wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

8 Pages<12345>»
Km/Litre
GITHUKUSM
#41 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2012 12:11:32 PM

We need to diversify the types of cars we use as a country.The Japanese realised this weakness and so they price any Toyota highly when its destined for Kenya.
The argument is always parts.I always ask which parts.Any time one buys a car to upgrade it means adding more money.
Others talk of resale value.My argument always is which one loses more value take a fielder and a Wingroad going for 1050k and 650k respectively.
After one year sell for 800k and 500k respectivey.Also we have other European models that are very good compared to Toyotas going for the same amount of money.As a dealer i always pity guys who tell me to get them an old 110 for money they would get a new one of another model.
#42 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2012 12:29:56 PM

Sigiri... please be quiet.. you are alerting everybody.. wacha watu wakae walivyo.. you dont want us getting into the Kirinyaga/Grogoni hit list do you..

Im looking at those Opels on the road and by the number plates.. i can tell they are cars that last.. been thinking on asking around more about them.
though next target would def be a well kept German Beast.. na sio Merc.. hiyo class sijafika..
Sigiriri
#43 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2012 12:48:04 PM

Opel is good & cheapest of the German range. And well, I really would hate to get into the grogon hit list, so pls fear the below car makes:

Opel/Vauxhall
Volkswagen/Audi/Skoda
Mercedes Benz
BMW

Let me mention that not all japanese are overvalued - the below are fairly priced/valued:

Subaru
Honda
Mitsubishi

Also, not all toys are overvalued - the below are fairly priced:
Landcruiser (the hardy one, the one used by tour companies)
Landcruiser VX (not Prado, please)
Toyota Camry

All the other toys have equivalents that are better and fairer priced/valued.

Just my opinion.

[I had to add this - the probox (gari ya bonga points) has no equivalent, and am not ready fights about this one model)
Odec
#44 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2012 1:36:08 PM

Why put platinum plugs ,while u can indulge Iridium plugs.....for the mits
LiVE sIMpLE thiNk BiG
#45 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2012 3:12:34 PM

Odec wrote:
Why put platinum plugs ,while u can indulge Iridium plugs.....for the mits

You can even use diamondplugs.

Spend.thrift
#46 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 9:50:42 AM

GITHUKUSM wrote:
We need to diversify the types of cars we use as a country.The Japanese realised this weakness and so they price any Toyota highly when its destined for Kenya.
The argument is always parts.I always ask which parts.Any time one buys a car to upgrade it means adding more money.
Others talk of resale value.My argument always is which one loses more value take a fielder and a Wingroad going for 1050k and 650k respectively.
After one year sell for 800k and 500k respectivey.Also we have other European models that are very good compared to Toyotas going for the same amount of money.As a dealer i always pity guys who tell me to get them an old 110 for money they would get a new one of another model.

Very true.Someone listening to average Kenyans touting the goodness of Toyotas would almost think they are designed and produced in Kenya.

Its also funny how people buy some Toyotas not knowing they are actually just rebadged. Livid examples include the Duet, Cammy or even Passo. These are all Daihatsu cars; The duet and Passo is the Daihatsu Sirion while the toyota Cammy is the same old ugly duckling that the Daihatsu Terios is. The Toyota Rush is also a Daihatsu. How many know that that there's shared ownership between Toyota and Subaru Motors (Fuji Heavy industries)? Someone else would buy a Volkswagen but not a Skoda yet these are in many respects the same car.

Not to downplay the feelings of Kenyans, these problem is experienced even in Japan. The sales of the Daihatsu Terios jumped significantly when they changed the nameplate to Toyota Cammy. Similary the Subaru Traviq MPV is in essence an Opel Zafira- everything except the sign on the engine and insignia but some would buy it as a Subaru and not an Opel.

This is not to mean that Toyotas are not good cars- they are in fact in the offroad category the Toyota Landcruiser GX is a wonder just as is the kind used by the Kenya Police. The compact cars such as the Vitz, Runx/Allex are equally tough. I must say however, Toyota are sold at prices higher than their values - but again value is a function of consumer preferences (largely hypothetical). For instance compare the Toyota Hilux and the Mitsubishi L200 pickup, especially the older models of both makes and return your verdict. So please keep on buying Toyotas, afterall we don't make any cars here.
tuvok
#47 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 1:50:54 PM

Beginning to like the Honda more and more. Online reviews highly positive for some of their vehicles. Skoda is the other under rated vehicle - I think CMC (while not wrangling) could do more with their franchise
Chaka
#48 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2012 2:16:33 PM

tuvok wrote:
Skoda is the other under rated vehicle - I think CMC (while not wrangling) could do more with their franchise

I once saw a Skoda Superb and I must say it is has style...However the front ground clearance seems quite low and one would have to be careful when parking,otherwise you would end up knocking the kerb...
smallfama
#49 Posted : Saturday, February 11, 2012 12:33:32 PM

