Culture
Christmas habits
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/19/2010 Posts: 1,308 Location: nairobi metropolitan
Am a bit pertubed by some new habits coming with technology. Somebody was calling me today who has not called me for a year, and the message ' it is your relative( a distant one note) so and so and are u still working, i respond yes and he says ' send me sikukuu as you know we are in christmas'. We are 200 km apart and he expects i send mpesa. I lost my words as 1. It tells me days are gone when villagers used to wait for visitors at the bus stage asking for hand outs. 2. How do self respecting adults, old enough to be ones parents stoop too low. It reminds of another one who called me asking questions like where did you go to college, live and then finally ask for hand outs. Note it is not hunger as they had bumper harvests. Tamaa tu! How on earth do you deal with it?, because at this rate .... Democracy does not belong to the dead
Brother, the giving season is here... but even for me, some are stretching it alittle bit too far... so far, 4 guards have gone with a piece of my sweat... well, not that it matters so much but i find it odd that people actually stop you(and some even have the audacity to call you back after you have already passed) to ask you for sikukuu... Every single gate/entrance i have used today and found guards, they have asked for sikukuu....
Hata wa city council leo asubuhi was asking for something when i refused to give him 50 bob ya kuchunga ngari na yeye asiandike and i insisted on paying the whole amount and get a receipt... then he asks, "madam, na ya sikukuu?"
I think its a culture we are adopting... same happens during Easter too.
Wendz wrote:Brother, the giving season is here... but even for me, some are stretching it alittle bit too far... so far, 4 guards have gone with a piece of my sweat... well, not that it matters so much but i find it odd that people actually stop you(and some even have the audacity to call you back after you have already passed) to ask you for sikukuu... Every single gate/entrance i have used today and found guards, they have asked for sikukuu....
Hata wa city council leo asubuhi was asking for something when i refused to give him 50 bob ya kuchunga ngari na yeye asiandike and i insisted on paying the whole amount and get a receipt... then he asks, "madam, na ya sikukuu?"
I think its a culture we are adopting... same happens during Easter too. @ Wendz, imagine after that, you go home to take some rest and people continue to call you to give something. Let them ask me, when i meet them face to face, but the issue of them calling me for hand outs pisses me or the notion nitapeana, nipende sipende. Who to give and who not to, ought to be a matter of choice. Democracy does not belong to the dead
"Blessed is the hand that giveth than the one that receives" - Anonymous
Ondiek wrote:"Blessed is the hand that giveth than the one that receives" - Anonymous Acts 20:33
Bar girl at my local has asked for kanyamu ga chrismass (ka-something for xmas). Is she having me on?
Im used to it n I take no offence. When I have those finjes I give them, if I dnt have I politely inform them: we cant just ignore our fellow villagers. I would be surprised if they dnt ask! TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
simonkabz wrote:Im used to it n I take no offence. When I have those finjes I give them, if I dnt have I politely inform them: we cant just ignore our fellow villagers. I would be surprised if they dnt ask! If you have domestic workers, kindly dont forget them. Give them a token for Chrismass and they will not only be happy but will appreciate working with you. Much in order for them. "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
Quote: Posted: Thursday, December 22, 2011 5:10:37 PM
Wendz wrote: Brother, the giving season is here... but even for me, some are stretching it alittle bit too far... so far, 4 guards have gone with a piece of my sweat... well, not that it matters so much but i find it odd that people actually stop you(and some even have the audacity to call you back after you have already passed) to ask you for sikukuu... Every single gate/entrance i have used today and found guards, they have asked for sikukuu....
I think its a culture we are adopting... same happens during Easter too.
@ Wendz, imagine after that, you go home to take some rest and people continue to call you to give something. Let them ask me, when i meet them face to face, but the issue of them calling me for hand outs pisses me or the notion nitapeana, nipende sipende. Who to give and who not to, ought to be a matter of choice.
@githundi yours are better if they call. Mine flash me so many times, including 'please call me' and when you call back they start stories that always end with 'nirushie kitu ya chrismass...'
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Villagers have turned me into santa claus Life is short. Live passionately.
@ Simonkabz, i like your approach, which means to always walk with loose money but unfortunately it doesn't work for callers as it demands you incur time and money asu use mpesa. @ tebes, that is kind of you and i invite those quoting the bible to give to such deserving cases and also other in needy cases. @xyzee, it goes like 'dukinjikirie kanyamu'. Let me also put it record that am for giving, what i disagree with is when people try to extort me money at the pretense of giving, worse so while they only want to indulge in my hard earned cash in kumikumi. Democracy does not belong to the dead
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/9/2010 Posts: 894 Location: Nairobi
its good to give but its dificult to satisfy all. Thats why our friend simon kabz adopts the finje approach, however not all will appreciate the finjes and they will go on to express their dissapointments like "kafinje tu". And i will take my mums approach' leta hiyo nikupee mingi. You all know the drill Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
Culture
Christmas habits