@Mr.Tea: The value of property is not measured in shillings alone. Building a highway will increase the shilling value by,say three times but the aesthetic value will diminish by a factor of ten! Same has happened to Karen - a five-acre piece may go for 20m while a half may be 7.5m= 75m for the ten halfs,but the aesthetic value diminishes.

I am buying an 8th-acre plot in an estate boardering Thika-Mangu road and the Chania River in Thika municipality. Plots on the main road are going for 350k to 500k. Those boardering the river are 150k,max...and they are a million times more beautiful. Gueass what I am going for?

@Sasha & @ Njung'e: your reaction exemplifies what has gone wrong with our country. That is,if you don't agree with some one,punch them is the face and burn their house.

Just in case you are wondering; I don't live in Runda,or Karen. Far from it! I live in a gated community in South B,boardering Mukuru Fuata Nyayo. We have an agreement that there shall never be kiosks inside our estate,or near the gate. Does that make us bad people? Are we too proud? Or do we simply like our peace?
yekeyeke
#12 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 11:54:00 AM

@mukiha. Why why do you insist on missing the point when its right infront of you. There is a very big difference between roads and kiosks. I am sure that in your gated community,you have aroad,tamacked for that matter,that takes you in and out of the gated community. What we poor people of thika road,who are reckless drivers and drive poorly mainatained cars are asking for is a good road. Period. That road will also take us in and out of our shacks along the thika road coridor and this will in turn save us money to maintain our poorly maiantained cars with gunuine spares,just like those Runda kubaffs and in time also change our attitude to make us driving carefully as oposed to driving recklessly. Is this too much to ask. Why does someone who already has a cup full of tea,insist on knocking my tea off my hands so that i shoudl not take and taste its soothing and conforting ingrediants. Kwanini!!! Mavi ya kuku!!

'You can fool all the people some of the time,and some of the people all the time,but you cannot fool all the people all the time.'
Abraham Lincoln.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 12:02:00 PM

@yekeyeke: I am missing your point because you are clouding it with too many insults. Please cool down. Let's argue with points,not insults...or threats to punch people's faces...
#14 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 12:39:00 PM

@yekeyeke; let me try to navigate through the insults and attempt to respond to your points:-

jh

@mukiha. Why why do you insist on missing the point when its right infront of you. this was answered earlier

There is a very big difference between roads and kiosks. I am sure that in your gated community,you have aroad,tamacked for that matter,that takes you in and out of the gated community. What we poor people of thika road,who are reckless drivers and drive poorly mainatained cars are asking for is a good road. Period. You do have a dual carriageway that that is scheduled for expansion from 2 lanes to four lanes each way...the contractor is already on site.

That road will also take us in and out of our shacks along the thika road coridor and this will in turn save us money to maintain our poorly maiantained cars with gunuine spares,just like those Runda kubaffs and in time also change our attitude to make us driving carefully as oposed to driving recklessly. Is this too much to ask. It is too much to ask if you insist on routing that road through Runda especially if you don't want to listen to the concerns of the people of Runda.

Why does someone who already has a cup full of tea,insist on knocking my tea off my hands so that i shoudl not take and taste its soothing and conforting ingrediants. The problem is that you want to take your tea outside my gate. Drink it in your own house and we shall never have reason to quarrel....and by the way,the tea I take,the one you'd like to have a taste of,is made with two parts water and one part milk. So,your five parts water +one part milk will never ever taste like mine. In short,Karen is not 'Karen' if the land is subdivided into plots smaller than five acres. Kwanini!!! Mavi ya kuku!!
#15 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 12:51:00 PM

uuuuuurghhhhhhh...i thot i was the only one disgusted by my 'well-off' neighbours. These are the people who do not give a hoot abou anything public simply because they are private citizens. I thought the PEV of last year would teach them a lesson that we are all ONE..
#16 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 12:54:00 PM

By the way,the residential areas along Thika Road were developed AFTER the highway was built. people moved there BECAUSE there was a highway. So they can't now complain about the highway and ask for it to be re-located!

If it was re-located,the would 'follow' it...and then complain that it is interfering with they environment!!

Look at what happened to Naivasha when the A109 highway was re-located from the mainstreet in the town
#17 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 12:59:00 PM

@Mukiha,

You missed both the point and the joke.Of course you didn't believe Sasha was going to kick his/her boss .............and when i say,i will visit the dude/dudette to re-locate his/her denture,i have a couple of options at hand including calling a dentist.....eh...No need for punches!

I was expressing outrage at the insesitivity of the said residents.In all goodness,the least you want to do is to be seen laughing at the wretched of this country.Remember this one?....(Wahuna humbira nda)............If this residents care so much about security and quiteness of their lives,let them follow Sir Branson to some islands in the middle of Pacific....or to the moon......Plots huko ni bure...

Guka wa bijuti...
#18 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 1:01:00 PM

@willin2learn: the difference between the 'well-off' and the 'bad-off' is that the former will never keep quiet when they don't like something while the latter just keep mum and say to themselves 'that's the way of the world''
#19 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 1:03:00 PM

uuuuuurghhhhhhh...i thot i was the only one disgusted by my 'well-off' neighbours. These are the people who do not give a hoot abou anything public simply because they are private citizens. I thought the PEV of last year would teach them a lesson that we are all ONE..
yekeyeke
#20 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 1:04:00 PM

@ mukiha. Wewe nimeona mamba yako sasa. 1) uka kwa gated community. Thus you feel exclusive na joto ya kukaa peke yako na kuwa na barabara yako imekuingia. 2) you have a very good highway from your gated community (pls tell us how many you are) that enables you drive your two cars to runda to see your firends who have 5 cars in one house. You are thus the ones cloging our roads.

Sasa what we on the thika corridor have is 1) a very very conjested thika road 2) fairly well gated community in half acre plots. that span a sizebale area aprx severla square kms. Population is however higher that at your gated community and at your pals place in runda. Thus the potental for anything is there.

What we are asking for is that you gated community species,who have the added advantage of a good road that goes right into your paking yard,give us thika road shack and hovel dwellers a chance to get a good road (just like you have) and in that moment also a chance to get 5 cars in our gated houses in half acre plots,so that you and your pals in runda,who have made it to the kingdom can come and visit us instead. Is that too much to ask for.??

'You can fool all the people some of the time,and some of the people all the time,but you cannot fool all the people all the time.'
Abraham Lincoln.
7 Pages<1234>»