wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

Sex education
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 1:11:32 PM

Being old enough to look behind, I am often filled with a sense of dread that I have had so little sex education, and more often than not I have had to go by trial and error, mimicking of western mannerisms from the movies and by and large, I have succumbed to lust and fantasy as my tutors.

But I also realize that sexuality is at the center of humanity. Freud speaks about it endlessly; the book of proverbs will almost bore one with warnings about the seductress, ditto the book of Wisdom. (Need I mention literature and tradition from the orient?)

And so I come to my question: Why is it that in the Kenyan context so little is taught by the relevant institutions? Is it a deliberate attempt to keep us in fetters?
Kaka M
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 1:57:00 PM

Among other things I tend think that the reason it ain't taught is that so many of us differ on various issues concerning Sex education.
If the Government were to develop a curricular, I expect it would consist of such things as: Contraception, Condoms,etc some religious institutions would have problems with this being taught because they don't agree with them. Some lobby groups would also want topics on homosexuality being taught etc. Generally it would be hard to agree on what to teach and what not to. There r various other reasons also.

If I may ask, what would you like to know?

Disclaimer: You have to be over 18 years of age.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 2:25:32 PM

@Kaka M

What would I like to know?

I'd like to know the significance of sex on my overall being and to the society.

What are the dynamics involved when a middle aged man(probably married) is seen luring a young girl in a club? What is the implication of older women scouting for young toy boys?

Our present culture glorifies the capping up of an orgasm with the spilling of the 'life force' even when reproduction is not intended. But there are cultures that teach people on 'sexual Kung-fu' the art of enjoying coitus without ejaculating. Is this an important difference?

What is the relation between coitus and love making?

Questions abound Kaka!
#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 2:31:33 PM

@Kaka M

What would I like to know?

I'd like to know the significance of sex on my overall being and to the society.

What are the dynamics involved when a middle aged man(probably married) is seen luring a young girl in a club? What is the implication of older women scouting for young toy boys?

Our present culture glorifies the capping up of an orgasm with the spilling of the 'life force' even when reproduction is not intended. But there are cultures that teach people on 'sexual Kung-fu' the art of enjoying coitus without ejaculating. Is this an important difference?

What is the relation between coitus and love making?

Questions abound Kaka!

That would have been taught in high school?d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#5 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 2:44:59 PM

@Bwenyenye,

Considering that the issue of sex entails a society's entire world view, I see no problem with these things being addressed in secondary school, or even upper primary.

In fact, I think that had we had better sex education then we'd be looking at the matters of AIDS, abortion, same sex relations and the such matters in a very different light.

By the way at what age do most Kenyans get into the sexual fray?
Kaka M
#6 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 3:54:13 PM

I think you are looking at it from a philosophical point of view and rather broadly.
There is no universally accepted meaning or view of sex and can only be taught based a society that profess certain values.

I will therefore answer your question based on what I was taught.
My Faith teaches that Sex is supposed to be between a man and his wife ( they become man and wife only after wedding in church)
Actually the church ceremony is half a marriage and the couple perform the other half by meeting body to body and thus the marriage is whole. Sex has 2 purposes in a marriage being procreation and support of the couple by one another. The couple are supposed to be open to life meaning that there shall be no contraception and the only acceptable means of family planning is the natural method.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 3:56:01 PM

Lack of teaching these things can actually kill as witnessed previously...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HN9Tqhc2OFY
#8 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 4:00:39 PM

@Kaka,

How does sex foster between a couple?
#9 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 4:18:36 PM

@Kaka,

Pardon the typo, but what I wanted to ask is:

How does sex foster support between a couple?
Kaka M
#10 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 4:30:15 PM

@Kaka,

Pardon the typo, but what I wanted to ask is:

How does sex foster support between a couple?

So @ tycho made a typo error! pardoned.
Support is basically in terms of bodily needs (read pleasure)
#11 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 4:43:09 PM

Tycho. I do not think there is any need for concern. All the important things in life (and sex is extremely important) must be learnt but that does not mean that they must be taught. Nobody teaches a baby how to suckle, walk, run, swallow, breathe etc but they learn it anyway. Sex in my opinion is in the same category as all these things that any normal human being has the natural capacity to discover. No teacher is required. God in his wisdom built it into the system and if you were to leave a boy and girl on a desert island with no instructor at some point they will figure it out.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 5:30:35 PM

@Kaka M,

If sex is only about pleasure and children, why should it be done only in marriage? Why should it have religious blessing?

@Kusadikika,

Evidence shows the contrary. Many cultures work hard to educate their children on sexual matters; is it because they underestimate their children?