I have read a review of the AUDI A4 2.0 TDi and some users are claiming to have achieved 50mpg i.e 21km/l. Anyone who can confirm this? Top Gear actually claims 66mpg. Please give your Kenyan experiences of the same.
Djinn
#50 Posted : Tuesday, February 14, 2012 11:17:07 AM

Went for a trip sides za Uganda...did 450 Km's with around 35litres on a well maintained Mitsu Lancer.. thats roughly 13km/litre... pale Nakuru Salgaa and other areas with nicer roads, i hit 120km/h, average 80km/h.
From home to Nakuru the fuel gauge hadnt even moved... those Kapsabet potholes ndo zilimaliza Tank..

coming back i did 500km with 32litres of fuel.. thats 15km/litre.. same Lancer... guess its downhill

What size of engine? My 504 does this trip thrice a year - last check I was getting abt 15km per litre (1.8 litre engine - car loaded with two adults, three kids, luggage - tyres Goodyear 195*70*14). I don't drive fast - avg 80-90kph...
smallfama
#51 Posted : Tuesday, February 14, 2012 11:36:47 AM

smallfama wrote:
I have read a review of the AUDI A4 2.0 TDi and some users are claiming to have achieved 50mpg i.e 21km/l. Anyone who can confirm this? Top Gear actually claims 66mpg. Please give your Kenyan experiences of the same.

Are there no AUDI owners on Wazua jameni?
groupielove
#52 Posted : Tuesday, February 14, 2012 1:12:53 PM

Good to know there are a good number of Mits funs out here. I own a pajero io 2002 (QoaH) model and though the consumption is not as good as the GDI type, I have never visited a mechanic apart from normal regular service and painting bamper for scratches. Its a 1.8lt engine and does about 8.5lts in town and 10.5 in highways. I however realised it doesn't like speeds more than 100km/hr otherwise you will be doing 8km/hr on highways. Apart from the consumption, I have never seen a car like that. I had a toyota EE100 previously and I could not rely on it. I even went ahead and changed the engine but that wasn't the end of troubles. I would not trade this for anything...not even a GDI
tuvok
#53 Posted : Tuesday, February 14, 2012 1:44:08 PM

smallfama wrote:

Are there no AUDI owners on Wazua jameni?

Waiting too for experiences with the Audi TDI. Audi petrol owners are easier to find
#54 Posted : Thursday, February 23, 2012 12:44:10 PM

Found this useful information on habits that affect fuel consumption in any car, such as tyre pressure, A/C, among others...

http://www.fuelsaver.govt.nz/habits.html#bottom
chiaroscuro
#55 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 1:14:34 PM

mukiha wrote:
[quote=JkMwatha]Drive barefoot or with your big toe and get 116mpg or 50km/l...

... well, not exactly.

http://www.treehugger.co...ius-to-get-116-mpg.html

Better still, take lessons from this Kibe Kamunyu guy who drove a 2,000cc Alfa Romeo 156 from Westlands to Naivasha on only 1.75L of fuel... 48km/L!!!

He should start an Efficient Driving School...

LINK: http://www.the-star.co.k...-quartz-economy-run-win[/quote]

that's possible especially if u use the Narok road...u can even switch off the car and just roll downhill.

Why would one use Narok road when going to Naivasha from Nairobi?

Or did you mean Mai-Mahiu road? If yes, then suggesting switching off engine on the escarpment drop (Mlima ya William) is asking people to commit suicide!
chiaroscuro
#56 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 1:16:38 PM

....and then from Mai-Mahiu to Naivasha is quite a up-hill stretch [all the way to Longonot].

So I suspect you would probably need more fuel than going the Kinungi hill route
#57 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2012 4:38:50 PM

Djinn wrote:
Went for a trip sides za Uganda...did 450 Km's with around 35litres on a well maintained Mitsu Lancer.. thats roughly 13km/litre... pale Nakuru Salgaa and other areas with nicer roads, i hit 120km/h, average 80km/h.
From home to Nakuru the fuel gauge hadnt even moved... those Kapsabet potholes ndo zilimaliza Tank..

coming back i did 500km with 32litres of fuel.. thats 15km/litre.. same Lancer... guess its downhill

What size of engine? My 504 does this trip thrice a year - last check I was getting abt 15km per litre (1.8 litre engine - car loaded with two adults, three kids, luggage - tyres Goodyear 195*70*14). I don't drive fast - avg 80-90kph...

1500cc, but actualy 1465
Pastor M
#58 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 8:39:11 AM

Thika Road this days is fuel tank friendly.....
chiaroscuro
#59 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 8:44:08 AM

Pastor M wrote:

Goes to prove that you pay for good roads whether you have them or not!
#60 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 9:09:28 AM

Pastor M wrote:

That is true, 2,000/- (super petrol) now takes me to work (14.3km from my house to Westlands) from Monday to Saturday on my aged 1998 unroadworthy Toyota Caldina 1800cc, as opposed to 2,000/- for Monday to Thursday previously.

Thank God for THIKA SUPER HIGHWAY!