wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

Phone calls and sms doing the rounds
Sure
#21 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 3:28:54 PM

My neighbour yesterday got a phone call at 2am (Usiku was manane). The guys asked him to open the door or they come in with the door. "Tuko hapa inje. Tunaweza kuingia na fujo ama tuma 20k na M-pesa tukuruke twende kwa mwingine"

My neighbour sent them 5k promising to send the rest in morning. I stopped him sending the 15k when he told me the story.

The conmen are usually very far away either in prison or remand but they take chances calling random numbers and pretend to be outside your house with pangas, rungus, and ramheads to bring down doors.
Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom.
When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
#22 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 3:38:03 PM

Sure wrote:
My neighbour yesterday got a phone call at 2am (Usiku was manane). The guys asked him to open the door or they come in with the door. "Tuko hapa inje. Tunaweza kuingia na fujo ama tuma 20k na M-pesa tukuruke twende kwa mwingine"

Got a similar one two days ago vide number 0717889933 but in my case they wanted my head........I replied requesting that they make it short.
#23 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 8:06:37 PM

Btw, these guys are not just in jela. The last con call i receivd was by a guy calling from a noisy street.
kamurigo
#24 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 12:40:53 PM

Here are some numbers that claim you have won an offer of 100k, Mtoto ameumwa na nyoka etc

0787 707 349
0700 775 741

Please put all those numbers here we see if we can petition Safcom to do something about it.
#25 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 12:53:36 PM

Sure wrote:

Got a similar one two days ago vide number 0717889933 but in my case they wanted my head........I replied requesting that they make it short.

Kwani where at 2am do these thugs think one can deposit 20k? Think they just want to scare people into sending them all cash they have in the phone mpesa account. In most cases they use arbitrary nos and donot know the real owners. Best option is to ignore or ridicule them period.
#26 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 2:40:57 PM

Sure wrote:

@Nung'e.. kwani you have gold teeth? Why else would they want your head! lol!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#27 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 7:43:48 PM

kamurigo wrote:
Here are some numbers that claim you have won an offer of 100k, Mtoto ameumwa na nyoka etc

0787 707 349
0700 775 741

Please put all those numbers here we see if we can petition Safcom to do something about it.

Got the text for mtoto ameumwa na nyoka. I remembered Guka's suggested reply - mwambie aume nyoka nakuja. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
revolver
#28 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2011 12:06:05 AM

This is some funny account that occurred to me 2 weeks ago. I am still puzzled as to what this guys motives were.
I got a call from someone speaking kyuk, he was like "its been a long time man. am around can we hookup in the evening for a drink or two?". I was puzzled coz i didn't know this number and not wanting to sound rude i just said.. we can hookup after hours for a drink around the CBD. i thought nothing about it till he called later at around 6pm asking me where i was.. i had totally forgotten about him and was actually already home. so at that point i asked him "dude sorry but please tell me who u are coz i swear i cant place you", he started laughing and was like "boss yani you dont remember me? am njoroge.. i see u still have your funny side.. where are you?".. i told him that i was aready home and appologized for forgetting the meetup to which he responded that it was fine and he was also leaving town so we can catch up at my local still insisting i tell him where we could meet. its then that i got sceptical and decided to play along.. i told him that i lived in mountain view after kangemi (far far away from where i live) and that he could come and call me once he fikaz so that i can go pick him. After around 1 hr the dude called again. i picked and he semad that he was at the kangemi stage.. so i told him to give me like 10 minutes i'll go pick him up, after the call i continued watching my bundesliga.. the guy called like 20 times and i never picked any calls after that.

So the next day (sato) the dude calls again at around 10 am. this time i decided to pick up he sounded mad and was asking me how i could him hanging like that.. i went all ham on his ass. i asked him to describe in detail how exactly he knew me and how he got my number.. the dude was at a loss of words and started changing the story saying that they were tracking my number, that i had sent a disturbing sms and that i was wanted by the police, and that he had decided that he settles the matter with me one on one before things escalated to the CID. I asked him to provide the sms content, time sent and the phone number the message was sent to.. he kept on dodging the request but i persisted and after being on the phone for like 10 minutes with him.. i got agitated and told him to go get the CID and whatever authority he fancies and come get me then i hang up.. after that i sent a report to safaricom on 333 and ever since he has not called again.

derp
Kihangeri
#29 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2011 3:39:28 PM

Furahi na Safaricom! Top up, Talk & Win. You've won Ksh 100,000. N/b Do not send money or airtime to claim your prize. For details call 0789916000, 0729333333. Thanks

Space which you may fail to notice

Ngui ino.

The message is sent from Phone number 0706654356.
By inference, the man is all that Mr Phantom is not: an untrustworthy radical, divisive, too many enemies, a dictator, and a persistent liar...
Gaitho dialogues.