Besides, the objection raised against @Kaka M also holds here. Tradition puts a spiritual value on sex, can children understand these spiritual values without being taught?

#13 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 5:57:11 PM

@ Carygoh ( She took over from @ Mwende) smile smile angelikuwa hapa,anguwapa majiabu chungu nzima kuhusu swali hili. Lakini sasa vile hayupo,hii imegeuka ikawa philosophia smile

Sasa @ Tycho anataka tuseme nini?
Kaka M
#14 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 6:35:08 PM

[quote=tycho]@Kaka M,

If sex is only about pleasure and children, why should it be done only in marriage? Why should it have religious blessing?

# 1 Corinthians 6:15
Do you not know that your bodies are members of Christ himself? Shall I then take the members of Christ and unite them with a prostitute? Never!
# 1 Corinthians 6:16
Do you not know that he who unites himself with a prostitute is one with her in body? For it is said, “The two will become one flesh.”

Sex is God's gift to the married.
In a marriage it's through a religious ceremony that two are made one.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 7:46:10 PM

@famooz,
(A poem):
Sio hivyo budaa, Ni vile toung’ue yangu iko.
Na hata sioengeangi mara mob!

Concern zangu ni genuine.

Life yangu iko kwa stake,

Shingo ina hang!
#16 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 7:47:57 PM

@Kaka M,

@Kusadikika,

Evidence shows the contrary. Many cultures work hard to educate their children on sexual matters; is it because they underestimate their children?

I would disagree. Which cultures are these and why are we having this discussion then. It is one of the most not talked about matter in the world and with good reason everybody at some point will figure it out. That is not to say that education is not going on. Only that the education is not formal and in my opinion it need not be. There will always be a boy in the playground who will know about these matters and tell it to his friends and they will get educated. There will always be a housegirl who will take a young boy and show him the ropes. There will always be a smooth talking boy in the estates who will sweet talk a young innocent girl and break her virginity. And for those who never learn early enough there is I bet in every village, location, town and county a woman who makes a living out of offering sexual services and I am sure there are many outstanding family men who owe their first lessons on sex to them. People are being educated on sex and if the growing population of the world is anything to go by, the lessons are not only being learnt well but also being applied effectively.

So, nawahimiza wapinzani wenzangu mvuke sakafu mje upande huu ili tuseme kwa pamoja kuwa masomo ya kufanya mapenzi hayahitajiki kwani somo lenyewe linaendelea vyema bila masomo hayo.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 8:22:41 PM

@Kaka M,

@Kusadikika,

It is one of the most not talked about matter in the world and with good reason everybody at some point will figure it out. That is not to say that education is not going on.

If there's so little talk about it, how can there be understanding?

How can shame sustain truth?
#18 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 8:43:42 PM

@famooz,
(A poem):
Sio hivyo budaa, Ni vile toung’ue yangu iko.
Na hata sioengeangi mara mob!

Concern zangu ni genuine.

Life yangu iko kwa stake,

Shingo ina hang!

he he he sawa ingawa sijaelewa hii smile smile
#19 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 8:52:48 PM

If there's so little talk about it, how can there be understanding?

How can shame sustain truth?

On your second question; we are talking about sex here, truth is a much more complex issue. Now on to your first. I gather from the the way you frame your question you have had a lot of Western thinking influence. You hold the premise that understanding can only be fostered by talking. The more you can talk about something, the more you can describe something, the more you can verbalize your experience, then the more understanding you gain or display about the subject. That may be true on subjects such as philosophy or history where the subject is literal. It is what is written or said. It does not involve action. For subjects that involve action and i would put sex in this category verbalization and discussion does not necessarily foster greater understanding.

I would give you the example of our Kenyan marathon runners. If you watch the post marathon interviews of a Kenyan runner who finished first in a race and say an American runner who finished 50th you might get the impression that the Kenyan does not know much about marathon running while the American really knows how to run a marathon. But is this really the case? Of course not. Just because you can describe something more fluently does not mean you are good at it. Sex education in my opinion would just mean introducing terms and definitions and just making people better at discussing the subject but would not in my opinion add any value to what needs to be known.

If however by sex education you mean practicals then I am all for it. I think the best would be for older women say in their 30s and 40s when they are at the peak of their sexual maturation to have apprenticeship relations with teenage boys say 14 to 18 and teach them what they need to know. The arrangement is mutually beneficial and the society would be much better for it.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 9:07:47 PM

wacha haraka kijana!!! who taught adam and eve how to have sex? with time and maturation you will know where the airport is located and how to effectively land.it is instinctive and inborn .just as you searched for nyonyo when you were born.this was a word of advise I got from my high school headmaster.
And he was right,I think from the response of the my airport management I'm now a good pilot
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu