BIBILICAL EVENTS EXPLAINED.
I have no qualms when science explains what happened in the bible for example the meteorites that destroyed sodom and gommorah...it makes alot of perfect sense and actually you do feel that science compliments religion to explain some historical events; God promised those dudes raining fire, and fire it rained! the rain was the meteorites! what i find interesting with the scientists is the vacum to explain what triggered the action eg what caused the meteorite? that's the question science will never exhaustively explain, which brings us to the start...God actually does exist!!! Watch more of this kind of stuff on natgeo. Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.
funnyguy wrote:Just seen this post . . . let me see if I got this right on one of the hypothesis; a random intoxicated goat herder (Moses) just happens to be at the right place at the right time to witness the spontaneous combustion of a bush out in a vast desert. As a result of having ingested some hallucinogenic herbs, he hears a ‘still small voice’ coming from the burning bush and this inspires him to boldly stand before the ruler of the then known world and proclaim, “Thus saith the Lord!”
Not only that, the deluded goat herder threatens the ruler of the known world with ‘the ten plagues’ which just happen to coincide with the optimum climatic conditions ushering in the arrival of the first of exactly ten plagues? The herder further leads approximately two million freed slaves through a mass of water parted by a random gust of wind that stops after the slaves are done crossing to drown Egypt’s army . . . wow!
Some time back, I watched a series of Nat Geo documentaries attempting to scientifically make sense of Biblical account of events . . . I ended up more confused than ever. Science will accept the fact that these events happened but will not accept the simple fact that God caused them to happen? Is the idea of ‘God’ really as foolish as the Bible asserts? Clearly it would seem so. Is it an issue of lack of faith? I doubt it; it requires more faith to believe in the coincidental, perfect chain of random natural events than it does to believe in the Almighty God. Yet, without faith it is impossible to please God (Hebrews 11:6). Many possess a form of godliness but deny God’s powerful manifestation (2 Timothy 3:5). The way I see it, you either believe in the Bible in full or you don’t- nothing more, nothing less.
Hebrew University of Jerusalem's Professor Shanon who said moses was high on drugs suggests that even the burning bush was hallucinated. Moses had the tell-tale signs of one under the influence of a psychadelic. He even says he has experimented with psychadelics himself- http://www.dailymail.co....ts-claims-academic.html
consider the escaping of the Jews, with the Egyptians following them and the red sea intercepts to the fugitives. Moses prays and God does the miracle of parting the sea. The Jews pass but the water returns again to stop the army of Egyptians. Seems like a miracle incompatible with scientific laws. But upon thorough investigation of the place where the crossing might have taken place, it turns out that sometimes there blow a high wind which blows out water, baring the bottom of the sea. The people who revealed the strange phenomenon declared that the biblical story describe not a miracle but a real event that occurred naturally. The problem with this assertion is that the wind that bares the bottom of the sea in this area rises rarely. You might ask, why did it begin precisely when the jews passed along and ended when the Egyptians came? This looks like a miracle in response to Moses prayers but the miracle is in fact the taking place of a completely natural event that began at the right time for the Jews to cross and ended in time not to give a chance for the Egyptians to do the same, a rare coincidence. also- Scientist Carl Drews (the National Center for Atmospheric Research in Boulder, Colo.) used computer simulations to determine that wind blowing 63 miles per hour could part the waters at the intersection of the Nile and the Lake of Tanis. Wait, wasn’t Moses supposed to have crossed the Red Sea, not some lake in Egypt? In fact, modern Biblical scholars believe that the Hebrew yam suf is best translated not as "Red Sea" but as "Sea of Reeds." Drews’s hypothesized location would fit this description quite nicely. Through simulations, Drews has found that a wind blowing at 63 miles per hour for twelve hours could have "split" the waters by blowing them backwards. His idea is not so far-fetched. In 1882, a British general reported a similar phenomenon at Lake Menzaleh, also in Egypt: strong winds blew the waters back, creating a land bridge. Drews believes the wind strength in the case of the Exodus to be 63 mph because it would be strong enough to blow back the waters but weak enough to allow people to pass through it. As such, Drews concludes that the parting of the waters has a basis in science. Drews simply notes that if the Jews had to choose between being slaughtered by the Egyptians or taking a chance crossing parted waters, they’d choose the latter. In other words, Drews hints that the "parting of the sea" was more of a coincidence than a direct act of God.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/3/2010 Posts: 1,141 Location: Londokwe
josiah33 wrote: Drews hints that the "parting of the sea" was more of a coincidence than a direct act of God.
Baaasi!!!! did the 'coincidence' occur in any other recorded time in history , why only when the israelites were about to cross the red sea. The supernatural God makes such things to happen just in time. Thankless hard hearted human beings sees it as a coincidence but believers know it is a miracle triggered by the Almighty. Wapi PastorM! Mtetee mtetee Mungu Wako Mtetee mtetee Mungu Wako Mtetee mtetee Mungu Wako Mtetee ahahahah 2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
In a nutshell, indeed all these biblical events took place, coz scientists havent refuted any of them. So the scientists go ahead to find logic or explanation of why these events occured. The more they get into details, the more everything gets complex. I'm not surprised, because the complexity of all these happenings only proves what was said in the bible in Isaiah 55:8-9: 8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. 9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. We'll never comprehend who God is in totality. Having a basis in science doesnt mean God and His acts do not exist, because I would ask, how did science come up in the first place? Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
The beast from the abyss and the making of none effect the Word of God. (Revelation chapter 11)
Part of the trio of beasts that attack and make war against the two witnesses, to make of non effect the story of creation, the plan of salvation and the story of Jesus is an undescribed beast.
