wazua Tue, Mar 24, 2026

6 Pages<12345>»
Is 27th December 2011 a public holiday?
Mpenzi
#21 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2011 7:10:40 PM

27th cannot be a holiday. its not math (carry forward at any opportune time)

The law allows the carry-forward from Sunday to Monday. So a logical argument is that Xmas and boxing days cannot be on the same day hence the pushing of boxing day to Tuesday 27th Dec. We need time to open the gift boxes smile smile
Gadaffi
#22 Posted: : Sunday, December 18, 2011 10:26:05 PM

The question is whether boxing day is a public hol in kenya. I think Dec 26 is nt listed as a public hol in kenya under th new katiba, i ope that answers most of th Q's in tis thread.
Mpenzi
#23 Posted : Sunday, December 18, 2011 10:31:19 PM

Gadaffi wrote:
The question is whether boxing day is a public hol in kenya. I think Dec 26 is nt listed as a public hol in kenya under th new katiba, i ope that answers most of th Q's in tis thread.

Boxing Day is a Public Holiday under the Public Holidays Act but it is not a National Holiday under the Constitution. Neither are Christmas, Easter Monday, Good Friday etc National Holidays. Get that distinction??
#24 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 2:00:02 AM

Mpenzi wrote:
Gadaffi wrote:

Boxing Day is a Public Holiday under the Public Holidays Act but it is not a National Holiday under the Constitution. Neither are Christmas, Easter Monday, Good Friday etc National Holidays. Get that distinction??

Where does Id-il-Fitiri stands in this case?

Mpenzi
#25 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 7:10:21 AM

Mpenzi wrote:
Gadaffi wrote:

Where does Id-il-Fitiri stands in this case?

It's also a public holiday but not a national holiday.
#26 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 2:44:39 PM

Mpenzi wrote:

The law allows the carry-forward from Sunday to Monday. So a logical argument is that Xmas and boxing days cannot be on the same day hence the pushing of boxing day to Tuesday 27th Dec. We need time to open the gift boxes smile smile

The law does NOT allow the carry forward from Sunday to Monday, but to Tuesday.

Tafakari hii:

"Under Section 4 of the Public Holidays Act, when public holiday falls on a Sunday (which 25th does)in any year, then the first succeeding day (26th),NOT being a public holiday (but it is, therefore carry forward to Tuesday), shall be a public Holiday and the first-mentioned day (25th) shall cease to be a Public Holiday."
#27 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 3:35:52 PM

FKE website inaccessible?
#28 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 6:47:22 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Mpenzi wrote:

The law does NOT allow the carry forward from Sunday to Monday, but to Tuesday.

Tafakari hii:

"Under Section 4 of the Public Holidays Act, when public holiday falls on a Sunday (which 25th does)in any year, then the first succeeding day (26th),NOT being a public holiday (but it is, therefore carry forward to Tuesday), shall be a public Holiday and the first-mentioned day (25th) shall cease to be a Public Holiday."

@GG..

wewe hapana mislead wazapere. the statement is very clear...

.......then the first succeeding day, NOT being a public holiday, shall be a public Holiday.....

That means only if the first succeeding day is not a holiday we have a holiday on that day. if it is also an holiday (like in this case 26th) then no further holiday is given!! hi maneno ya carry forward acha!!.
aces
#29 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 8:42:53 PM

alfred mutua, what do u think about the interpretation of 27th, is it a holiday?....
"

Life's a wheel of fortune and its my chance to spin it"
#30 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2011 9:02:13 PM

Kingfisher, very confusing twist you brought in there! But surely, we must have had such a case early 2000s. What happened then?
6 Pages<12345>»