wazua Sun, Aug 17, 2025

Housegirls rights
Insurgent
#1 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 8:38:50 AM

NTV had this story about house girls. You have to start paying their.... What was the story?

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

kamundu
#2 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 9:17:28 AM

At this rate, even house helps will have a union!
Peace in our Homeland.
#3 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 9:48:29 AM

kamundu wrote:

tutafungua baby care centre
majimaji
#4 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 9:52:31 AM

kamundu wrote:

There is one.
Kihangeri
#5 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 10:34:28 AM

The story on NTV said housegirls will start receiving 7000 minimum, NHIF, NSSF, and other compulsory benefits. This will take effect in a weeks or so time.

Someone confirm the story.

I only got this old one from the archives

Nairobi — According to Central Organisation of Trade Union's (Cotu) boss Mr Francis Atwoli, a house girl is supposed to be paid a minimum of Sh7, 000 per month.

He says the newly enacted International Labour Organisation guidelines provide that all domestic workers around the world be accorded same basic labour rights like any other worker.

Further, they are entitled to "reasonable working hours that include consecutive 24 hours of rest per week."

Mr Atwoli says that these workers have to be accorded a limit on in-kind payment as well as clear terms and conditions of employment.

Interestingly, Atwoli further adds that the house help while still on duty has her rights of association and expression intact.

While Atwoli's "house helps' crusade" sounds like a good piece of human rights activism, many employers are not amused.

Many employers attest that since Atwoli went public on his recommendations, their house helps have all of a sudden become "difficult."

http://allafrica.com/stories/201107070801.html
By inference, the man is all that Mr Phantom is not: an untrustworthy radical, divisive, too many enemies, a dictator, and a persistent liar...
Gaitho dialogues.

#6 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 11:04:59 AM

majimaji wrote:
kamundu wrote:

There is one.

Sooolidarity for ever!!!

#7 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 11:29:07 AM

If you can afford to pay 7k for the house help, it wouldn't be a problem to deduct 220 bob from the 7k and remit it to NHIF.

The problem should be the 7k.
redondo
#8 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 1:16:53 PM

I support the 7k minimum pay for house-helps. My wife and i have a dutiful house-help who has worked for us for close to 4 years.Her October salary was 6K but in November we payed her 7K gross and deducted a total of 480 for NHIF and NSSF.

I think for what some of them do(raise our kids, clean our homes, cook, etc) 7K is not too much. The issue should be that the pay is pegged to performance. so if she doesn't deserve it,fire her and get one who deserves it.

Secondly, some people are just mean. How do you justify paying your hous-help 2k per month yet you spend 5K at a bar in one sitting every week?
#9 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 2:19:49 PM

redondo wrote:
I support the 7k minimum pay for house-helps. My wife and i have a dutiful house-help who has worked for us for close to 4 years.Her October salary was 6K but in November we payed her 7K gross and deducted a total of 480 for NHIF and NSSF.

I think for what some of them do(raise our kids, clean our homes, cook, etc) 7K is not too much. The issue should be that the pay is pegged to performance. so if she doesn't deserve it,fire her and get one who deserves it.

Secondly, some people are just mean. How do you justify paying your hous-help 2k per month yet you spend 5K at a bar in one sitting every week?

@embe dodo
Hapana ingilia kazi ya hakina @wendz.
#10 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 2:33:17 PM

kingfisher wrote:
redondo wrote:

@embe dodo
Hapana ingilia kazi ya hakina @wendz.

@redondo where some of the duties that we may not know are????
Burning Spear
#11 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 2:51:29 PM

redondo wrote:

maneno ya house help wacha kuingilia. Men should keep off the house help welfare department.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#12 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 2:57:11 PM

redondo wrote:

Redondo, hii conclusion yako is from where?
#13 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 3:03:59 PM

redondo wrote:

Then tomorrow you run to wazua to report a daktari who has touched her twin towers while (mis)treating her. Being too much possessive. Hiyo dept wachie mama watoto.
redondo
#14 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 4:18:07 PM

YesuWangu wrote:
redondo wrote:

Redondo, hii conclusion yako is from where?

Forget my conclusion. My point is 7K si mbaya for a job well done
#15 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 5:06:29 PM

smile smile smile
#16 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 5:50:01 PM

wewe @ Tebes,you do not want to address the issue of hse help's salo??!.I imagine that even if mama watoto addresses it,it will affect you since the Tebes household might have to adjust the monthly budget to reflect the new changes?
For Sport
#17 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2011 9:46:59 PM

What does the least paid government employee earn?
Can this employee afford to hire a domestic worker @ 7,000 per month?
#18 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2011 9:31:56 AM

For Sport wrote:

That is the dilemma but I think if we reason this way, a certain category of people will remain underpaid and overworked.And it is easy to even argue that most people are underpaid.However,Some house helps wake up at 5am and sleep at midnight.......and all that for 2KSad something ought to be done.......That is why in UK or US for example,very few people can afford to have a full time house-help,because there is law that protects them from exploitation
For Sport
#19 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2011 11:35:29 AM

famooz wrote:
For Sport wrote:

That is the dilemma but I think if we reason this way, a certain category of people will remain underpaid and overworked.And it is easy to even argue that most people are underpaid.However,Some house helps wake up at 5am and sleep at midnight.......and all that for 2KSad something ought to be done.......That is why in UK or US for example,very few people can afford to have a full time house-help,because there is law that protects them from exploitation

True but I see quite a number of them being locked out of whatever employment there is because of the employers' inability to pay the set minimum.
Lets not forget that most of them are unskilled. What alternatives do they have if they cannot get an employer who can afford to pay 7k? The fact that "I" can afford to pay 7k should not be the determinant here. This government (which cannot afford to fairly remunerate professionals it has employed) should not be dictating terms to private citizens who are contributing to reducing unemployment in the country.
Dash
#20 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2011 5:34:58 PM

For Sport wrote:
famooz wrote:
For Sport wrote:

True but I see quite a number of them being locked out of whatever employment there is because of the employers' inability to pay the set minimum.
Lets not forget that most of them are unskilled. What alternatives do they have if they cannot get an employer who can afford to pay 7k? The fact that "I" can afford to pay 7k should not be the determinant here. This government (which cannot afford to fairly remunerate professionals it has employed) should not be dictating terms to private citizens who are contributing to reducing unemployment in the country.

Applause