Unlike the other two, this particular one is without description. It arises from the bottomless pit at the end of the 1260 prophetic days (worked to around late 1700s, corroborated with the other 2 adequately described beasts and the common 1260 days between all of them) in the spiritual sodom and egypt.
Sodom was known for its licentiousness. Egypt is known for its pharaohs' rebellion against God who asked 'who is the Lord? I dont know the Lord'. Both examples from the old testament.
So back to what is relevant to us, what in the world happened literally, what arose in the world in the neighbourhood of the late 1700s that involved (1) licentiousness and (2) outright worldwide rebellion against God? Here are some.
1. Anti creationism. Jean-Baptiste Lamark (1774-1829) The transformism theory (evolution) - Charles Darwin merely used his work to further this dark work.
3. Pornography - Donatien Alphonse François, Marquis de Sade (2 June 1740 – 2 December 1814.) Popularised pornography and launched it as we know it today. He was a proponent of extreme freedom, unrestrained by morality, religion, or law.
4. Secular mordern humanism - The French Revolution 1793 - The Cult of Reason (French: Culte de la Raison) was a religion based on deism devised during the French Revolution. The cathedral Notre Dame de Paris was turned into a "Temple to Reason" and for a time Lady Liberty replaced the Virgin Mary on several altars.
5. Voodoo and music - Haiti, USA, France & the Lousianna Purchase, 1803. From New Orleans, the voodoo form of worship and its syncopated form of worship that morphed into ragtime → rythm & blues → jazz → rock & roll → hip hop → CCM.
I opine that may not know from where these opinions are and why they are around being aggressively marketed. Opinions that try to make of none effect the word of God.
To the power behind these things that are in open unfettered rebellion against God, I dare not bring against you a railing accusation, but say, The Lord rebuke thee. Jude 1:9
josiah33 wrote:kyt wrote:@josiah actually adan lived about 6000 yrs ago not that 50k you indicate Well! i don't believe the Earth is 6000 years old. True, Adam lived 6000 years ago, but the earth is not 6000 years old. And you can get that in Genesis 1:1-2 1 In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2 Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters. You see, we all know what God creats is beautiful, but verse 2 says the earth was formless and void. That means there was a timeline between verse one and two. Remember when we are told that Lucifer was an archangel and I think in charge of music or something, then he wanted to be God and was condemned to the bottomless pit? Didnt that occur before Adam was created? Who knows, that period between the two verses could have been millions of years. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
I think Josiah is one of those scientists who believe in the big bang theory,or maybe he just watches a lot of National Geographic. most of his theories above have been featured in those programs.
'user' wrote:josiah33 wrote:kyt wrote:@josiah actually adan lived about 6000 yrs ago not that 50k you indicate Well! i don't believe the Earth is 6000 years old. the Noahs flood changed dating. 40 days of worldwide rain/flood ensured that sedimentary deposits appeared as if they were accumulated for millions of years. I assume you are referring to C-14 dating and an argument put forward by some creationists to support the theory of a Younger Earth. This is one argument against a Younger Earth I found- C-14 dating has nothing to do with the age of the Earth. It has a normal upper detection limit of ~50,000 – 60,000 years BP, so C-14 dating will never tell us anything about the age of the Earth, or about "billions of years". Radiocarbon dating is not the only radiometric dating method available. There are several methods, utilising isotopes with half-lives far in excess of C-14, which do indeed give ages of millions, and even billions of years, such as Uranium-Lead, Argon-Argon and Potassium-Argon methods. These methods are not affected by the Earth's magnetic field, or pollution in the industrial age, or A-bomb tests, or even by mythical floods. There are even methods of dating which do not rely on radioisotopes at all, and provide ages from thousands to millions of years. Interestingly, it's these non-isotope dependent methods (amongst other data) that have helped to establish calibration data which confirms the reliability of methods such as radiocarbon dating.
Buster wrote:I think Josiah is one of those scientists who believe in the big bang theory,or maybe he just watches a lot of National Geographic. most of his theories above have been featured in those programs. National geographic sometimes lets down. For example, I watched the 'devils bible' on it and I was so disappointed. Not by the bible but by national geographic. They never told us the content of this supposed bible, what it teaches etc. Not a single quote or verse from this devils bible did national geographic produce to viewers. Needless to say, no one who watched can speak authoritatively about this supposed devils bible. They (national geographic) spent the whole time talking about this king had it, how that queen stole it, what ink it was written with, the material and sijui skins it is made of and such kinds of gossip. Picture me coming here and expounding on this 'devils bible'...seeking to 'enlighten' wazuans about it...
Jus Blazin wrote:josiah33 wrote:kyt wrote:@josiah actually adan lived about 6000 yrs ago not that 50k you indicate Well! i don't believe the Earth is 6000 years old. True, Adam lived 6000 years ago, but the earth is not 6000 years old. And you can get that in Genesis 1:1-2 1 In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2 Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters. You see, we all know what God creats is beautiful, but verse 2 says the earth was formless and void. That means there was a timeline between verse one and two. Remember when we are told that Lucifer was an archangel and I think in charge of music or something, then he wanted to be God and was condemned to the bottomless pit? Didnt that occur before Adam was created? Who knows, that period between the two verses could have been millions of years. I thought God created everything in six days and Adam was created on the sixth day. When creationists trace christ's geneology back to Adam they come up with 6000 years. Should i add the 5 days before Adam was created to make it 6000 yrs+ 5 days?
BIBILICAL EVENTS EXPLAINED.