wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

COTU says 10-day strike still on
beiyangu
#1 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 10:05:32 AM

Kenya's umbrella workers body on Sunday insisted that its proposed 10-day general workers strike was still on despite stiff opposition from key players in the private sector.

The Central Organisation of Trade Unions (COTU) said the strike will start Monday to protest the high cost of living and fuel prices.

The body is demanding 30 per cent reduction of prices of all petroleum products which it says will automatically translate into reduced cost of basic commodities and services.

Read more.

Compare Supermarket Prices in Kenya | BeiYangu
FUNKY
#2 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 10:48:47 AM

Atwoli has failed this time. Kenyans have been wise enough not to go on a strike.
QW25081985
#3 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 10:51:34 AM

is he the one putting food on the table ???? ashindwe !!!!!!!!!!!!!1
#4 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 11:08:48 AM

I thought the strike was good for usSad Sad Sad .Atleast the gava would wake up and think of cheaper alternatives to power our electricity generation and industries like coal in Londokwes mui coal deposits .This would reduce the demand for the damn expensive oil and bring prices down to some bearable regions.

Whining middleclass .endeleeni kuwhineShame on you Shame on you Shame on you
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
jerry
#5 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 11:45:37 AM

In relation to this I've never understood how we use 650,000,000*8.02/= for diesel a month on power generation! 8.02/= is fuel cost adjustment on our electricity bills. The sum! comes to 5,213,000,000/=. At 110/= a litre this gives 47,389,000 litres to generate power?

We need Atwoli to bring sense to this.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#6 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 3:04:17 PM

Bad, bad timing Atwoli:
- People are already in x-mas mood, others have closed while others are about to close. It's x-mas week Mr. Atwol!
- This is peak season for matatus.
- People don't care at this time, some have been paid huge bonuses

Try Jan 15th when ppl are broke and you'll have a big crowd

newcomer
#7 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 7:38:10 PM

Atwoli is completely wrong. Who are matatus striking against? The public or governement? When I fail to get to the work place, who sufers? Now, as a unionised worker affiliated to union, Atwoli represents me and has denied me a chance to go for work, for Christams, to hospital and other esential places. Who is striking? Matatus or the crew? Most matatu crew are temporary despite all laws insisting others and replaements are readily available. I am seing little or no sence in this
#8 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 11:13:01 PM

Atwoli simply pulled a tactical retreat.
Haaaaaaa...buhahahaaaaaa