wazua Tue, Sep 23, 2025

NAKUMATT on nse...
simonmaina71@gmail.com
#1 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2011 10:13:35 PM

Just watched who owns kenya and nakumatt has plans to get listed at nse....I wonder who will buy into an IPO with the bad image they got from mpesa
#2 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2011 10:22:15 PM

Please forgive me. What is this bad publicity from Mpesa?
BTW, kindly get a new name as the one you use is too long and makes reading you posts on a mobile phone unwieldy.
simonmaina71@gmail.com
#3 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2011 10:32:31 PM

Sorry 4 the mouthful of a name...am working on that...about the bad image from the mpesa ipo where hardly anyone made money if they bought at sh5...only those who bought in large volumes gained if they sold at 5.70...investors shy away from IPOs since that painful lesson..
#4 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2011 10:33:11 PM

@Simonwhatever. Is mpesa link in the story a typing error? If not i can relate it but it is just too far fetched to make sence.
#5 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2011 10:36:25 PM

simonmaina71@gmail.com wrote:
Sorry 4 the mouthful of a name...am working on that...about the bad image from the mpesa ipo where hardly anyone made money if they bought at sh5...only those who bought in large volumes gained if they sold at 5.70...investors shy away from IPOs since that painful lesson..

from the way you are speaking it shows you just look at stocks in papers and hear what the common wananchi discuss by road sides. Many who bought the shares at under 3 and sold at prices of 4.50 reaped over 50% in the swings. Join the club of critical thinkers who have various solutions for the prevailing scenarios.
simonmaina71@gmail.com
#6 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2011 10:42:25 PM

@Sober...u got a good argument but you are out of topic...am talking about an IPO scenario...not any other time during the swings.
hisah
#7 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2011 11:15:31 PM

Uchumi relisting nosedive & britank ipo spectacular crash & too much itchy nakumatt pr snippets, makes their ipo quite a hill start. Wanjikus psychologically is too spooked...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
yaserbigchair
#8 Posted : Monday, December 12, 2011 11:54:37 AM

Nakumatt IPO is not anywhere near around...May be by 2015 to 2017 there. For now, buy stocks with good dividend yield,they are very low and could give you a 30 - 50% return on 2012.
Sound that I love most: Is the ringing bell of Stock Market.
Aguytrying
#9 Posted : Monday, December 12, 2011 8:34:35 PM

@ simon. Every ipo should be taken by its own value and environment. You just come here and say because such and such i ipo did this or that then all the others will do the same. Investing is not like a cook book, where a recipe always gives you the same results. Most Your comments shock me.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
GGK
#10 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2011 7:48:43 AM

Agree, most Kenyans don't read IPO prospectus keenly and that's why Paka received near euphoric reception.

Its difficult to speculate on Nakumatt give the little info available in the public domain. @Simon, hold your horse till we get prospectus
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#11 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2011 7:54:15 AM

Who said Nakumatt wants your money anyway? If it goes public it might be a way of some shareholders to get out... I think it will go public but as a Listing by Introduction (see TransCentury, Equity, etc) where the goal is to 'list' first then look for Capital.

Equity started the ball rolling by going public then cutting a deal to sell a huge stake (with minimal cost) to 'large' investors (Helios)...

In any case, if Nakumatt plays it right... It could be bought out by Walmart or other large chains. No need to ask for pennies from Wanjiku when there are Dollars to be had...