This happened to my nice last week.
She got an SMS saying that she had won sh100k in the "Safricom-na-Equity" promotion. The message ended with a warning: "DO NOT SEND ANY MONEY"
She ignored it and a few minutes later it came again...and again...and again.....
So finally, she called the sender and he explained that she had won the 100k and the money would be sent to her M-PESA account.
To get the money, she was told to go to her M-PESA and go to ATM withdrawal; then enter agent number 286286 and her PIN. In return, M-PESA with send her an authorisation code which she was to send to the guy.
The girl did exactly that and sent them the auth code!
A few minutes later, she got an SMS from M-PESA saying the she did not have enough funds to complete the transaction...
She call the guys and they said she needs "a good balance" to access the 100k..... they suggested she adds 5k, but she said she can only get 200 bob. "Sawa, weka hiyo halafu tuta jaribu"
She ran to M-PESA kiosk and loaded sh200 and waited.
Then a message came in from M-PESA: "You have withdrawn Sh200 from EQTY Bank ATM... your balance is now..."
She cried....and I laughed when she told me the story!
==========
You must give credit to these conmen. They know that most people have never withdrawn M-PESA cash from the ATM so they don't know the procedure.... And telling you not to send any money... and to add cash to YOUR M-PESA account...
Obviously; there is a loophole in the ATM withdrawal process. Perhaps SCOM should add a requirement to enter you M-PESA PIN in the ATM before withdrawing.