wazua Sun, May 3, 2026

WHY CONSTRUCTION COST ESTIMATES FROM PROFESSIONALS APPEAR HIGH.
me&myself
#11 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 4:07:31 PM

Tiggy,

Wait until you have been "eaten" by the fundi's....

You have to equip yourself with information and follow the steps.

You should look to understand the critical spends and create a template for each...which gives you a feel of the average
Do things simply;
Even better,
Do simple things
StatMeister
#12 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 4:29:34 PM

mwenza wrote:
a4architect.com wrote:
@majimaji..thoughtful addition ..there is painting the door and door frame. There are a few nails for the door frame, polyfilla for the door frame joints.

Add the the cost of
...wall fasts
...Archtraves and/or quadrants.

Do these things have local names, like 'shatta', 'turathi'...?
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
sanity
#13 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 5:53:31 PM

TiggerTiggy wrote:
good article. i think another reason why estimates from professionals are high is so the professionals can 'eat' especially when supplying materials. kweli ama rongo?

hapo nimeunga wewe mguu kabisa.sometimes proffesionals overdo it.
Hope is not a strategy
#14 Posted : Wednesday, January 04, 2012 5:49:23 AM

mwenza wrote:
a4architect.com wrote:
@majimaji..thoughtful addition ..there is painting the door and door frame. There are a few nails for the door frame, polyfilla for the door frame joints.

Add the the cost of
...wall fasts

And add the cost of mkokoteni guy to transport the now famous door from Gikomba to Githurai 44.
Give or take, Kes 1000.

#15 Posted : Wednesday, January 04, 2012 9:27:29 AM

mwenza wrote:
a4architect.com wrote:

Add the the cost of
...wall fasts

And add the cost of mkokoteni guy to transport the now famous door from Gikomba to Githurai 44.
Give or take, Kes 1000.

All that way for just a K?
Maisha ni ngumu!
sihingwa
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2012 12:50:52 PM

Reminds me of last year when my car was always overheating even on short drives.

The local 'mechanic' cost me a lot with unnecesary interventions ie

New thermo sensor - 6K
Drained coolant - 2K
Replaced cooling fan relay- 0.4K
'Washing' radiator - 1K
Removal of thermostatic valve -0.5K
Misc costs (silicon..) + labour - 1.5k

There was no relief until I humbly approached a former University mate (himself a mechanical engineer) who took one hour to test drive the car, test the 'failed' thermo sensor & relay...and finally replace the radiator cap! My car was sorted for only 1.2K !!

My initial fear of visiting his garage was that his 'consultation' (a minimum of 1K)is too high!

My big lesson learnt... 'always handle your matters with the professionals' Cheaper in the long run!!
nyangao
#17 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2012 1:05:18 PM

sanity wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:
good article. i think another reason why estimates from professionals are high is so the professionals can 'eat' especially when supplying materials. kweli ama rongo?

hapo nimeunga wewe mguu kabisa.sometimes proffesionals overdo it.

professionals DO NOT supply materials, unless you are dealing with a quake or broker .
GGK
#18 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2012 9:09:44 PM

Where is this garage?

sihingwa wrote:
Reminds me of last year when my car was always overheating even on short drives.

The local 'mechanic' cost me a lot with unnecesary interventions ie

New thermo sensor - 6K
Drained coolant - 2K
Replaced cooling fan relay- 0.4K
'Washing' radiator - 1K
Removal of thermostatic valve -0.5K
Misc costs (silicon..) + labour - 1.5k

There was no relief until I humbly approached a former University mate (himself a mechanical engineer) who took one hour to test drive the car, test the 'failed' thermo sensor & relay...and finally replace the radiator cap! My car was sorted for only 1.2K !!

My initial fear of visiting his garage was that his 'consultation' (a minimum of 1K)is too high!

My big lesson learnt... 'always handle your matters with the professionals' Cheaper in the long run!!

"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
tom_boy
#19 Posted : Friday, January 06, 2012 12:41:55 AM

Yes please where is the garage. I am tired of Jua kali mechanics, every time I visit them, my car comes out with a new disease....

GGK wrote:
Where is this garage?

sihingwa wrote:

They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.